We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for your reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 7 March 2005

After finding tripadvisor and checking out hotels in South Lake Tahoe, I landed on this Motel 6. After reading the reviews, I went ahead and booked a weekend there. It was exactly as people described; a nice price for an above average stay. The employees were very friendly and courteous, the rooms were clean and neat.

We'll be staying there again. Thanks to all of the other reviewers for your help in making the right choice!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utex95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2005

uThis place is a sure bet if you don't want to fall into the 2 classic South Lake Tahoe traps, rat hole motels and overpriced rooms. The major problem with accomodation at South Lake Tahoe are plenty of rat hole motels, there's one at every corner. Problem #2 are the prices, boy they can charge you over a hundred bucks for that same rathole, without a blink! I hate price quotes like "yeah, that's 49 for Friday and 117 for Saturday" or "2 nights minimum" (even 3, on President's day weekend).
For $61 on a weekend, this is a really nice place. My son and I stayed in room 278 on Feb 11th and 12th. Did a reservation online, all perfect. There was a fridge and microwave in our room, TV and otherwise all chain's standard. A good ski weekend deal, a major relief from $100+ so called nice or honeymoon places. Away from casinos, close to Y, you're at Sierra at Tahoe 15 minutes earlier than from Stateline. They could only maybe do with a table and 2 chairs in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ruxrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2005

Definitely above average for the price and motel category. Given that we are only in a hotel/motel to shower and sleep during ski season, this is a very solid accommodation. The strong water pressure in the showers is well-appreciated after a long day on the slopes, and the rooms are clean and well-equiped. The rooms are not big, by any means, but are sufficient for a couple. No shampoo (use the soap), but lots of cable channels to doze off to. Recommended!!

3  Thank Eureka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco
213
Reviewed 19 January 2005

We stayed at Motel 6 this past weekend.
It was by far one of the cleanest and friendliest Motel 6's I have stayed in (Some can be not so nice).
The value was fantastic and our weekend stay there was memorable.
Would definitely go to this Motel 6 again!!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2004

Looking for a budget motel for the weekend? This is the only place I've found so far to get a bargain rate (under $80 per night) on the weekends. From their website, I've gotten rates from $50-$80 per night which I think is unheard of for the Lake Tahoe area.

The motel is located in a quiet, peaceful area but about a 10 minute drive to the Casinos. No problems with cleanliness or service. Pool OK. Keep in mind that the walls are thin and at regular levels, speaking and moving about can be heard next door. Also mornings can get noisy as talking and slamming car doors can be heard right outside your room. If this is not going to be a major problem for you, this place should be fine. I guess I've been lucky with my neighbors so far.

Beds were stiff and covers thin, but I got a good nights sleep. The bathtub is very large for a budget motel.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jaymazda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hollister, CA
12
Reviewed 4 February 2004

Went skiing and stayed here 1 night---very clean, great location, inexpensive and easy access off the highway. Rooms were small, but we just wanted to sleep so it didn't matter. Will definitely stay again.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2003

We stayed here two years ago and the rooms were clean and everything worked well. Small rooms but Inexpensive prices. We liked being far from the Casinos and traffic.

1  Thank Donna88814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
3.6 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#22 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
230 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
265 reviews
3.1 mi away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#53 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#41 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apex Inn
Apex Inn
#42 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
68 reviews
3.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#49 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe

Address: 2375 Lake Tahoe Blvd, US 50/Lake Tahoe Boulevard at SR 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7101
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £38 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 Lake Tahoe
Motel Six Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Motel Six
Lake Tahoe Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing