We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what is that smell?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knights Inn South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    45
    73
    75
    81
See reviews for
96
80
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
zen in nowhere
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Super 8 is a chain of cheap motels, so that's what one should expect. This one's at a great location if you want to be at the center of town, or want easy access to ski slopes (Heavenly) in the winter. It's a convenient place but does look run down with the amenities and the condition of the rooms. I did stay at this place a few years ago, and it looked exactly the same - no makeovers. The good part is the small heated pool. Breakfast was a bit let down, as it had run out - thanks to be being fully booked and the staff did nothing to refill or restock.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trottheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

cheapy-good value.Great location, clean with convenient parking. Continental breakfast was fully stocked and fresh. Front desk personnel were friendly, helpful and courteous. I have stayed here several times when in the SFO-RNO area . I like to take one day on each trip and drive up to and around Lake Tahoe. For $50/night, compared to others, it is like a free stay almost! Rivas on the lake is nearly across the street. It is a famous and great eatery.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the second floor around the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jef1jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We came up to Tahoe for an event, and wanted to be within about two blocks of this location. Super 8 had last-minute availability, offered a basic breakfast in the price, and it was easy to make the reservation. They handled our late arrival well.

The room was very basic, which is to be expected. One light didn't work, and some electrical outlets were also non-functional. The desk chairs provided were very uncomfortable. You couldn't read any text displayed on the TV (game scores, etc). We were upstairs, and almost every inch of the floor squeaked when you walked on it.

Basically, a typical experience at a low-price motel.

The reason for writing this review is the condition of the beds. It was like sleeping on a sack of potatoes. I never woke feeling rested, and would even dread going to sleep. If they would fix this problem, I would be a return guest with no hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank UnregisteredUser2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place is a dump. I very rarely speak negatively of anything - but this place needs to shut down and go through a complete renovation. If you opt not to get room service at 8:00 am - your room never gets done (even though we were out by 9:00 am - was told depending on your room number apparently housekeeping made their rounds at 8:05 and will not come back until next day). So you cannot take a shower in case you miss the service or opt to sleep in for a little longer on your vacation - which in any case you cannot because walls are so thin, you wake up by 7:00 am - you want to or not. Pillows/towels were dirty - did not look like they were changed after the last guest left. Breakfast is tasteless and packaged stuff with only 2-3 options and even on weekends you have be done with breakfast by 9:00 am. None of us even bothered to look at it the second day. Bathroom is shabby and very small. No bath tub - Even cruise showers are bigger than this. You keep banging your elbows while showering and I am a petite person. Drawers open after struggling several minutes every time. Cupboard doors do not close properly, hangs loose. Outlets are also so old that anything you plug in keeps falling off and you have to lean something against them to keep them in. Lights are a bare minimum. Paid $140 per night for this place...... total rip off.... Very unsafe, porches are all connected seamlessly and anyone can climb over and get into your room, if you forget to lock your porch door, or want to get fresh air while you sleep in or air out the room. I travel moderately and have never been so disgusted with any place. Not even worth paying $35 per night.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel until it is renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokepuff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#55 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#53 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#46 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#45 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn South Lake Tahoe

Property: Knights Inn South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3600 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8942 (Formerly Super 8 Lake Tahoe / South)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn South Lake Tahoe 1.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lake Tahoe / South Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Super Eight Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Super 8
Lake Tahoe Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing