We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Heavenly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Heavenly”
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

It lived up to my expectations which is not easy for somewhere in Heavenly to pull off!
The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the staff are exceptional.
Best bits-breakfast, bar, balcony and hot tub.
Bits for improvement-heated towel rail in bathroom another hot tub at the other end of the complex.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    281
    122
    60
    27
See reviews for
340
411
44
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

It's all in the details- towel and toilet paper bars that look like pipes, lantern lamps, picture frames and furniture made from reclaimed wood, curtains and bedskirt that look like tent canvas, plush carpet with a wood grain design etc. The color scheme and design feels fresh. Bed was very comfortable but we would have liked a couple extra pillows (there were only 2 and I'm sure we could have requested extras, but we didn't). Bathroom products were quality, shower was nice (no tub). We enjoyed the balcony and partial view of the mountain. The room had lots of electrical outlets which is helpful for charging your phone/laptop etc. There is a rooftop hot tub with views, and fire pits that you can roast s'mores over! Really cute idea. They even have a room with a tent set up inside over the bed and a campfire! Basecamp also makes good use of custom stamps (on paper cups, on little paper bags filled with granola, etc). The lobby is cozy and they encourage people to hang out. Breakfast was simple but satisfying- bagels, pastries, yogurt, granola, oatmeal, juice and milk. They also have communal dinners 3x a week (around $30 pp) and have a small bar area. We stayed for my husband's birthday and they graciously helped set up a surprise in the room on arrival- a growler full of a local beer and cupcakes. We did not ski but the location was ideal for access to Heavenly, the casinos and other South Lake activities. All in all we loved this place and had a great stay!! It has a lot of character, style, and stands out from the crowd. Just remember this is a small property, a fully updated motel, and not a fancy hotel and I'm sure you will be very happy you stayed here. Even if you don't ski you should ride the Heavenly Gondola. It's expensive but it's right across the street from Basecamp and the views are amazing!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlykyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Myself husband and 2 teenage boys stayed here for 3 nights to snowboard. Its close to the gondola rooms are a good size and beds are comfortable. Breakfast is great and the staff very friendly and helpful. WiFi is free and works well. Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainydayUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Our family including two boys aged 11 and 14 spent two nights at this superb hotel in order to go snow boarding. We had travelled from SF and had stayed in the 4* Palace but found The Basecamp so much better. Friendly staff, nothing was too much for them and we were made to feel totally at home. The decor is beautiful and such a change from some of the old fashioned hotels you find in the mountains. It is stunningly simple almost Scandinavian in style which really works. The room was immaculate and very clean, the beds really comfy and our balcony looked out on the mountain. The breakfast is lovely. The staff put us in contact with Ski Butler who delivered boards straight to the room. A great service. The gondolas are a short walk away. Basecamp staff allowed us to keep the car in their carpark after we checked out which was fab as town parking is expensive. We would absolutely stay there again and can recommend the place to everyone. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wend68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed 3 nights in this great hotel recently. I was a single traveller skiing, but managed to use all the facilities (bar, food, spa pool, free Internet etc). The hotel is clean and has good facilities for the price. I had a very big double room. I used the hotel as a base to ski in heavenly (a few mins walk to the gondola), Kirkwood (45min drive) and Squaw Valley (<60mins). The only thing I would say is the breakfast is a little limited by US standards - however as a Brit I found coffee, granola and a pastry more than enough. I picked this hotel because of everyone's good Trip Advisor comments - thank you everyone!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shark_bait_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We visited the Basecamp Hotel late October 2012 and I'm sorry it's taken so long to write this review as I love this place! I loved everything about it, from the decor, the comfy beds, the breakfasts (delicious pastries!) and the great staff. There was not a single thing I would change about the place and we would all like to go back here. My 3yr old is still talking about the fire pit and toasting s'mores at the "bear hotel". We would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac7899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel provides everything you need and nothing you don't. This 50's motel was completely renovated and opened last summer. Rooms are clean and new. A basic breakfast is included. I love the base camp decor! Its just a cool place. Rooms have various bed options, we stayed in a room w/ bunk beds, perfect for our guys ski trip. Hot tub after long day of skiing was perfect. Six minute walk to the Heavenly Gondola and restaurants. Two minute walk to casinos. Staff was helpful and friendly. Ill stay here again when I return to Tahoe.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyOnTheeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
856 reviews
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Property: Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing