We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place for camping”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Richardson Resort
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and camped at the rv park and had a great time. You can stay here a few days and not need to leave. The campground was very clean and nice and they have partial ofr full hookups and hot showers and flush toilets . There is a great restaurant and bar, very nice beach and hiking trails. Overall a nice place to relax for a few days, I will be going back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brentsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We only went here to rent a speedboat from the marina which is the second time we have done this from here. The team are all excellent and offer you great advice for the trip and to ensure you do not da,age the boat which will cost you. Just take the advice it is well worth it. We only had an hour and a quarter but more than enough time to go round Emarald Isle which we stopped at and swam around in which was amazing. The beach here is also very good and a great place to relax in. Well worth the time and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Wellssimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were not staying at this property but wanted to check it out for maybe a future place to stay next trip. We walked the grounds and beach. It was crowded for a Monday. We didn't find the atmosphere relaxing at all. We waited about 30 minutes to get a table in the restaurant. Ate outside at a front table on the deck. The food and service were average. The lobster and shrimp in my Po-Boy sandwich were overly deep fried. My husband enjoyed his Philly cheesesteak much more. Two people started playing volleyball on the beach 4 feet in front of our table while we were eating which was more than a little annoying. Vote still out on whether we will return to this one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PinkTink58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

As part of our California trip we stopped off at this site for a couple if days.
The place itselve is in a stunning location.
We stayed in the main hotel which was compact & clean. Problem was the squeaky floor boards. The people upstairs sounded like they were dancing from very early hours of the morning.
There is also a limited choice of food & drinking places with in walking distance.
The main bar & grill only allow you to sit outside if you order food.
I like eating inside (because of flys) & then sitting outside for a drink. It was very packed so you needed to book.
The small gift store/cafe did a nice sandwich which we took on a bike ride. I can recommed that, the cycling paths are well maintained. The lakes really are stunning.
We also took a trip on the Rum runner. Really did not get the point, you pay $39 each for an 1 1/2 with no information on the lake & a charge of $8 for the so called rum runner cocktail.
I would go back again (if i was in this part of the world agsin) but would recommend booking really early & getting a cabin.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doha2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My family spent summers in Lake Tahoe for years and one of my best memories has always been Beacons Restaurant at Camp Richardson for Rum Runners.
No other restaurant in Tahoe,CA..or anywhere else makes a rum runner like Beacons. Add the amazing calamari( long strips of calamari steak)....and great burgers....and oh..the view. You are right on the beach...hard to find a better view. There is sand in your shoes!!
Very very crowded on weekends...lots of toung afults...but go during the week when it is a little quieter. You will love it. Remember to have a rum runner and calamari!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara4797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have heard about this place for years so we finally went there this year. Camp Richardson says they have a no pet policy and it is strict. We left our 2 little dogs at a kennel to follow the rules and the first day in the camp site I saw at least 5 dogs. They do not come around and check, on what is going on in the camp sites.
The potty's on the beach were over the top and could not even use them,very nasty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank deeder024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had the most amazing wedding at Camp Richardson. We had the entire resort to ourselves for the weekend, no time restrictions, amazing staff, great food, beautiful lake wedding, reasonable price for a wedding/reception on the lake. The coordinator May was incredible, if she still works there. I would highly recommend Camp Rich for a lake wedding!!! We are constantly told how we had the best most comfortable wedding 3 years later. I would love to return there for an anniversary party! Thanks Camp Rich!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
251 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#16 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
528 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#21 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,161 reviews
5.4 mi away
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
#14 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,236 reviews
4.6 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Richardson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Richardson Resort

Address: 1900 Jameson Beach Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Class:3 star — Camp Richardson Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic year-round resort secluded in old-growth forest on 125 acres adjacent to Lake Tahoe's longest stretch of sandy beach, features 26 hotel rooms, 7 motel rooms, 43 cabins (19 year-round), the 7-bedroom Richardson House, 100 RV sites and 200 tent campsites. Property amenities include a General Store & Cafe, the Beacon Bar & Grill lakeside restaurant, Mountain Sports Center (bicycling in summer, X-C skiing & snowshoeing in winter), as well as seasonal full-service Marina, Ice Cream Parlor and Coffee & Confectionery shop. Horseback riding is available 0.2 miles north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Richardson Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Camp Richardson Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing