We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like camping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Almost like camping”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A little better than camping, you don't have to share your bathroom. Pros are not sharing bathroom with strangers and you get a coffee maker/mini fridge/micro in room. Convenient b/c you can go to the grocery store to get meals. Cons--dirty, and small. There arent many good Restaurants in SLT. We keep looking for that great hole in the wall Mexican place. We find lots of hole in the wall but none worth going back to-ever.
Motel 6 is a good place if you want to go camping with your dog. It's also close to the trail.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xmaslvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    60
    53
    13
    16
See reviews for
27
52
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We didn't want to pay too much for a room cuz we knew for the most part that we were just going to be sleeping there.

The good: Very friendly staff, very clean rooms, location was good

The bad: The highway was loud in the room, and there was no coffee pot in the room. We brought our own coffee pot though expecting that. They did have coffee/tea in the lobby in the morning.

With our overall experience, we were very happy. The other perk about staying in there is we had a non-smoking and we couldn't smell the other rooms at all. We would go back and stay again.

Oh! And we thought the beds were super comfy!!! We actually went out and bought a new bed after our trip cuz we realized our bad our old bed was!!! lol

Room Tip: Bring your coffee pot if you like it your way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SummerFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

A handy place to stay for the price. Fridge and microwave in rooms make this an ideal place to stay. Close to all the fun and snow and shops. Clean yet not refurbed yet. Comfy beds and clean bathrooms is all i need and all you get here, but super stopping place. We spent 4 nights here and loved it

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank triplover51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

After a long day of skiing, this place is more than that. Management is great! Tell them your tired an just need a place to sleep before heading home and not only will the price be at or under $50, 9 times outa 10 Mgmt will give you a free brkfst coupon for Denny's. Some rooms have fridges and Most have coffee pots. But for $39.99 in South Lake take a clean room an get your coffee in the office! I love this place, but I don't go to Tahoe to sit in a room. I'm either skiing or gambling!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannonlcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Let me start off by saying that I work for a 4 star hotel and major branded hotel. So I know the ins and outs of hotels.
When I waited until the last minute to make my travel plans for NYE I was looking at paying $400-600 at the "casino/strip" hotels. I work for a hotel -I'm not paying those prices. So after looking and searching I came across the Motel 6. First Reaction? All the bad reviews below were going to ruin my trip, but for $100 and a place to shower and get ready I wasn't going to be too picky. After all it's only 4 miles from the "main event"
Pros:
-Great Rate (it's motel 6 after all)
-Hotel front desk was kind, courteous and welcoming
-Hotel room was clean and smelt clean
-Hotel is 4 miles from casinos
-Bathroom clean
-Microwave and Fridge clean
-Carpet clean
-Bed clean (and even newish, again I work in a hotel, I can tell a newer bed from a older used bed)
-They kept the light on :) (haha)

Cons:
-few little dust bunnies here and there however nothing horrible AT ALL probably what you have at your own home
-towels are stiff not fluffy (again it's a motel not a 4 star hotel)
-Exterior Corridors (I'm a woman, it's just not as safe but it's a motel and you can't change the building)

That's it! It was totally worth the money for a night that could have ended up costing me a LOT more!

I received a survey from Motel6 and after I filled it out I actually received a personalized "Thank you" from the General Manager - I was in shock but it made it that much more caring, friendly and customer service oriented than I EVER thought a motel6 would be.

This location changed my opinion of Motel6, however, the General Manager regained my trust of true customer service.
Thank you for a nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HiltonConcordCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillon, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Oh, good lord what a dump!!! Not only is it as far away from the middle of town as you can get, but it is in need of some serious upkeep. When we walked into the lobby, it stank of stale humid urine, so bad that I had to leave and go outside and let my husband sign in, then to the room. The people next to us must have been staying long tern, they had weird books and stuff in their window and literally smoked non-stop day and night outside the room, which of course was our room also, smoke billowing out at all hours. The property looks like a crack house, very run down, pop machine and ice machine both OUT OF ORDER. I literally could not wait to check out of this dump, thank goodness we went to dinner and spent the evening out with friends, I would have had to check out if we would have spent any more time there. Stay Away!!! Oh, and we had to pay for Wifi, which did not work after we paid for it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I realized the day of our weekend trip to tahoe that i had forgotten to book a room! so i jumped on motel 6 website knowing they'd most likely have a room last minute. Now, i'm nobodys fool, i know not to have high expectations but, wow. the people in the room next to us were smoking weed the whole time and the front desk said they couln't move us but "had some orange spray"..... so don't forget to book a room anywhere but motel 6 in advance before you take off the weekend to south lake.

*also the pool was closed cause they were painting the fence*

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
3.6 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
216 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
257 reviews
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#56 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#46 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
25 reviews
3.1 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
386 reviews
3.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#47 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe

Property: Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Address: 2375 Lake Tahoe Blvd, US 50/Lake Tahoe Boulevard at SR 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7101
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 Lake Tahoe
Motel Six Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Motel Six
Lake Tahoe Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing