We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rustic accomodation in Nash cabin”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Richardson Resort
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Excellent stay in >100 year old rustic cabin with the only downside being the location. It was too close to a dusty, unpaved road. Other than that the facilities offered both at the cabin and the Lodge were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Rum Runner from the beach to emerald cove is a trip I will always remember. Strong Rum tropical drinks and crystal clear Tahoe waters. We rented kayaks... swam and jumped from the docks.. ate at Beacon Grille, which closes early we found out as we arrived late from Vegas. Difficult transition to a tent from the Mandalay Bay in Vegas, but thats what traveling cross country is all about.

There are bears here, but they didn't bother us. walk to the beach and enjoy the giant pines. cool place to stay and what you would expect from a campground,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feffy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay at the resort but we did take the kids horseback riding with them and they were friendly happy and seemed to love their job! They joked with my teenager and the guide even took pictures of us on my cell phone

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassyx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had some time in mid-week to try this hotel, just to see what it was like... but I checked in quite late at night, and was tired from the drive. When presented with a half-page of room occupancy conditions, I balked, but the clerk said I had to initial them all. I read a few, and they had to do with breaking the no-pets rule, or the no smoking rule, or agreeing to pay for excess damage to fixtures, etc. , so I stopped reading... BIG MISTAKE: THERE IS A CONDITION THAT SAYS IF YOU CHECK OUT EARLY, I.E. SHORTEN YOUR STAY, THEY WILL NOT REFUND OR CREDIT ANYTHING ! This is something that, had I been alerted to it, I would have paid for one night only. Also, unlike many hotels and motels I have done business with, this place takes the full amount of your lodging fees up front-- and they provide no paperwork documenting your check-out! Truly, this is a place that takes full advantage of a near-monopoly of a choice spot on Lake Tahoe for camping or day trips. It's really a shame that they've abused this ill-deserved inheritance from the Richardsons.
Further Note: This is a refurbished, very old facility, and it does get warm during the summers... so if you require A/C for room comfort or sleeping, mark this place off your list, as the small hotel/lodge rooms only have ceiling fans, plus no TVs, no room phones.

Room Tip: Keep driving... go somewhere else, and just make a day trip. There's lots of free parking in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Notreallyacomplainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I just returned from a five day trip at the rv campground and had a nice time. The campground is typical for an rv type and there are many nice, shady spots and some with full hook ups. There are running toilets and hot showered for use if you wish and they work fine! It is a short, few minute walk to the large beach area where you can swim, kayak , lay out or rent a powerboat! The Beacon restaurant is really good, they have live music outside and great food! A great place to spend a week in Tahoe!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brentsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

"Historic Hotel" can mean old, very old, outdated, rustic,but the Camp Richardson Historic Hotel accommodations were none of the above. Our "King Deluxe" room was well appointed, super comfortable bed, clean, comfortable and the overall experience was perfect. No air-conditioning, but we opened the windows to get the fresh Tahoe air, turned on the overhead fan and was never uncomfortable. No TV......that was a good thing, don't need one, go outside and enjoy! The lobby area had a wonderful Tahoe feel with oversized chairs, fireplace and even a front porch with big chairs to watch the line across the street for ice cream!! A short walk to a fun beach, Run Runners, live music, it was overall a wonderful day, and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: I peeked in at a Queen room, and was glad I spent the extra $20 for King Deluxe. The added mini-refr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lnlwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

During a week-long stay at Lake Tahoe we happened to explore the historic Camp Richardson resort after having dined at its lakeside restaurant. We looked at two cabins and inquired about whether one of them would be available after our week was up. We stayed in the Cadillac cabin for two days -- there was a Winter special: two days for the price of one. The view of the lake was wonderful. There were three beds, and each had its own level of firmness. As a person who needs a firm bed, I was very happy to have a regular bed to sleep in instead of camping out on the floor. The cabin was very clean and had a full kitchen and two small bathrooms. We found the whole place charming and hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waldorf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
4.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,114 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#14 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
200 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#16 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
410 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Bay Lodge
Emerald Bay Lodge
#57 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
36 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & M...
#19 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Richardson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Richardson Resort

Address: 1900 Jameson Beach Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Class:3 star — Camp Richardson Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic year-round resort secluded in old-growth forest on 125 acres adjacent to Lake Tahoe's longest stretch of sandy beach, features 26 hotel rooms, 7 motel rooms, 43 cabins (19 year-round), the 7-bedroom Richardson House, 100 RV sites and 200 tent campsites. Property amenities include a General Store & Cafe, the Beacon Bar & Grill lakeside restaurant, Mountain Sports Center (bicycling in summer, X-C skiing & snowshoeing in winter), as well as seasonal full-service Marina, Ice Cream Parlor and Coffee & Confectionery shop. Horseback riding is available 0.2 miles north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Richardson Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Camp Richardson Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing