We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel in the heart of South Lake Tahoe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice boutique hotel in the heart of South Lake Tahoe!”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Only had three weeks to plan a snow trip to Lake Tahoe. Did an extensive research before I settled with this hotel. The location was unbeatable. We've booked the Explorer room and everything was to my expectation. The room is on the 2nd floor and below us was the parking garage. It has pros and cons. We have two young kids and with no one under us, they can run around freely. However, the room upstairs is another room that was equipped with two bunk beds. Since the property was converted from a motel, the floor is pretty thin. So if there are kids up there jumping around, it'll rattle the whole ceiling. Suggestion to management: maybe put all bunk beds rooms on the 2nd floor above the garage? Anyway, besides the wall heater was not functioning well and rattled ceiling (when the kids upstairs jumped down from their bunk beds), everything else was working good. The staff (especially Alexia) were nice, courteous and helpful. They tried their best to fix our heater problem and gave us a portable heater when the wall heater wasn't functioning. Breakfast was great with fresh pastries, fresh oj and good coffee. We even made s'more by the firepit. All in all, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiecute1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    267
    112
    50
    26
See reviews for
326
391
44
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights this past weekend and we loved it! We were in Tahoe for our anniversary and got really excited to find a deal on groupon for this place. The property is just a few minutes walk from Heavenly Village and the lake, which is awesome. Everything is still new and shiny, and you can tell that not one detail was overlooked with this new design. The decor is fun and the communal lobby/lounge area is welcoming as soon as you walk in. Of course, none of this would matter if it weren't for the AWESOME staff. Everyone was friendly, social, helpful, and sincere. Alexia and Dan were great multi taskers, helping guests at the desk and maintaining the breakfast area, always friendly and observant. The only regret we had was that we left the day before it snowed! We can't wait to come back this summer. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The hotel is so great! Nice and refurbished rooms, really moderns, with a clean decor. The hotel staff is really friendly, and room is very clean. The breakfast is complimentary, but really poor from my point of view, but for the price (USD98.00 per night) it was ok. The hotel is really good located, from a 5 minute walk from Heavenly Gondola (Mountain for Ski).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanoPeGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My friend invited me to join her for two days and I had NO idea what to expect. Well I was pleasantly surprised. When we arrived and stepped into the lobby, we were WOWED! The decor was simple, innovative and cozy. The person at the front desk, Dan, was super helpful and really nice about every question or need we presented him. Though we were a bit sad that we did not get a room with a fireplace, we really loved our room. The decor was cool - original art work, ipod dock, good quality bath products, and soft carpet were highlights. After a wonderful night's sleep in a comfy bed with linen that made me feel at home, we headed down for the "continental breakfast"... Basecamp has fresh baked local pastries and bagels..fresh cream cheese and peanut butter options, oatmeal and granola with awesome (homemade?) yogurt, quality orange juice and yummy coffee. Alexia whipped us up two yummie lattes on the second morning. She was also great at helping to plan out our activities for the day, and is just a really sweet person to talk to. GO!! ENJOY! Get in the hot tub! Thank you!

Room Tip: King room with balcony was awesome..there are some with fireplace too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elpirata9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I had been wanting to stay here since I first heard that the old Block hotel had been converted, and I was not disappointed. The boutique hotel is a welcome change of pace from the big casinos and rundown motels in South Lake.

I loved the lobby and the whole look of the place. I've never hung out in a hotel lobby before, and my boyfriend, friend and I ended up watching a football game and drinking beers from the bar for about an hour, while talking to the friendly staff.

The location is right by all the hustle and bustle of South Lake Tahoe, and I was in awe of the design touches all weekend. They have great extras like a smores bar and hot tub on the roof, but I didn't get a chance to check those out. Next time!

We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maloriejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Basecamp is an excellent option for a visit to Lake Tahoe. Upon check-in, I found myself in a themed room called The Great Indoors. It had a feel of camping in the beautiful Tahoe wilderness with with modern luxuries of a hotel. The bed had a canvass tent over it and the walls were wallpapered with wilderness landscapes. There was a fire pit (fake) to give that extra camping feel. The room was clean, comfortable and provided a great complement to my trip. The staff was very welcoming and attended to every need. The lobby bar was very cozy and the property is walking distance to all the major Tahoe attractions. My next visit to Lake Tahoe will definitely bring me back to Basecamp Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fellowtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Basecamp Hotel rocks. Great service, comfortable and clean rooms (with funky touches), yummy breakfast snacks, and great leather couches to sprawl out in! Highly recommended, especially if you're looking for a real mountain experience with the comforts of home.

Room Tip: If you want to feel like you're camping in the great outdoors, ask for the room with the tent ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
395 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Property: Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing