We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Station House Inn
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Had no idea where to stay in South Lake Tahoe. Noticed the Best Western was close to the water so thought it should be good. We were right. Hotel has beach passes, it's walking distance to the water and also a pool.
Our room was good. On the second floor (had to bring luggage upstairs). Room faced the water (no view, too many trees). There were maybe 300 mirrors in the room. Ok, a bit of an exaggeration but I'm talking an entire mirrored wall opposite the bed.
There was a wardrobe/dresser in the room that was giant, and for us useless. It is really the only closet in the room so I get why it's there but it was next to the bathroom counter so it left half the counter unusable and that area very crowded. Room was clean, bed comfy, good pillows.
Walking distance to a bunch of good restaurants.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SuZQ1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

This property needs a lot of repair and updating, not to mention manager. The only thing they have going for them is location. When a property is neglected for soooo long it becomes a property that guests will not want to return to. They are the only Best Western in Tahoe so guests will choose another chain or property until things change at the Station House Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Good value and great location. My only complaint would be the stale smell in our room (good thing I brought air freshener) and the noise outside on the ground floor from passers-by and cars parking. Next time I'd ask for a room on the 2nd level, should be much quieter. Everything else was very nice including breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor; should be more peaceful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I was pleased with this Best Western. It was very clean, easily accessible, great location. Nice to have a fridge and coffee maker in the room. And internet, though didn't use it this time. The housekeeping and restaurant staff were great! For the price, it is a very good deal!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Walk to the beach is just 5 minutes, walk to main drag just 5 minutes in the other direction. Pool, hot tub -- outstanding. Quiet at night, secluded. Best Part: Free sit down breakfast, bacon, sausage, eggs cooked to order, pancakes, oatmeal, french toast, hash browns, milk, coffee, or juice -- great menu and one price: ZERO. Just pay the tip. Clean pool, working AC and immaculate shower/tub/bathroom. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a hotel that we stay at yearly. It's about 2 short blocks from the lake, quiet area, has a pool and hot tub, internet service and a great breakfast included with the hotel room. We greatly enjoy the staff - always very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are wonderful! A sit down, made to order breakfast - yum! The décor could use a little updating but it is always clean with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed there a weekend in July, driving up from San Francisco. Had some trouble actually finding the place – it seems it is not signposted on the main road so make sure you know where to turn. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the beach (free access to the beach provided by the hotel!) in a very quiet area, off the noise of the main road and almost on the Nevada border.
We had booked a room with a king bed and found it quite spacious and spotlessly clean. Everything was there, everything worked fine, including wifi. We found the beds very comfortable and enjoyed two nights of sound sleep. Not much of other guests to be heard though the hotel seemed to be almost full judging from the well-filled parking lot. Unfortunately a thunderstorm Sunday afternoon caused a 6-hour blackout all over the area, which meant that nothing worked at all but I guess you can’t blame the hotel for this misfortune.
Complementary breakfast is included in the price, which is served in the adjacent restaurant. And I mean served – by friendly staff, and the quality of what was offered was way above what other hotels call breakfast. Add a very friendly and helpful staff at check-in and checkout and you will understand why we agree with the praise other reviewers have heaped on this hotel. We paid $ 360 for the two nights which is not cheap but you do get fair value in return. Definitely merits a whole-hearted recommendation!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor mean you have to carry your luggage up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brock53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
905 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Station House Inn

Address: 901 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6938 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Station House Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £82 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Station House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that beautiful Lake Tahoe has to offer while staying at this charming property, within walking distance to the area's most popular shopping, dining, casinos and the Heavenly Gondola ride. The BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is perfect for enjoying the year-round attractions for which Lake Tahoe is known. Experience world-class skiing at one of five nearby ski resorts, including Heavenly Valley, Kirkwood or Squaw Valley. In the warmer months, relax on the hotel's private beach or spend the day boating or fishing at Lake Tahoe. Hit the links at local golf courses, watch the Celebrity Golf Tournament, or take in views of the spectacular Grand Sierra Mountains. Don't forget to book a room for our popular New Year's Eve celebration while you're at it! Located just one block from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the BEST WESTERN Station House Inn is the perfect place to call home after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Station House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Station House Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Station Hotel
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing