We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“~ A place you will never forget ~”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“~ A place you will never forget ~”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My daughter and I just spent a week in beautiful Heavenly, Lake Tahoe, and I am SO glad we stayed at Heavenly Valley Lodge! What an experience! My daughter, 11, and I couldn't have had a better holiday! We were treated as family, in fact, after a week staying at Linda's and Johan's lovely B&B, we felt like we had known them forever, and that we had visited old friends in Lake Tahoe.
You will never find a place like this. It is the warmest, friendliest, most welcoming accommodation I have ever stayed at, and that says a lot coming from an airline employee, who has travelled the world, and stayed at numerous hotels worldwide.
Linda and Johan will treat you as they have known you for years, you will feel so welcomed, it is actually hard to leave the lodge during the day, because it is so nice & relaxing, and you really feel so comfortable and at home!
The breakfast is really great, and it is lovely to start the day up in the main lodge, relaxing in front of the fire with a good cup of coffee,tea or cocoa.
In the late afternoon, you may meet other guests, as well as the innkeepers, Linda & Johan, for a glass of wine, soda, tea, coffee or hot chocolate, up in the main lodge. We really looked forward for this moment of the day, as it was so nice and interesting to meet other travellers from all over the world, hear stories, play some board games, or just relax in front of the big fire.
There are 12 rooms at HVL, all the rooms are very personal and different, they are so cosy and lovely, with a mountain lodge feeling to them. Every room has a fireplace, and we loved returning to our room in the evenings, reading our books in front of the fire.
Each room also have a nice kitchenette, with everything you may need;
a microwave, a good size fridge, coffee maker, a toaster, cutlery, plates, glasses and cups.
There are tea bags and coffee supplied every day.
Our room was always immaculate. When we returned after a day of skiing, it was lovely to see delightful cookies on a plate for us.
The guests at HVL were both couples, single travellers, and families alike. We've made some great friends during this week, wonderful people that we most definite will meet again.
My daughter also made several friends her own age.
The location of HVL, on Ski Run Blvd., is really convenient. It is walking distance to several good restaurants, a supermarket, a numerous of ski rental places & shops, and only about 10 mins walk to beautiful Lake Tahoe. The Tahoe Queen, a paddle steamer from the 1900s which offers a traditional way to cruise the lake as tourists have done for more than 100 years, is waiting for you, only a 10 minute walk from Heavenly Valley Lodge. Not to be missed! A most wonderful 2 hours spent on the lake.
During the winter season, there is a free ski shuttle which stops right outside the B&B. Super easy, and you don't have to worry about parking your car up at the ski resort, the bus literally brings you from door to door! The bus also do shuttles in to Heavenly Village, about a 5 mins drive.

I can't wait to return to beautiful Lake Tahoe. Next time I would really like to experience this magical place during summer, apparently it is even more beautiful then!
And I look so much forward to see my friends, at the Heavenly Valley Lodge.
It is a diamond this place, thanks to the most wonderful couple, Linda & Johan :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    29
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
225
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The lodge was wonderful, Linda and Johan very friendly and nicest people ever, linda cooks the most delicious breakfast, feels like mom is cooking in the kitchen, the room very cozy and beautiful, the fireplace and the little guy (the little musse) in the bed just lovely...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredKar08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My title is indeed apt because I've been coming to this location for almost a decade (previously the inn was called Inn @ Heavenly). When the previous owners had to close it, I was heartbroken. Last week (2/6-2/7) I finally returned and discovered the new owners had made numerous improvements to the rooms and property (fixtures, televisions, furniture and more). But the biggest improvement was in the service. It was always very good, but now it's the best I've ever experienced. Guests are made to feel like family and it's apparent that Linda and Johan (the new owners and hosts) are passionate and caring. This place is a gem and I'll be back...often.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess Anne, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My husband & I were first-time visitors to Lake Tahoe. Our stay at Heavenly Valley Lodge was wonderful; our
room with its huge stone fireplace & lovely decor, was perfect. Hosts Johan and Linda are warm and welcoming; they did everything they could to make our visit special; breakfasts were delicious, the "happy hours" in the dining/lounge area were fun and conversations great! Linda also left delicious snacks and cookies in our room - a nice surprise after a day out! We also met a lot of nice people during their "happy hours." Johan and Linda provided a lot of information about area attractions and great restaurants. The Lodge was exceptionally clean; but, above all, the Lodge reflects the warmth of its hosts, Johan and Linda, and their love for the Tahoe area. You can tell that they have put their heart and soul into the Lodge. What a great find! We visited during January 2013; the snow and lake were lovely. We would love to visit Lake Tahoe during another season; so, we hope to return to Heavenly Lodge soon! Thanks from two East Coast retirees who love the West!

Room Tip: I'm sure that all rooms are great. We were in an end unit with kitchenette & king size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonandmonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I"m temped to not even write a review - not because our experience at Heavenly Valley Lodge was anything less than perfection - but because we don't want everyone to start going there! We stayed with Johan and Linda over New Year's week this year and it felt like we were with family. From the homecooked breakfast every morning (included!), to the great conversation with guests at (included!) happy hour, and the 500+dvds we got to choose from each night (included!), and how welcome our yellow lab Cooper was to stay, we could have stayed for weeks. Thank you for a fantastic stay, Johan and Linda . We'll be back before you know it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Heavenly Valley Lodge was such a wonderful surprise. Owners Linda and Johan are ever so accommodating and friendly. They immediately made us (and our dog!) feel welcome and wanted. Fantastic breakfasts to start the day, lovely fireplaces to warm your room that has wonderfully comfy cozy bed and bedding (for the dog too!), cocktails and appetizers in the evening.
There isn't anything more you could ask for.
Minutes from Heavenly Valley lifts in the winter or from the shores of the lake in the summer, this is an ideal getaway lodge!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We were welcomed by hosts Johan and Linda as though we were family, and treated like special guests. This place has quaintly unique, nicely appointed rooms with everything you need, and yet the location is just an easy walk to Tahoe shops, a myriad of restaurants etc. That said, you'll find yourself waking up and looking forward to Linda's delicious breakfasts and the way you feel like you belong there...and begin to wonder if you really ever want to go home. We'll be going back to Lake Tahoe, and we'll definitely stay again here at our home away from home place!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BearAndFeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
890 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,059 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
455 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1261 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2011. Managed by the Owners! All of our rooms were completely remodeled with brand new beds, linens and furnishings! Our goal is to make this a unique, wonderful and relaxing experience for our guests. We invite you to experience a Lake Tahoe stay like no other. Let us spoil you...We're good at it!!! Lake Tahoe has so much to offer and is also a great home base for skiing, boating, fishing, hiking, biking or just to relax in a beautiful serene location. It is also close to neighboring hot spots such as Yosemite, San Francisco, Napa Valley Wine tasting, and other Northern California & Nevada locations. The Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast is a quiet, Tahoe-Style property located at 1261 Ski Run Blvd just below the world-famous Heavenly Ski slopes, and only a 1/2 mile down to the shores of Lake Tahoe. The property is on a wooded acre and is very spacious and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing