We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for an active vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is the best hotel we stayed in during our 3 week roadtrip, and we stayed at some pretty fancy places in Beverly Hills and Vegas.

Why so good then?!

You can actually feel the love and warmth to nature just by walking in the door to the reception or your room. This is the place where you want to be if you plan to go to Tahoe for skiing, hiking, kayaking or other outdoor activites.

The staff is super friendly and has great knowledge about the area and will suggest the perfect spot for your adventures based on your experience and interests.

Since it is such a new hotel everything is obviously very clean and fresh, but what appealed to me the most was the feeling that everything was so well thought out. The funny pictures on the wall of stereotype hikers, the survival handbook, the paintings in the hotel with maps with very funny directions/explanations and paintings of animal. Even the soap/shampoo/conditioner bottles was designed for the hotel. The furnitare was also perfectly matched for the total impression of a "outdoor-activity-hotel". So cozy, warm and welcoming. We would never stay anywhere else if we go to Tahoe again which we really hope to do in the future.

/ Two very pleased Swedes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyRed78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Booked online late in the week for a Friday evening arrival. Returned later in the weekend for one extra night.

Easy parking. Basically room in a U shape around the small parking lot.

Retro motel remodeled with high quality beds, new solid doors (RFID locks) and windows with privacy and blackout shades.

Theme is like camping. Outdoors fire pits where you can make s'mores, have a few beers (great microbrews in bottles and on tap inside the lobby).

Actually the lobby is set up as a community room. Two giant 8 foot leather couches. Small bistro tables, and free continental breakfast and communal dinners (pre-reg required for dinner but cost is good). This whole approach made for a friendly atmosphere. Guests say hello and chat. That was nice.

Staff, friendly and helpful. Know the area pretty well. A bit strict on the 10pm hot tub shut down, but I suppose they just want other guests to be able to sleep. So no problem.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just wanted to express my deepest thanks to basecamp for coming through. I had a complete weekend set up for my anniversary and they really came through. The customer service was 5 star and everything was perfect. Thank you guys for coming through in a pinch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skiskt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a great find! If you are after a big chain hotel with indifferent staff, sterile surrounds and serving a greasy, plastic breakfast .... this place is definitely not for you. A quirky, hip and communal place that puts the focus on ensuring a relaxed and enjoyable stay for guests .... from the kids with $2 s'more kits to roast over the fire pits; to the adults with craft beer happy hour and a hot tub on the roof. Fun and fabulous artwork throughout the communal areas and rooms. Breakfast was a highlight, with healthy serves of granola, oatmeal, pastries and fresh fruit (using real plates and cutlery, not disposable). A free beach pass made getting to the water very easy and we watched beautiful sunsets over the lake as we ate two nights in a row at the restaurant on the beach where we got a further 15% discount.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaN1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Basecamp is a motel converted into boutique lodging. The rooms are small, but well decorated and very clean (though our room did get hot at times as we visited in August and most rooms don't have AC). The lobby is very quaint/rustic and has a small bar the gets serves microbrews nightly. The staff is young, attentive, and very friendly. There are two gas fire pits for roasting marshmellows at night and premade smore packages available for a small fee. Overall the hotel was wonderful and is a nice change of pace from the busy casino strip, though only a block away from the action.

Room Tip: Some rooms apparently get hotter than others, some have AC, some have just fans, some have fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandererT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Let me start by saying that the staff, Libby especially, are great. There was a huge fire to the south in Yosemite that covered Lake Tahoe with smoke and instead of staying for 5 nights we only stayed for one. So leaving wasn't because of Base Camp. That said, we did find the room, although well made up with a good bed, quite small. 3 feet to the wall on each side of the bed is just not enough room to operate freely.
Don't look for a dresser to unpack if you are staying for longer than one night. The shelves on the wall just don't cut it as drawers. The bathroom is small and two do not maneuver well in that space. If you are looking for a spacious room then go next door to the resorts. Stairs are another problem. There is no elevator so if you are handicapped there is no provision for having a room with a balcony. Our mistake for not reserving one because there is no place other than their patio to sit and have a nice glass of wine in the evening. Athletisism is key.

Room Tip: Do ask for4 a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanH149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Due to the forest fires in the area, our stay at Lake Tahoe was shorter than intended. It was a pity since we loved the base camp hotel! We had room 230, "the great indoors", which is basically a campsite in a room :-). Apart from very clean, functional and well-equipes rooms with love for details, there are many more things like a very friendly and helpful staff which make this hotel a great place for a stay in South Lake Tahoe. We'll be back (hopefully next year) and hope to catch up what we missed because of the forest fires!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schaefli2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
905 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#14 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £82 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing