We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Tahoe Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Tahoe Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

A great wee find. Stayed here with some work colleagues and we were made to feel really welcome. The rooms are awesome; comfortable and decorated nicely. It was a great location for access to the Lake and pretty convenient to get anywhere else. The hot-tub was fantastic after a hard day on the mountain. Would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikemcquaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    252
    104
    43
    19
See reviews for
296
368
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California and Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We decided to extend our stay in Tahoe and stayed at the Basecamp Hotel for our extra night.
The hotel is located about a block away from the main boulevard and about a block away from the Nevada state line.
There were some lovely touches to the hotel, especially on the design front. Rooms had artwork which captured the spirit of the hotel.
Breakfast was included and was a lovely touch (fresh orange juice, coffee, tea, bagels, delicious pastries).
The staff were also very knowledgeable and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francsico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I was recently up in S. Lake to take in a few days of Mountain Biking. This hotel was perfect for our crew. On top of having all the facilities to lock up our bikes, it also has a great healthy, fresh continental breakfast to start out the day. All the baked goods are locally made fresh each morning. The wonderful coffee is roasted locally. I mean, even the orange juice is freshly squeezed. This place spares no expense on making sure their guests start out with the energy they'll need for their day's activity. Of course at the end of the day, they have a great jacuzzi as therapy after the day's activity.

As for the hotel decor - I'd call it "modern outdoors". Lot's of interesting woods with nice urban lighting fixtures. If you are a fan of the Mac, you are going to love this place. They have an Air in the lobby in case you need to look up a local hiking trail. If you need a charger for your iPhone, just ask the front desk - they'll set you up. I'm sure they welcome Android users but you may be out of luck of your forget your charger.

The rooms themselves are very modern with very comfortable beds. Have kids? Throw them up on the bunk beds. I slept in one (having lost a bet) and they're pretty comfortable. No need to bring your shampoo, conditioner or shower gel because each shower stall has a refillable supply of each. No wasteful little bottles that never get entirely used.

Oh, and as for your dogs, bring your owners but tell them when booking a room, it's best to let the hotel know they are bringing you. After all, they don't want you feeling uncomfortable in a room meant exclusively for humans!

I can't say enough about this place but in the interesting of being able to find a free room this winter, I'll leave it at that.

Room Tip: Bring your bikes - lot's of room to lock them up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McTravelSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I did all my research on TripAdvisor and Yelp before booking here. Most reviews were spot on. This hotel has a modern twist to the outdoor nature feel. It's newly renovated from top to bottom. I believe they just opened in May of 2012. So we were one of the first to enjoy this hidden gem.

+ Kudos for the entire front desk staff and all the behind the scenes crew like the housekeeping dept. The place was immaculately clean & tidy! A big plus for us.
+ FREE s'mores kit when you mention TripAdvisor!
+ FREE beach access passes to Lakeview Beach...
+ FREE breakfast. Yummy locally made breads, orange juice, bagels, etc...
+ Beer & wine from their cozy bar...
+ Hot tub action upstairs
+ Fire-pit and ample seating all around...
+ We explored and peeked into the bunk bed rooms for our next trip...very cool!

I can't wait to try them in the winter season. Heavenly Ski Resort gondolas are across the street. Overall, a great little hotel retreat. but just bit pricey even considering the low occupancy during our stay.

Recommendations:
- Oddly, there were any trash cans throughout the property. Possibly to avoid raccoons &/or bears?
- Our bathroom window and sliding glass door had faulty locks.
- Parking in the covered garage was very tight!
- Needs curtain liners. I wanted to enjoy the natural sunlight & moonlight, but I felt naked...when I was NAKED ;-) !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronage408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

The staff at Basecamp has left no detail undone. Beds and linens are perfect. There's even a docking station in the room for your iPhone. Dining recommendations are right on. Continental breakfast is more than ample. Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Such a nice change of pace from the chain hotels. Fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonomaSweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

My boyfriend and i went there this past weekend for his bday. Robbie is awesome. I troubled him a week before for arranging my bf s surprise bday.. so Robbie was kind enough to help me plan.. he ordered the cake ( yumm) and champagne for us and even brought it up to the room to surprise my bf. He suggested restaurants to go to, thigns to do , everything. Very helpful staff. Other than that -
Pros
1. Very quaint little place with a nice personality about it. It is one of the newly renovated motels. But it has been done very tastefully
2. We stayed at 7 seas inn last year and it's right next door. Compared to that, this one is way cleaner and well maintained. I dunno why 7 seas has such good ratings
3. Access to the private beach at walking distance
4. Proximity to casinos, heavenly village. .everything u need.
5. The camp fire and marshmallow toasting. Nice way of getting to know everyone whos staying there.. u know, so u dont feel like all u have is a room and a bed.
6. They now have a bar, a coffee station where u can pay to get cappuchinos and lattes and such..and free breakfast at the nice fancy lobby with the cute little viewmaster ( nostalgic!!)
7. Again , friendly staff, tasteful decor all within affordable range.
Will definitely go back there just to stay at basecamp. If all u are looking for is a pleasant place to stay, with no complaints, this is the one. Its not fancy.. but it certainly does have character.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

My husband and I loved so much about this charming hotel. It's a 60s motel that's been updated to a trendy, comfortable and welcoming spot for people of every age. We met so many interesting and friendly people at Basecamp. In fact, we met some of the people responsible for the creation of the hotel's brand. It was so cool to get the back story on this fun, chic and cozy hotel.

The hotel is just west of the Nevada state line in California. It's within walking distance to shops, restaurants, casinos and the beach. You get a free beach pass, also.

We were impressed with the friendly & helpful staff (thanks, Robbie & Alexa). Robbie made our reservation at Riva's Grill, making sure we had a lakeside table to watch the sunset. He and Alexa made spot-on recommendations about places to hike and visit around the Lake Tahoe area.

We stayed on the second floor in the back side of the hotel. The King bed was as comfortable (or more so) than my own at home. Pillows were perfectly fluffy, too. The color scheme, furniture and art accesories made for a very lovely place. The bathroom has a stand-up shower with aromatic shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. There is no counter space but they do provide a ledge above the sink that works well. There is also an open shelf below the sink vanity on which to store items. I understand they have rooms with bunk beds and 2 queen beds for larger groups or families.

The credenza in the bedroom offers extra storage space. There is a small closet area with a bench for your suitcase but no dresser drawers. I loved the tall mirror with the eye level electric outlet--suspect a woman's touch there. The room is simply and tastefully decorated and will appeal to the Pottery Barn/IKEA set.

The room has a heater and a ceiling fan but no AC. This might be a problem in hot weather. When we were there, we kept our windows open and got a nice breeze; at night we drew the blinds (which really do block out the light) but it still allowed the room to stay cool. There is a window in the bathroom that allows cross ventilation.

Towels were large and fluffy. Bed linens are very, very soft and luxurious. Each bed has what feels like a feather duvet...very comfy!

Breakfast included excellent coffee (I like mine strong) that's locally roasted along with an assortment of teas. Lots of choices for sweetener and creamer/whitener. They had a selection of oatmeal and granola with milk or yogurt, brown sugar, raisins as well as specially made sweet rolls and bagels from a local bakery. Butter, jam and peanut butter available and fresh squeezed OJ. Real ceramic dishes, no paper plates or styrofoam!!

They have a bar, also, from which you can purchase wine or beer. We had our own and there was no problem bringing it out on the patio.

There is a small hot tub on the roof above the lobby which we enjoyed after our long hikes. It's small, but noone was every there when we went.

The lobby includes two large leather couches and a large coffee table to gather around the stone fireplace. The breakfast area had a large community table as well as individual tables and chairs. We enjoyed sitting around the large table talking with other guests or out on the patio doing the same. At night, they fire up the fire pit and you can roast marshmallows for S'mores! It really does feel like a camp, but you are in true comfort. We were told that in the fall and winter months, they are going to offer family style dinners (stews, chilis, etc).

So what are the cons? I consider these minor but others may find them more disturbing. During our stay, we did not have any cups in our room (they had run out and we had to go to the lobby to get them each day). Each room has one towel per person and it was difficult to get an extra one. There is no AC, so if the weather is warm, this could be a problem. Since Lake Tahoe is at 6500 feet or so, this may not be a concern very often. The hotel has no elevators to the second or third floor. There is no pool, but who cares when you have the lake and beach a short walk away?

Overall it was a top notch stay and I would go back there the next time I go to Lake Tahoe. I want to go back with my hiking group or with some couples we like to hike with. It would be a blast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are probably quieter. I was glad to be on the 2nd floor. We did not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speech529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Property: Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing