We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a great hotel for the price. The pool was nice and the breakfast was awesome. A very quiet hotel and nearby the main drag in South Lake Tahoe. All the workers we met were very helpful and knowledgeable. We would totally recommend this hotel to friends and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AngryRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your response. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed yourself at our property! The weather is warming up which makes the pool that more enjoyable. We look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    425
    165
    34
    17
See reviews for
285
517
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very clean, but cramped queen room…they crammed a lot of furniture into it. There was a faint cigarette smell in our non-smoking room, therefore the 3 star rating instead of 4. Took a while for the water to get warm every time we took a shower, but it did eventually warm up. There’s a beach in walking distance. The free, complementary, cooked-to-order breakfast could be considered an added value, but the food was somewhat bland, the coffee was watered down, and the restaurant was dark and dated, in need of some renovations and sunlight! The waiter was super nice and efficient, though. We did see one of the housekeeping employees on an exterior balcony toss a cigarette she was smoking off into the wooded area behind the hotel. Not such a good idea with California’s drought conditions. Hotel management needs to address this. All things considered, it's clean and conveniently located budget lodging.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelOn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience at our property! It seems you stayed in one of our queen size rooms yes these our the smallest and least expensive rooms we offer. Unfortunally we are required by Best Western to have a certain amount of items in each rooms. We are a non smoking property our housekeeping staff should not be smoking and we are very sorry if this was the case honestly you should've called the police and reported them we are in moutain country where its against the law to through out your cigerettes! Thanks for bringing it to our attention we will be speaking with our housekeeping staff and making aware of the dangers in this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. It was very quiet. The room was clean. If you use the internet. Use the wired network connection. The wireless system is slow. Everyone was friendly. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

It was so nice and warm from the moment we walked in the Best Western in Lake Tahoe. Nice staff and the experience was just really fantastic. That nice fireplace in the entrance foyer definitely adds to the magic of it all. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJojoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our property! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, CA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our second visit, both have been very good. The hotel is in a convenient location and well-maintained. The restaurant next door is excellent. The free breakfast is excellent, the waiters make you feel very welcome. This is a good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review! Its all about location location location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Four of us stayed here for one night. The rooms were exceptional and the check in staff was very helpful. We had dinner at the attached restaurant (LewMarNel's) in the evening and they had a great wine list as well as tasty food. The icing on the cake was breakfast which was included in the room rate. Without a doubt one of the best breakfasts I've had. James, the waiter was, we all agreed, one of the best we had encountered anywhere. All in all a very pleasant place to stay if one is in Tahoe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjanderson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your nice review we look forward to having you stay again soon with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Rude at check in, was promise a down stair room, did not get. I have stayed many time at this hotel but NEVER AGAIN. The only good point about this location is the restaurant. The bed was very uncomfortable and could not sleep. I was glad that it was only one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Station House Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you didn't get the request for a lower room. We do not gaurantee rooms on the first floor we cannot do to the availability! The only way to gaurantee one is to book a handicap room, They are on the ground floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Station House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
Address: 901 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing