We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow season snow!?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We went during off season in 2013 and experienced October snow. The hotel seems at about 1/3 occupancy and was pretty quiet.

We spent quite a bit of time in the front lounge and bar area just soaking up the fireplace and wifi while enjoying drinks. The front desk folks were full of suggestions if needed.

You are quite literally one building away from the state line and a walk into the back door of Harvey's is super super super close.

No bathtub was the biggest downside to the room. The decorative funny 'headboard' tapestry was fun to look at.

Room Tip: If it is low occupancy time - ask to be put separate from other people. We could hear the kids next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina&Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Tina & Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thought s about your stay with us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location, our cozy lobby and the cool, quirky artwork in the rooms. Please know that we do have some rooms with bathtubs, so be sure to ask the next time your travels bring you back this way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here over the Xmas period.

Great location, friendly helpful staff, clean comfortable rooms and great decor.

Casinos are a short stroll as is the town and lake.

The only suggestion I have is to have a bar fridge in the rooms.

Other than that, great stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reviewer398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I took a solo trip to Tahoe before Christmas to get away from the city and do a bit of skiing. The snow wasn't so great but that wasn't really the crucial element of my trip. At Basecamp I was able to relax. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were modern. Unlike other hotels where the free wifi seems to cut in and out all day this one seemed pretty reliable and fast.

The breakfast each morning was continental - bagels, muffins, pastries, cereals, oatmeal, OJ, milk, coffee. More than enough to get you through to lunch. The happy hours each night were nice. There was a bit of a community feel to the place that you don't get at many other hotels. Being a solo traveler this was a good thing. Some other nice touches were the two outdoor firepits and the available smore kits available at the front desk. The hot tub was really nice as well and comes with a view of the mountains.

Finally, the staff. The staff was super friendly. Luke made me feel right at home in the community room. Although he was very busy tending to guests he never made it seem as if he was stressed out which is a great quality if you're in hospitality.

One thing I'm definitely going to try and check out next time I stay at basecamp is the communal dinner. Unfortunately they didn't have one on the nights I was there otherwise I would've definitely participated. Ask about that when you're checking in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sohail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed a few days to go boarding. Room was excellent spacious and very clean.
The hotel doesn't have many amenities but they're only a very short walk away. Quirky decor isn't over done, and works well.
Ask for a high floor to minimise the dreaded ski boot thundering herd.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was really torn between 5 and 4 stars but went for 4 just to help set expectation.

I stayed here for 6 nights over Christmas and really enjoyed my stay. The bed was realllly comfy and the place is nice, but this as mentioned below this is really a high end motel.

The only reason I dropped a star is no fault of the hotels but if you get noisy neighbors then it can be annoying , sounds like a herd of elephants above you if you have a lower room and you can hear talking etc.

That being said it didn't affect my stay as the hotel wasn't that busy and the combination of ear plugs and rum worked a treat :-).

The room was nice, the staff were great and the hot tub on the roof is fun to sit in. I didn't do the smores thing but it looked like a nice touch.

Breakfast is bagels and danish etc with granola and oatmeal and coffee is pretty much on all day. Parking is right out of the room door so travelling with luggage is no problem.

You can get a beer in the hotel or walk like 2 mins into Harveys and go to the Hard Rock or the sports bar in there, you can also walk to the Gondola in about 10 mins , it was too far I thought to walk in ski boots so I took and old pair of training shoes to wear to the Gondola and then threw them in my backpack or in a locker.

I really enjoyed my time here and I would stay again, its a great location and does have some rooms that dogs can stay in etc which again is a good touch. My only thought would be if the place was full it would be kinda noisy as motels are (try the rum/ear plug combo). They have one parking space per room so for me parking was easy but again when full this is something just to be aware of.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We loved this hotel! We stayed one night at Best Western (hated it) and one night at Basecamp. We enjoyed having a drink by the fireplace and roasting marshmallows on the open fire outside. The breakfast buffet was very nice. Most of the furniture I heard is from Restoration Hardware, one of my favorite furniture stores. Bath products are very good quality. Overall it was a wonderful experience, we'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gigirinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This place was wonderful! They definitely promote community and encourage people to spend time together. They have communal meals on specific days. They have outdoor fire pits for everyone to sit around and share stories. The decor is wonderful and rustic. The hotel resembles a rustic base camp at the bottom of a mountain as the name suggests but has all of the modern amenities that you would want! The hot tub on the roof is quite lovely in the evenings also. I would definitely revisit and encourage anyone to give it a chance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VagabondsEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#14 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £82 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing