We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Inn reinforce the concept of 'motels'”
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Pros:

Great Location. Walking distance to the Tahoe Queen and Lake Tahoe itself. Walking distance to restaurants.

Easy to find

Relatively cheaper than the other 'hotels' in the area.

Cons:
A very poor bang for the buck despite being a little cheaper.
A motel in every sense of the word.
In my room: No soap nor hair dryer.
Very noisy since room was next to main street.
Towels were discolored and not cleaned at all.


Conclusion: Pay a little more and get a much better room at Harveys or Harrah's Or Mont Bleu.

Would not go back again.

Room Tip: If at all possible avoid room 36 and 37. These two rooms are on street level and the walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank average_traveler278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room has a nasty smell, the door frame was coming apart, it's super hard to lock your door, the ac we had was a conventional fan that plugs in the wall and 1950's heater that does even work. When we arrived there was a big storm that knocked out all power in Tahoe so we had no power for a couple hours there he had no problem but to top that off this place is so old that it's water is connected to a pump/well out side the motel. So we had NO WATER To The Bathroom. We tried to leave and cancel out reservation and manger kept saying no I can't do that. He said call expedia and figure it out with them! Expedia even called to get a refund and he told them my motel so no! So I would recommend finding some where else in this beautiful city! Except this place!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jroyce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Most disgusting place ever. We walked into our room and one of the bed covers was stained with BLOOD about the size of a football easy to see.Asked the managers to change everything then went to show me and said "look it didn't soak through" are you kidding me? I said I wanted everything changed which they finally did,It seems to me when your room doesn't have a particular item they take it from another room, instead of just replacing it. for example our room didn't even have one chair the room next door had at least two. no AC only one fan for two rooms. Beds were too soft needed several pillows just to make one decent one. Save your money go somewhere else

Room Tip: don't waste your time or money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jose f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Checked in after a day of driving around lake tahoe. Found the rates to be reasonable. I now know why. No water in the pool. Toilet tank cracked. Rooms smelled. Staff was pleasant. No air conditioning. NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Spend a little more, or drive down a ways to Harrahs and get a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We might have given this 2 stars -- no AC, pool was dismantled, fairly low-res furnishings, sketchy wiFi. But at least it's one of the more "inexpensive" places in town at ~$100/night and fairly central. However... One night, the guy in the room next door came past our open door and started yelling at us. He said the management told him that we had complained about him making too much noise. We hadn't complained and we also hadn't even heard him. We told him he must be misinformed, and that we hadn't made any complaint. A few minutes later, the manager called our room and said that she didn't want any trouble, so could we please not agitate the man. I went over to her office and asked what was going on. At first she said the same thing -- "don't want any trouble." But, then she said maybe the guy was crazy. So, why did she tell him we had complained? Why was she calling us to tell us not to make any trouble? Something is really rotten in Tahoe here. This happened on our last night's stay, otherwise we would have checked out. This was really unpleasant, and we'll NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoshuaTreeNPfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

THE BAD: This hotel was probably built in the 1970s and that was the last time improvements were ever made to it. It is by all standards a dump. The very few available electrical outlets are likely 40 years old. The TV is at least 30 years old. The mattress was so thin we could feel the individual metal coils beneath. The blanket, too, is very thin and the heater has no labels. Turning the heater on to each of the available (unlabeled) settings seemed to do nothing but blow tepid air so we left it off and shivered through the night. The curtains are worn and have holes. Likewise the bedspread was moth-eaten. The bath towels are about as small as you can buy before you start calling them hand towels. The shower head is set at a perfect height if you are 5'4" tall. Otherwise you need to scrunch down to get your head wet. The pool and spa have been closed for two years.

THE GOOD: The price was really low compared to other area hotels. The staff is friendly. The WiFi (though a bit slow) works just fine. The water gets nice and hot quickly.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor so you are not hearing people move about through your ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

our stay at this hotel was satisfactory. helpful staff.
this hotel is near by to all scenic places and good restaurants. if you are not looking for luxurious motel and don't want to spend more money this is good motel to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#75 of 118 in Lake Tahoe (California)
58 reviews
0.9 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#41 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#60 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#54 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#32 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
#55 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 3536 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8900
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £29 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Travel Hotel Lake Tahoe
Hotel Inn Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing