We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome honeymoon”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Had an awesome time at basecamp on our honeymoon. Everyone seemed genuinely happy that we were there, and everyone wanted to make sure we didn't miss anything awesome. They had great advice for us as far as what to do in the area. They seemed to have suggestions for everyone from family outings to more challenging adventures. The location is good. It is pretty much near everything. We enjoyed the smores and the hot tub at night. The breakfast was good, but was all carbs. They have a happy hour with half price draft beer. We did not try the dinner, but wish we had. The only negative thing I can say is that in the standard king room ( I don't know about the other rooms) there are no drawers or cabinets to put your clothes. There is, however, a small closet. Since we were there for 5 days, it was a little annoying, but I am still very happy with the experience. The most important thing was that the customer service was awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfklotzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    256
    104
    43
    19
See reviews for
301
373
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This review is actually a little difficult for me to write. I arrived at Basecamp Hotel with great anticipation given the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. Using what turned out to be a wildly popular Living Social deal, I always try to temper my review knowing I have been lucky to stay someplace for a great price. Basecamp was definitely packed with Living Social couponers and I believe they handled the rush well. The hotel completely lived up to its good reviews in terms of its charming character. At check-in, with a very friendly, laidback staff person offered to move his truck when we double checked to make sure we were parked in the right parking lot and there were many happy "campers" roasting marshmallows on the lobby patio. As a nature lover I instantly felt at home. Everything in our room looked new and bright and shiny. The decor spoke to us as hikers and it was very charming. The bed was sooooo cozy, I could have slept for days. EXCEPT...and here comes the difficult part of the review...as it turns out, we came to Tahoe during an atypical heat wave. Because the temps don't often rise over 80, many places--including Basecamp Hotel--don't have air conditioning in the rooms. So when we opened our hotel room that night, we were blasted with hot air. We quickly opened the doors and windows (fortunately the windows can be fully opened) and turned on the overhead fan. It turns out the fan was loose, which caused the metal blades to strike against the metal base. The result was the sound of metal fingernails scratching a metal chalk board. Not good! It was late when we arrived and we didn't want to bother the one staff person on duty, so we spent a restless, hot night alternately turning on the fan when we couldn't stand the heat and turning it off again when we couldn't stand the noise. In the morning, after eating some super yummy granola and muffins, we let the staff person at the desk know about the fan. She said she wasn't able to fix it, but she would tell the manager when he came in at noon. When we returned to our hotel room late Sat night, we turned on the fan with great anticipation that it had been dealt with...sadly not. So another restless--on/off heat vs metal fingernail on chalk board night...Sat night noise was complimented with noisy, drunk neighbors on the adjacent deck (noise definitely does travel in the complex, but you can't hear it if you can shut your window). We let the same staff person know on check out that the fan hadn't been fixed. One our way home we tried to decided if we would go back. So much about the place spoke to us, but it wasn't a relaxing weekend in the end...the fan really just needed some screws tightened..something that could have been easily and quickly done. Maybe come winter, we will be enticed to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilssteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I have stayed here twice - both for business. Staff is excellent with the guests. The morning breakfast (coffee, tea, juice, pastry, granola) is a great feature and a great opportunity to chat with other guests. I have stayed in a balcony room both times (great for sitting with your morning coffee or evening beer). The rooms are neat, very clean and the decorations put you in the mood to enjoy the outdoors. Very quiet. If you enjoy the casino action, the hotel is a one minute walk to Harvey's back door. I also ate at their new Beach House Restaurant - had a delicious prawn appetizer and a couple of beers. Fantastic view, great service, wine list and food. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We actually decided to go to South Lake Tahoe to specifically stay at Basecamp. With our experiences staying at hostels in other countries, we were eager to see how this place compared. We were thrilled. There are different options for staying such as kings/pets/dorm style/bunk beds etc. All are styled with awesome "outdoorsy" artwork. The cozy feel of the lounge area and deck are perfect. S'mores and bonfire every night on the deck. Spa is available too. Breakfast every morning is free and everything is locally brought in. Happy hour in the afternoons and a dinner is available for pay. Games available in lounge area. Location to shops and food is walkable. Beach is down the street. The staff is awesome!
Note: no fridge in room and no communal kitchen. The hotel also opened an outdoor restaurant on the beach-be sure to check it out!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpeshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Scored a great deal via Living Social and had the most awesome stay! Very comfy beds, excellent staff that were super helpful and friendly, guests that were easy to chat with and such a convenient location to spring off from! (Totally helped that mother nature decided to throw in some fantastic weather June 1st making it even more fabulous!) I loved all the details... total hipster vibe with decor, "Earthy-recyceled-clever" aethestic. Think of it like Portlandia meets NorCal but without the confused angst of mellow humoristic drama! I will definitely be back. GREAT place for families and dogs too! Breakfast was yummy from the hand package baggies to the yummy yogurt, granola, bagels and pastries. (Loved the whipped cream... very "whipped"!) And... GOOD COFFEE!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Basecamp is a fabulous hotel! Set amid South Tahoe-Tahoeness, this hotel offers a respite with clean, modern design, warm accommodating staff, incredibly comfy beds, broad balconies, with a healthy, locally/produced breakfast. A knowledgeable front desk can direct you to a world class hike, ski, beach, cycle route or view. It is, as the name suggests, base camp. But it is so wonderful you may just never leave!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maine1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here recently for one night. Hotel/motel has well designed public areas that are welcoming. Quirky/cool use of color/textiles in rooms. Bathroom has terrific shower. Rooms are very clean with comfortable beds. Walls are very thin, though, and for me that's an issue that would prevent me from returning. Continental breakfast is included in the rate (bagels, cereals, muffins, coffee, juice, and such). Basecamp is dog friendly, as South Lake Tahoe seems to be, which gave the place a very relaxed, homey feel.

Conceptually cool, Basecamp is well done aesthetically, and has terrific staff, but falls short in an area a hotel guest expects: namely not hearing people chatting a little too clearly in the room next to you. The hotel is well located and within walking distance of restaurants, casinos, and a short drive to areas of exquisite beauty.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Property: Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing