We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, CA, United States
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our second visit, both have been very good. The hotel is in a convenient location and well-maintained. The restaurant next door is excellent. The free breakfast is excellent, the waiters make you feel very welcome. This is a good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review! Its all about location location location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    425
    165
    34
    17
See reviews for
285
517
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Four of us stayed here for one night. The rooms were exceptional and the check in staff was very helpful. We had dinner at the attached restaurant (LewMarNel's) in the evening and they had a great wine list as well as tasty food. The icing on the cake was breakfast which was included in the room rate. Without a doubt one of the best breakfasts I've had. James, the waiter was, we all agreed, one of the best we had encountered anywhere. All in all a very pleasant place to stay if one is in Tahoe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjanderson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your nice review we look forward to having you stay again soon with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Rude at check in, was promise a down stair room, did not get. I have stayed many time at this hotel but NEVER AGAIN. The only good point about this location is the restaurant. The bed was very uncomfortable and could not sleep. I was glad that it was only one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you didn't get the request for a lower room. We do not gaurantee rooms on the first floor we cannot do to the availability! The only way to gaurantee one is to book a handicap room, They are on the ground floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel and rooms were very nice and the accommodations were adequate. The staff were helpful and friendly. We found the rooms to be conformable but we had small rooms that had to much furniture and found it hard to move around in the room. The only issues were the room doors and the bathroom doors were very hard to open and close. Also the bathroom fan was very noisy. The location in Tahoe was great to get to state line and shopping. The restaurant was very nice with great food and service. I would recommend this hotel for it location and price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review it looks like you stayed in our queen size rooms they are a bit small they are our least expensive rooms we offer! If you have a chance next time try one of our kings they are twice the size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
park city, utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great location. Clean rooms, nice staff The room was a little small but the rate was good.The restaurant is excellent. NIce Wine list and cheese fondue! This property is walking distance to the lake. The free breakfast is good

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank hhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks for the nice review we look forward to have you stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sant Cruz, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We enjoyed this place because of the vicinity to the lake (a few blocks, just a 3-5 minute walk) and how close it was to Heavenly Village (a 10 minute walk). The hotel room was clean and comfortable. The wi-fi and hook up internet sucked. But the complimentary breakfast was worth it all. Great wait staff, amazing made to order food, kind waiters, and great menu options, very different from other Best Westerns.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your response sorry to hear you were having problems with the Wi-Fi we have since then had our tech check this problem and it is up and running strong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is ideally located on the California side of South Lake Tahoe. It has a private beach and supplies beach towels upon request. Albeit I didn't use this facility when I was there as the temperature was only around 55 deg. The rooms are clean but not spacious but they are well equipped and comfortable. The only problem that was annoying was the fact that the wifi kept dropping out in some of the rooms. The hotel could not fix the problem which resulted in me having to use the wifi in the lobby. The hotel did handle the issue well they gave me a discount on my stay and informed me that they had recently had the wifi system installed and they said they were going to make every effort for this issue to be resolved in the near future.
That was the only downside at a hotel that has pretty much everything. Now the breakfast is something special and the servers/waiters go out of their way to make you feel comfortable with a great sense of humour. A special mention has to go to Danny Boy his service goes beyond his remit. Excellent at his job and a credit to the hotel oh and the breakfast is superb and free.
Well done Station House sort out the wifi in some of the rooms and your rating will certainly be a five out of five. I can recommend this hotel and I can report that there is no sign of bed bugs so you can book in confidence that you are getting a very good hotel.

Room Tip: If you want wifi that does not drop out ask for a room near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reviewerUSAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for such a nice review we since have had our tech fix the issues with the Wi-Fi we apologize for the inconvienence this problem might of caused you! We love to hear when our staff is going out of there way to make our guests stay a pleasant one. I will tell Danny to keep up the good work! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Address: 901 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing