We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My 10 year old said, "mom why can't we stay in a regular hotel?" If you are looking for a hotel that you can find in any town anywhere, than this may not be the best place for you. This place is fun, unique and inspiring. It's clean, modern, staffed with helpful knowledgeable people. One of my favorite parts is that almost half of the people I met did not come from the US; France, New Zealand, UK. It has a lodge-y feel with all the comforts, very reasonably priced good beer and wine at a small bar. Large couches to spend the evening reading. An outdoor fire pit with s'mores available. On Saturday night we had dinner and it was excellent. Raclette, fondue, and stew!

We're definitely planning a trip back, no Holiday Inn Express for us. We told our 10-year old, when she's a grown up she can choose her own hotel, we'll stick with Basecamp.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank setsinthewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
There are newer reviews for Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

All you need for you ski trip is here. Location close enough to the ski resort, comfortable rooms, pleasant breakfast and personnel always available for advice. We tried also the heated pool on the roof, very nice.
One small remark only: the heating system is a real thunderstorm as it turnes on: we heated the room, and then turned it off for the night

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxandcoMonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Location, service, comfort, style. This place gets it. And a hot tub facing the mountain for apré ski? Done.

Everyone at Basecamp is friendly and eager to help. I remember the place before it was bought by the new owners and remodeled. Completely night and day. They meshed modern comforts with the feel of the wooden mountain cabin. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwitk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Basecamp is the ideal respite from the craziness of city life! My husband and I stayed with our three year old daughter for 4 nights. The location is ideal -- close to the villagw and the mountain and ski school. The rooms are a mix of four seasons style comforts ie the beds are ridiculously comfortable and sheets seem to be of 1000+ thread count variety but the hotel has a casual vibe.

We didn't come to meet new friends but we couldnt help but engage with a very interesting and eclectic group of travelers during the delicious communal dinners and breakfasts and fires for making smores in the evenings.

I recommended Basecamp to all sorts of travelers from those with children to the hip 20-30 yo looking for a fun weekend! At Basecamp those crowds are not mutually exclusive.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wheatfreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

These folks clearly did the hard work up front to create an extraordinary experience in hospitality. Every detail, from the art to the lantern in the lobby, the jacuzzi on the roof and the outdoor fire pit with endless bags for smoring it up - every corner of this amazing hotel sings of warmth and fun. They experience at Basecamp makes it hard to depart and will leave you hungry for your next visit. Just walk to the Gondola and your suddenly atop Heavenly. Across the street are the full range of casinos. They hosted a gourmet feast for us on the grill and took a hands on approach to ensuring that every single member of our group (about 30 people for a double birthday) had an exceptional time. They embody the holy grail of hoteliers, "what's the most we can do?" and they knock it out of the park. I expect everyone around the lake, when they eavesdrop on this updated gem, is going to raise their game in response. My only worry and hope is that the owners can keep pace with their success and still will hold blocks of rooms for our family of friends.

Room Tip: Book way in advance. This place is like Farmgirl in L.A. or the Ace Hotel in New York. Pony up for...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarpeDiem1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Basecamp is the only place to stay in South Lake as far as I'm concerned. Incredibly stylish and hip, all the details come together to create a unique spot with loads of personality, totally unparalleled by any other place place I've stayed in Tahoe. Five stars across the board!

Top Pros
Location - It's a very short walk (5-10min) to the casinos/bars and Heavenly gondola, shops and restaurants.

Style/Vibe/Comfort/Staff- Incredibly cool common area great for gatherings with your own tribe or mingling with other guests. Clean, modern, hip design without sacrificing comfort. Fantastically comfy bed - no cheezy, scratchy, motel comforters here. Cozy gas fire with deep leather couches in the lobby invite you to stay and hangout a while. Hot tub. Patio with heat lamps and gas fire, perfect for making smores. (Bonus - they provide the cutest little homemade smores kits you've ever seen).

Excellent, friendly and helpful staff. Warm, young, committed owners who took the time to chat about the hotel, what they love about it, the remodel (including details on some of the awesome DIY fixtures and hand-made finishing touches). Fantastic music - coming from an admitted music snob, that says a LOT.

Yummy daily breakfast provided -mini bagels and cream cheese, pastries, Greek yogurt, granola, oatmeal, juice, tea, coffee. And not the gross dried out icky kinds you'd expect when you hear 'breakfast included' , but stuff you would buy and eat at home. Had a great BBQ dinner here too. Big fan of the communal table.

I can't say enough good things about this place. This is truly unlike any other spot in Tahoe. Great value but so much more than that. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtney b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Neils and his staff have really hit a home-run! Staff is great, location is fantastic (you're across the st from Heavenly Village base, which is where the gondola to the top of the mountain is), and the breakfast is really a bonus. My biggest pet peeve with hotels, is bed comfort, and Basecamp has some of the comfiest and warmest beds I've ever slept in...especially comfortable after hitting the slopes all day. The hot tub on the top deck is crucial as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony...extra room for the ski gear.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £81 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing