We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remodeled but Forgot the Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Remodeled but Forgot the Beds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary. We got an upstairs room with a King bed. The toilet had problems (kept running) so we took the lid off so we could fix it after each flush. The rooms appear to have been remodeled and they were clean and roomy. However, the Bed was horrible! For that reason, I can't recommend this hotel. The staff was friendly and I let them know when we checked out. If they upgraded their beds, I'd give this place 4 stars for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    425
    165
    34
    17
See reviews for
285
517
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I like to stay at Best Western hotels because they are clean and the comfort of the bed is what I look for. i also like the fact that they serve a nice hot breakfast and not just donuts and cereal. You get a variety of breakfast items to choose from. I stay at Best Western hotels when on a business trips or traveling with the family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LISA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Very nice hotel and staff. The location was within walking distance to the lake. Also close to the casinos. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel restaurant was excellent (*****) We enjoyed breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ivy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Vista, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Best Western Plus Station House Inn is a great place to stay if you're passing through South Lake Tahoe. The highlight has to be the breakfast connected with the motel. At another reviewer's recommendation I had the stack of pancakes -- they were great! Both Brad and David (staff) were courteous, helpful, and quick with whatever you wanted.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Quiet setting; exterior getting a little in need of a paint job; room very clean; bathroom areas excellent; room good, but furniture will need replacement soon. Restaurant on property excellent, both staff and food. It was great that our breakfast was free at the restaurant next door. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, british columbia canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The rooms in this hotel are real small and stuffed with furniture. Make sure you book a suite or something bigger if there are more than one of you. We are on a month road trip from Canada and have stayed in lots of Best Western's on our travels. This property is in a good location in Tahoe, close to the beach. The breakfast is to die for, excellent service especially from Dan, good on you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank food53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
206 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Best Western Station House Inn isn't far from the state line. There are no slot machines and flashing lights. What you do get is great towels, a good king bed with nice sheets. Our room had a very large granite top vanity with a huge mirror. There was very good lighting above the vanity. There was another sink and smaller vanity in the shower and toilet area. The fixtures are upgraded, they look and work good The goose neck shower head is a good addition. The owners have also included soap dishes. There is a throwback bottle opener mounted lower on the vanity. There are glasses provided rather than the dinky plastic cups but we'd like ceramic coffee cups too.
There was a large flat screen TV but the channels are a mess. There was a frig but we failed to use it. The enormous wall mirror adjacent to the bed expands the room two fold. It feels like a much larger room! The wifi was screwy. I couldn't hook up with my tablet. There is a sign on the desk stating to get a ethernet cable from the office. So many devices today don't even have a port for ethernet.
We had the complimentary breakfast at their restaurant. I had went ahead of our party to check out the conditions and encountered David. He explained the situation, we talked about beers and I took fresh coffee back to the room. David made breakfast an event with his BS. Of course we gave as well as we got but it was fun. The food was good and hot. Do this for sure!
We had a first floor room and we parked at our door. The parking is crowded and could result in a collision. Be careful.
There are a couple other dings. The arm chairs are heavily soiled on the arms, the toilet is low and small, and there maybe too much furniture in the room.
Overall we slept well and were well fed. That's the main things!!!
I can't comment on the value because we used a free night here. :) I guess it was very very good!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Address: 901 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing