We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Station House Inn
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had planned to stay one night in Tahoe. The hotel was so relaxing I canceled a meeting and we stayed 4 nights, and got to enjoy a winter wonderland when it snowed the second day. Temperatures outside fell to -4, one of the coldest nights on record but our room heaters kept up just fine. We had a bunch of gear with us and I didn't want to schlep it through a casino, so we chose the Station House. We made a good choice!

The girl at the check in in the evening was very helpful and picked us a special room based on my request for a very quiet spot. There was a fire in the lobby and two computer terminals for guest use. The Christmas lights were up and glistened in the snow that just set the mood perfectly.

I'm writing this on their wi-fi in the far building, so I guess they got it fixed/improved after one of the previous poster's comment. The internet did go out late one night at like 2 am (we were up late) but was back when we got up, so I assume it was system maintenance. We work in tech so have our own cables but since the hotel provides them I'd take advantage of the blazing speed if your wireless receiver isn't the best. My smart phone also connected to the wifi with 4 bars.

We stayed mid week right after Thanksgiving, one of the slowest periods so there were only a few guests. We had a one bedroom suite it was just lovely. And SO quiet! The living room is separated from the bedroom by the bath area. The bath has a jacuzzi tub and is nicely done in a travertine type tile. And has it's own heater. The living room had comfortable sofa and easy chairs. It has a homey feel that hotels often lack.

The king size bed was just right, with a nice comforter. So many hotels these days skimp on the blankets it was nice to have a little weight on the bed to let you know you were in the mountains. And it was a REAL king, not the queen size that some hotels try to pass off as a king.

Finally a mention of the hearty breakfast which was included. They have a nice adjoining mountain style restaurant and made cooked to order breakfasts. You get a menu of choices from pancakes to my favorite, 2 eggs, home fries, muffin and bacon, with OJ. Don't forget to leave the attentive and friendly waiter a tip.

The hotel is located about 2 blocks from the gondola and shopping area, another long block to the casinos, and it's two short blocks to the lake front. Even though it was freezing cold we enjoyed several walks, and thawed out in our toasty room.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay while in Tahoe away from the hustle and bustle of the casino traffic. So if you want to just got to Tahoe without having to stay at a Casino then Best Western Station House is a good choice! Staff is great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank conik2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, Manager at Best Western Station House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you! for taking the time too leave a nice rewiew we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at our property. We hope to see you back soon as the snow is in our forecast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We went for a quick trip to Lake Tahoe, and used our points for a free night at a Best Western. It was at a slow time for business, so it was not full of people. We stayed in Room 224, in a room not facing the parking lot, and it was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable. There were two sinks, and that was convenient. The mini fridge was turned off, so we don't know if it was noisy. They were doing some remodeling to the front desk, but it was very well marked, and they were very polite and helpful. The worst thing was that the lights didn't turn on outside on our building until it was way too dark. The best thing was that we got a complimentary free full breakfast from restaurant on the property. It looked like it would be a nice place to stay in the summer. You could walk to the casinos if you wanted to, and 30 years ago we probably would have. We will probably go back there when we visit the Lake again.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, stay in the building closest to Pine St., on the North side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Clean- cozy and convenient to Everything. We walked to the Lake- up to Harrah's and Heavenly Village-
The room was perfect- comfy bed- great shower and very clean and quiet! We always try to stay at BW's- never disappointed. We ate breakfast at LewMarNel's which was included in the hotel stay- awesome food awesome service!
We drove about 10 miles to Emerald Bay and hiked down to the lake- A must see and do!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelGx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at this place over the weekend of Nov 16 2013. Overall experience was good beside couple of thing. Room and location is execellent.one thing that i didnt like is smoking area. Rooms are NO SMOKING but employee of work there and the guest of the motel didnt follow the rules well they smoke where ever they want. I believe they should have the make the smoking area. second thing that i didnt like is the internet service. Since they offer the internet service for free i shouldnt complaine much but there internet service is really bad. only time it works when you are close the theeir front desk office.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sanket S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, Manager at Best Western Station House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

I would like to apologize. I'm very sorry to hear that you had a problem with our Wi-Fi we do offer internet cables as well we have both in our rooms. I will let our tec look into this issue so that guests in the future don't have the same problem. We are a non smoking property there are desinated areas that guests and other personal our suppose to use I very sorry to hear this wasn't the case I will be talking to staff to assure this dosen't happen again. Once again I am very sorry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Arrived at this hotel late after a longhaul flight so was extra happy to find helpful staff who took us, our bags and skis to our room.

Room: Large, clean, temperature controlled, fridge (great for storing items to take a picnic up the mountain)

Bed: Comfortable, HUGE, clean, lovely bedding

Staff: Friendly, helpful, good local knowledge

Food: Breakfast was delicious, loved all the servers, so kind and went out of the way to make your breaky exactly how you want it.

Location: Walking distance to Heavenly Village with shops, restaurant and gondola. Easy drive to Carson City, Nevada and other ski resorts around the area such as Northstar.

Overall: Would recommend this to anyone! One of the best hotels in the area for skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, Manager at Best Western Station House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Greeting from Tahoe! Thank you for the glowing review! We take pride in our staff and service for each individual's visit. At the Best Western Plus Station house inn we always strive to accommodate our guests with a perfect stay and i assure you that I will reiterate what you have said to our staff so that their hard word does not go unnoticed. We look forward to have you stay with us soon as our ski season is just around the corner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Pros: walk to stores and restaurants (0.2 mi)
Nicely appointed
Giant TV

So-so
Rooms are on the small size, so is the bathroom
Value

Turnoffs:
Pool and hot tub not in service
WiFi disconnects every 5 min
Wifi information not in room

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Skelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
918 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Station House Inn

Address: 901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Station House Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £73 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing