We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better hotels available”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
CUPERTINO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better hotels available”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I had stayed in this hotel in August 2012. The experience then was much better. For starters, the price listed on Tripadvisor.com for ABVI is $34. When you are directed to their page, the price miraculously jumps up to $39.95. This is for the worst room. You have no option to select a better priced room for the 1-Queen sized bed category. When we went for breakfast, we were told that they were out of bowls since a long time and the bowls would be delivered but after the breakfast time. We were asked to eat the oatmeal in cups meant for drinking water. I took pictures of the oatmeal being poured into a cup for the Tripadvisor website, and lo and behold a large box of the bowls were suddenly found by them. They lost their reputation for being America's ""Best"" Value Inn. They also lost a returning customer for ever.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIJAY V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your online review. It's not often that supplies run short or even out in our business but it may happen. Sometimes thrifty hotel guests may take a stack or two bowls, plates, plastic flatware, coffee cups or anything else we leave out. We may not notice in time to avoid another guest being inconvenienced. I'm certian all of us have had a similiar experience where something normally offered at a particular business happens to be out. Please don't let something like that negatively effect your stay. I can assure you it was not deliberate or personal. Since you did not mention our excellent location, our comfortable guest rooms, our free wifi, free beach passes, free laundry and fitness rooms then I assume you found those areas satisfactory for your low rate of $39.95/night in Lake Tahoe... lol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    81
    59
    32
    35
See reviews for
105
101
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Pros: Good location for skiing. Continental breakfast a bit better than most in this classification.
Cons: Locked phone - could not make local calls, no coffee maker (or fridge or microwave), very hard lumpy queen bed, wifi virtually unusable on Sat night, only slightly better on Sun, grungy room, main wall sockets so worn they would not hold any phone charger plugs, broken bed light. We stayed in Building A.

Room Tip: Ours was Building "A", perhaps the other buildings are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmoliver0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

san luis obispo, ca
Level Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Giving this hotel 2 stars is probably generous, but it is an excellent budget choice. We stayed in a 2 king bed unit that was large and clean. Everything worked. The heating was very good and lots of hot water. The location is good in the stateline area. The beds were in very good shape. This is a budget hotel, so the towels are basic and the wi-fi internet was marginal on weekdays and worthless on weekends. Plan to use your 3G phone. The continental breakfast is considered minimal when being generous. It consists of toast , frozen waffles, or instant oatmeal and a couple of pieces of fruit. On the other hand, there is an area in the parking lot where you can wash, vacuum, and add air to the tires of your car. In all my travels, I have never seen this offering. The bottom line, an excellent budget choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A few friends and I recently stayed at Americas Best Value Inn to celebrate New Years in Lake Tahoe and found a great place to stay every time we come to Tahoe. Not only was the room clean and comfortable but completely affordable as well. Especially during the holidays when most hotels spoke their prices up to ridiculous amounts ABVI was still surprisingly affordable even during holiday nights. On top of great rooms and prices the hotel provides continental breakfast from 8-10am and is conviently close to the casinos and Heavenly resort. Every night my friends and I enjoyed a few drinks and we're able to walk back to the hotel in just a few minutes . Over all this hotel has great customer service and compared to other hotels close by it is the best place to stay for an incredibly reasonable price. My suggest for hotels in South Lake Tahoe is definitely Americas Best Value Inn!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mireya16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Clean and comfortable stay in this 'budget' motel. The rooms are typical with usual amenities. The car park in this city is free to guests and includes a self car wash facilty and an air pump for tyres! There is no restaurant and very limited breakfast facilties. Our advice is stay here and walk 100 yards to the BW plus to purchase meals in the good attached restaurant. The location near to the shops and Nevada make this an ideal location for local cafes, shops and the gondola.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Booked this hotel though Priceline had ok reviews when I had looked it up and booked it. when I checked in the desk person did not have much information and was not very helpful mostly because that was his first day of work and he was already by himself at the front desk. Then the front desk clerk would not honor the rewards card that I presented at time of check in that I had signed up for and received directly from Americas Best Value Inn web site. Once we were checked in me and my wife went up to the room. When we opened the door we were hit in the face by this horrible smell. It smelled as if someone had pissed in the corner of the room and no one had ever cleaned it up. Or maybe the worst gym locker room smell ever. The Room was not even the same as the pictures on line it was totally different. there was yellow stains on the pillows and pillow cases. The bed had stains all over it in a multitude of different colors. the furniture had been hand painted in a sloppy fashion and looked really bad. The TV was not the same TV that was advertised online. Black mildew stains in the bath tub and toilet. What appeared the be blood stain or something else red on the back of the bathroom door. The walls in this hotel are so thin that you can hear everything from anyone around you. And of course there was a large family next door that was so loud that when I was on the phone with Priceline trying to get a refund the lady on the other end could hear them. Unfortunately Priceline could not help me in my efforts to get a refund even after speaking with the hotel directly. I then went to the hotel clerk to try and receive a refund for the horrible room and he could not or would not do anything to help me out. After asking for the manager that was supposed to be there the manager refused to come speak with us about the problems. The front Desk clerk said they were completely booked and could not move us out of that room and the only thing he offered to do was to spray some air freshener in the room to help with the smell. Me and my wife may have been at this hotel at the most an hour and most of that was spent arguing to try to receive a refund. I was told I need to contact their corporate office for a refund but there is no phone number to contact them with a complaint you have to send an email and wait for them to contact you. This was a bad experience and would not recommended to anyone.

Room Tip: Dont ever stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank logan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you for posting your comments online. I see this is your first review... we're honored... I think... LOL. Gee, I don't know how to respond to your statements. Number 1, I wasn't aware of your complaints so I assure you I was not avoiding you. Number 2, you booked your reservation via a 3rd party Online Travel Agency, if you educated yourself on the membership discount program then you would know that the discount only applies when you book a reservation via Vantage Hospitality or the hotel directly... we do not discount upon already highly discounted room rates. It's true, we have increased staff levels for the holidays but we have teamed them with experienced longer term employees. If you seen this new staff member alone I'm certain it was because the partner/trainer was taking care of some other hotel business like guest services and asked the trainee to stay behind at the front desk.

It's regrettable that you had such a negative experience at our hotel. I am not aware of any hotel rooms that match your description but we have likely offered you a different room if we were aware of your discomfort.

Thanks again for your review and Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Clean and comfortable, especially for the price. Did I mention great location? Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was more than I expected. I would recommend this place for a budget option and would stay again myself.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesclark1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your compliments. Critical reviews provide us with useful information and direction while positive reviews affirm our mission to provide clean, comfortable and convenient rooms at the most competitive rates in our area. Thank you again and please contact us directly in the future for our guaranteed lowest room rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#23 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Address: 4107 Pine Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique and attractive Tahoe style inn is ideally located only two blocks to the shore of dazzling Lake Tahoe and private beach and marina facilities. Three blocks to famous Nevada Casinos like Harrah's, Harvey's, Mountbleu, Horizon and Lakeside Inn. Only four blocks to Heavenly Village and gondola, the most direct route to America's largest ski resort and a short 1/2 block to Edgewood Golf Course, rated #5 on the American PGA Tour and location of our annual Celebrity Golf Tournament. With everything Tahoe has to offer nearby including famous entertainment nightly and well known restaurants and buffets, you'll be tempted to have fun all day and then stay up late and enjoy the lively Nevada nightlife. Regardless of why you come to Lake Tahoe, AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN - CASINO CENTER LAKE TAHOE is your BEST CHOICE for convenience, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Tahoe West Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Tahoe West Motel
Best Tahoe West Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing