We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We enjoyed the stay and the staff. We got a great recommendation for hiking to Velma lake, which we perfect for us. We ended up here due to the government shutdown in Yosemite, and enjoyed the trip.

The place as has basic high quality breakfest, outdoor hot-tub and nice fire places. People staying here are relaxing and enjoys the outdoor lifestyle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espen_Berger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lovely hotel, easy to find, walking distance to the main road and some great restaurants. The rooms are so cute, ample parking. Were able to park right in front of our room on the bottom level which was handy having to unpack after burning man. Breakfast is yum and the staff are fantastic!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, request a room on the bottom level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Fun hotel. Definitely recommend it. Only drawback are the thin walls of older hotels, but the hotels uniqueness is worth the stay. Diverse clientele from all over the world chat it up at the hotels common areas.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed there for a few days this summer and very much enjoyed it. Everything was clean and enjoyed the breakfast. Thought the price was very affordable as well and it's close to everything. We would choose to stay here again if we returned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is the best hotel we stayed in during our 3 week roadtrip, and we stayed at some pretty fancy places in Beverly Hills and Vegas.

Why so good then?!

You can actually feel the love and warmth to nature just by walking in the door to the reception or your room. This is the place where you want to be if you plan to go to Tahoe for skiing, hiking, kayaking or other outdoor activites.

The staff is super friendly and has great knowledge about the area and will suggest the perfect spot for your adventures based on your experience and interests.

Since it is such a new hotel everything is obviously very clean and fresh, but what appealed to me the most was the feeling that everything was so well thought out. The funny pictures on the wall of stereotype hikers, the survival handbook, the paintings in the hotel with maps with very funny directions/explanations and paintings of animal. Even the soap/shampoo/conditioner bottles was designed for the hotel. The furnitare was also perfectly matched for the total impression of a "outdoor-activity-hotel". So cozy, warm and welcoming. We would never stay anywhere else if we go to Tahoe again which we really hope to do in the future.

/ Two very pleased Swedes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyRed78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Booked online late in the week for a Friday evening arrival. Returned later in the weekend for one extra night.

Easy parking. Basically room in a U shape around the small parking lot.

Retro motel remodeled with high quality beds, new solid doors (RFID locks) and windows with privacy and blackout shades.

Theme is like camping. Outdoors fire pits where you can make s'mores, have a few beers (great microbrews in bottles and on tap inside the lobby).

Actually the lobby is set up as a community room. Two giant 8 foot leather couches. Small bistro tables, and free continental breakfast and communal dinners (pre-reg required for dinner but cost is good). This whole approach made for a friendly atmosphere. Guests say hello and chat. That was nice.

Staff, friendly and helpful. Know the area pretty well. A bit strict on the 10pm hot tub shut down, but I suppose they just want other guests to be able to sleep. So no problem.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just wanted to express my deepest thanks to basecamp for coming through. I had a complete weekend set up for my anniversary and they really came through. The customer service was 5 star and everything was perfect. Thank you guys for coming through in a pinch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skiskt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
905 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £81 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing