We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpine Inn & Spa
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing value, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The first impression one gets arriving at the alpine inn and spa is definitely not doing it justice. The exterior looks worn and not very inviting. The pool area is very clean and potted plants and flowers upgrade the hotel courtyard giving it a comfortable and welcoming air.

The room was very clean and looked after. The amenities are basic but in good working order. Fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, coffee maker and hair dryer were all as expected.

Upon check in you get a reusable beach access pass which can be redeemed at the lakeside beach 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The beach is awesome.

Heavenly, casinos and other attractions are in walking distance from the hotel as well.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bmikev10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    46
    35
    8
    17
See reviews for
22
54
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
397 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This motel style set up is actually quite nicely done with a clean looking swimming pool centered in the middle of the buildings, and nice green grass throughout.

The rooms were basic and clean, and ours had a very large bed. Amenities include fridge, TV, hair dryer and decent WiFi. The rooms are supposed to be non smoking but ours definitely smelt like smoke, so we just aired it out all afternoon. We only stayed one night and if you are not spending any time in your room or at the hotel then the value against the price is pretty decent.

An easy location to the Main Street in Heavenly and they also offer access to the Lakeside Beach area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is in a nice location for all attractions in Tahoe like Casinos, Beach, Shopping etc.
The rooms are small and neat and have all essential amenities.Breakfast was satisfactory.
On the whole, the hotel is worth the price we pay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raghav_SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The motel is right smack on the border between Nevada and California in South Tahoe. This means that the location is good if you are interested in gambling, shopping or spendling time on the beach. The motel will provide a pass to the beach, giving the guests free access. Our room appeared clean and there was a nice looking pool outside. The room had a big screen TV with satellite, micro and well functioning WiFi. The whole style is that of a classic California motel. Breakfast is included, but as there is no restaurant, you either have to eat it in the lobby (which is where it is served) standing up, or take it with you. Also, another drawback is that the lobby smells rather distinctly of Indian food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a great hotel if you want a nice CLEAN room with a huge bed! I wish the room was just a tad bigger, but not an issue. The room comes with a fridge and free wifi!! I loved the fact that the hotel is a short walk from the casinos and shops. They even have a pool, but we never swam. This is a great budget friendly hotel, that seemed to be close to everything. Plus you get a pass to go to the lake, which you must pay a fee if you do not have one. I think they even offer free continental breakfast, which we didn't take advantage of, over all a good experience with Alpine Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Salmon, Washington
Level Contributor
318 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a recent overnight trip to Tahoe. The room was small, but it was very clean and well appointed. I enjoyed the fridge, microwave, and flat screen TV. This property is directly across from the Harvey's parking lot and short walk from all the Stateline attractions.

The hot tub could be much better, and should be as the hotel uses spa in the name. Other than that I had no issues with this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttocsnodrog_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My family and I love to visit our friends in Tahoe once a year. So we originally stay in the same hotel every time. However, it was my idea to try a different hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. My husband and I checked in at 4pm. A nice gentlemen was at the front desk and I told him we had reserved a room with Expedia. After giving me a room key, I then went to check out the room. It was cute, clean and had been remodeled. It was a nice sized room, comfortable beds with fluffy pillows and the bathroom floor was heated. Very nice feature which I liked. There was a pool with kids in it and a Jacuzzi too. My husband and I both agreed we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraR1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#30 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#45 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#28 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#47 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#43 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#35 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn & Spa

Property: Alpine Inn & Spa
Address: 920 Stateline Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6913
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Inn And Spa
Alpine Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpine Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpine Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing