We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for an RV”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Richardson Resort
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed there with two RVs. It is nice, shady and not too far from the lake. At the lake, you have a restaurant (which we did not try) and a marina where you can rent kayaks and motorboats (which we did both). Facilities are above average for a campground (compared to the state and federal campgrounds). The only drawback is that other restaurants are quite far if you do not have a car.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Boris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

I enjoyed a lovely meal on the terrace of the restaurant overlooking Lake Tahoe. The food was good and the service was good as well. While the tables were close together, it was still a very pleasant meal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights of summer tent camping. It was our first time camping at Camp Richardson, although we are frequent Tahoe visitors. We arrived on a Wednesday and were expected to stay through Monday. Our first 2 nights were wonderful. We were in a spot in the Badger's Den (on the lake side). This was a perfect location for walking to the beach and the nearby ice cream shop. There are bike trails everywhere that you can ride on to just about anywhere.
They are very adamant about using the bear boxes, which we did, and making sure not to leave anything unattended. We followed all their rules and made sure that we were respectful campers. However, once the weekend arrived it seemed like all the rules flew out the window! There was no such thing as "Quiet Hours" any more. Campsites were packed full with way more campers (and tents) than were technically allowed. People were filing in way past the requested set up time of 9:30pm and it seemed like there was nothing anyone could do about it. Our quiet haven turned into a loud, drunken, obnoxious hellhole. The noise continued well into the wee morning hours and this went on for both Friday and Saturday nights. We were hoping the place might clear out on Sunday, but no. They all seemed to be staying. So, we forfeited our last night and got the heck out of there. We couldn't not take another sleepless night. It was really quite disappointing because up until the weekend we were very much enjoying our time there. Needless to say, I don't think we'll be returning.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CalienteCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Rocked up in our little campervan and checked in to our camp site quickly.

Nice area with lots of shade, plenty of room and good facilities. Got very smokey with everyone lighting fires and the toilets/showers often had queues but overall the location on the lake was great.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank StevoRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

As a first time camper, Camp Richardson was sheer perfection. Beautiful sites especially at the Badger's Den. Clean bathrooms and warm showers nearby. Walking distance to the beach and excellent location for bike rides in any direction around the lake. The ice cream shop is FANTASTIC. Top 2 ice cream experiences on the South Shore. We will return to Camp Richardson and hope to make it an annual summer event!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Alohaaimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stay in the cabins every year. The year round cabins are best. Fun place to be outdoors in a camping environment. This is a old school family camp ground...if you keep that in mind and that is what you are look it for..this place is awesome! Boating rentals at your finger tips, ice cream place, coffee and a place to eat and have drinks on the beach to great music!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice location, close to restaurants and South Lake Tahoe. Gas station 5 minutes away. Good family camping with kids. You can have your tent on grass if you lucky :-) Walking distance to Pope beach, beautiful bike trail next to camping.
To see photos from this and other location go to my web:
<a href="http://mariusz-blach.artistwebsites.com">http://mariusz-blach.artistwebsites.com</a>

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mariusz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
4.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,109 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
198 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#16 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
410 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Bay Lodge
Emerald Bay Lodge
#57 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
36 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & M...
#19 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Richardson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Richardson Resort

Address: 1900 Jameson Beach Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Class:3 star — Camp Richardson Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic year-round resort secluded in old-growth forest on 125 acres adjacent to Lake Tahoe's longest stretch of sandy beach, features 26 hotel rooms, 7 motel rooms, 43 cabins (19 year-round), the 7-bedroom Richardson House, 100 RV sites and 200 tent campsites. Property amenities include a General Store & Cafe, the Beacon Bar & Grill lakeside restaurant, Mountain Sports Center (bicycling in summer, X-C skiing & snowshoeing in winter), as well as seasonal full-service Marina, Ice Cream Parlor and Coffee & Confectionery shop. Horseback riding is available 0.2 miles north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Richardson Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Camp Richardson Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing