We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot. Helpful Staff. Grreat View!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Richardson Resort
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 25 April 2014

During a week-long stay at Lake Tahoe we happened to explore the historic Camp Richardson resort after having dined at its lakeside restaurant. We looked at two cabins and inquired about whether one of them would be available after our week was up. We stayed in the Cadillac cabin for two days -- there was a Winter special: two days for the price of one. The view of the lake was wonderful. There were three beds, and each had its own level of firmness. As a person who needs a firm bed, I was very happy to have a regular bed to sleep in instead of camping out on the floor. The cabin was very clean and had a full kitchen and two small bathrooms. We found the whole place charming and hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waldorf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Camp Richardson Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We loved it here! After being in Las Vegas for 7 days we were keen to get out of the city. Camp Richardson provided great accomodation in the lodge, close to the lake/beach, clean, and lots of activities and walks in close proximity. Very reasonably priced, I think it was about $100 including taxes per night, and that was with a room with two beds (we were travelling with another couple), so only $50 a night per couple.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What can I say about Camp Richardson? What a wonderful place! It was just unfortunate that we were only there for one night as we were on a road trip from Las Vegas to San Francisco.

Camp Richardson is made up of a hotel by the road, a lodge with motel style rooms, and individual cabins. We stayed in the lodge, which is situated right on the beach of Lake Tahoe – amazing!!!!
It was a large room with two Queen beds, a shower ensuite, tea and coffee facilities and a large TV.

We could park the car right outside the door. It was very quaint and comfortable. The Guest guide we found in the room not only had loads of tips about the surrounding area, but also had interesting articles about the history of the lake and the camp. Nice touch.

The resort is beautiful. You feel so off the beaten track. The views are incredible – snow peaked mountains and an endless lake greet you as you open the door. Also, peace and quiet! Sadly we were too early in the season to see any bears – that would have been the icing on the cake.

As part of our accommodation, we received a voucher for money off breakfast in their shop/café on site. The breakfast was superb. Hearty food with fresh ingredients in lovely surroundings. The staff were friendly, helpful and so enthusiastic. We arrived later than expected, but were greeted with warm smiles. There is wifi in the lobby of the main hotel which is like a large sitting room with sofas, TVs and a fireplace. I needed to print off a ticket from my emails and the staff at reception could not have been more helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone, and I will definitely come back – hopefully when the season is a little warmer so I can swim in that beautiful lake.

There was a bar/restaurant next to our lodge, but we were too tired to go in. If I was being really really picky, it would be nice to have wifi in the rooms and not just the lobby as I was a long way from home and Skyping my parents during the trip, which is quite a personal thing which I wouldn't have wanted to do in a public space. Other than that, perfect place!!!

The Lake Tahoe area is very quaint, with nice little shops and cafes, plus the most amazing scenery.

Room Tip: The lodge on the lake is wonderful.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in the Hudson cabin which is very basic for the two of us but was very comfortable. This is a historic property so the accommodations are not modern. The resort itself is beautiful and on Lake Tahoe. We were able to walk the property and enjoy being next to the lake. We had breakfast both mornings in the General Store and it was outstanding. This was not our first stay here. We have enjoyed several of the cabins and will definitely be back again soon.

The staff is very helpful and the food at the Beacon restaurant on property is very good. They also have their signature Rum Runner drink which is very tasty.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

..... could not sleep for the whole time (two nights) we were there! The problem was the heating. The main building is fairly old and the heating is by hot water piped under the floor. This produced a continuous "ticking" sound due, I think, to the hot water pipes expanding/contracting while in contact with the timber. Up to 40 "ticks" per minute, from various points in the room. Some would consider this a form of torture!! Otherwise, the room was very clean, the double poster bed very comfortable, the staff VERY nice and friendly. The $5.00 breakfast coupons were enough to pay for a muffin and a small coffee at a nearby store. We did not use the $50.00 dinner coupon at their restaurant as it looked deserted when we looked in. Wouldn't want to come back in winter but the place looks like it could be very nice in summer due to location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IMHO4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

When you stay at Camp Richardson, you have to realize that it was built a long time ago and renovated. No TV's, the walls are thin, the rooms are small, you have to ask for an iron - it's just the way it is.

If you accept it on those terms, it's a very nice place to stay. Great proximity to trails and the lake. We were there for a wedding, so our experience may be a little atypical, but the staff was nice and helpful. The place is clean, and the rooms are well appointed. One minor detail I appreciated: they had conditioner, not just the typical shampoo-conditioner most hotels have (presumably to save money on stocking both).

There are a ton of camping sites and cabins nearby, so I imagine things get a little noisy in high season, no matter what part of the hotel you're in.

Room Tip: Room 209 has a king bed and is a little bigger than other rooms. It's a corner unit facing the r...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapalitoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I had the fish and chips. We both thought it was the best we've had. Very good tartar sauce. My husband had steak, which was good. The Rum Runner was good! If you like fish and chips, try it out! Casual place to eat with a nice view.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank travelynn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
4.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,088 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
909 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
406 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Bay Lodge
Emerald Bay Lodge
#58 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Richardson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Richardson Resort

Address: 1900 Jameson Beach Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Class:3 star — Camp Richardson Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic year-round resort secluded in old-growth forest on 125 acres adjacent to Lake Tahoe's longest stretch of sandy beach, features 26 hotel rooms, 7 motel rooms, 43 cabins (19 year-round), the 7-bedroom Richardson House, 100 RV sites and 200 tent campsites. Property amenities include a General Store & Cafe, the Beacon Bar & Grill lakeside restaurant, Mountain Sports Center (bicycling in summer, X-C skiing & snowshoeing in winter), as well as seasonal full-service Marina, Ice Cream Parlor and Coffee & Confectionery shop. Horseback riding is available 0.2 miles north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Richardson Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Camp Richardson Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing