We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay on the second floor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Station House Inn
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“stay on the second floor”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We thought the value for the hotel was excellent. The breakfast was really nice. Proximity to Heavenly is great too. We unfortunately had elephants masquerading as people above us. We'd recommend you staying on the second floor, especially if you are a light sleeper. Housekeeping was mediocre - except for one woman.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank CookieMonsterinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    432
    168
    34
    17
See reviews for
287
529
54
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

The best part of the hotel is its convenient location. It's a short walk to the lake and to Heavenly Ski Resort. You can expect to have great customer service. Edith the front desk lady is very helpful in providing directions. Free restaurant style breakfast is provided which is different from the buffet style found at other Best Western Hotels. The wait to get seated is quite long but the waiters are very friendly and the food is pretty good. The rooms in this hotel is quite small. There were three of us in the room and it was a pretty tight fit. The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. Overall, if I were coming back to Tahoe, I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank iLive4Adventuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The room is good and clean (no microwave). Prices are reasonable.

However, the breakfast takes about an hour including wait time, etc. during peak days. If you have the time, it's a wonderful breakfast. But if you don't, they don't allow you to order early and take it to your room, or have it in your car, to save time.

On a family ski vacation, we cannot afford to spend an hour for breakfast unless the whole family gets ready by 7:00am.

Recommendation to hotel: please allow guests to pre-order breakfast either on the day before, or the same day. Allow carry outs, and your hotel will definitely get 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmadhavapeddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, AZ, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We liked our stay at South Lake Tahoe, CA. Given the Resort town that it is the price was very reasonable. We were greeted warmly. The room was warm and comfortable. Next trip to Tahoe, we plan to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is by far one of the Best Western hotels I have had the pleasure visiting. The location is outstanding. Close in three directions, the lake beach one block away, the short distance to the Heavenly ski lift, and a few blocks from the casinos. The restaurant food and staff were exceptional. The sit down breakfast, well noting short of first class treatment and quality. I have planned a return trip for sometime next month. NEED MOR COMFORTABLE PILLOWS.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We really wanted to stay at the larger house, the Gingerbread House but it was booked. But, we were able to book the smaller house (The Chalet?) with two bedrooms. The location was extremely convenience, near Heavenly and central to everything else. The cabin was old, and the interior quite dated, including the bathroom and kitchen. The Wi-Fi didn't work well, either. But, it was relatively clean and spacious (but only one bathroom). We really only slept there. The breakfast at LewMarNel is always a nice addition. The servers are always so attentive and the complimentary breakfast is good. I wish they allowed dogs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank karolm527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The people who work here are very nice! The room was clean and the bedding and looked new. There is a convenient walkway that leads directly to heavenly village. It was a perfect place to stay for New Years Eve!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Station House Inn

Property: Best Western Station House Inn
Address: 901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Station House Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing