We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute little hip hotel ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cute little hip hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We've been traveling all the way from Alaska and decided to avoid the usual motels and try out this one because of some reviews. I wasn't disappointed. We had 2 small dogs. They had a policy for just one but they counted both of mine and charged for one. My 2 year old was highly entertained by the cute lamp, little plastic house for the tissue and the pebbles along the hallways. Loved the theme of grays and greens and art work. Beds comfy. Complementary soaps smelled all
natural. Loved the design choices in every bit of the room all the way to the toilet paper roll holder. Complimentary breakfast was simple but tasted fresh. Bagels and Danish were obviously freshly made from somewhere. Couldn't really enjoy the bar or interact with other people but my 2 year old enjoyed climbing the antique couches at the lounge. He almost toppled an expensive looking lamp but everyone was friendly. Would love to stay here again and see more of S. Lake Tahoe. Hopefully construction on front of the hotel will be done. Compared to the surrounding small hotels in that area? This one is a gem.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthietheotaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! I'm so glad you and your family loved the design and vibe of the hotel! The construction across the street is an extension of Heavenly Village that is scheduled to be completed later this summer and will provide several additional shopping and dining options. We would love to have you stay with us again so you can check it out the next time your travels bring you to Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    246
    100
    42
    18
See reviews for
279
362
38
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I am so glad I stayed at the Basecamp Hotel in south shore recently. Normally my family and I only stay at the casino hotels, but they were very pricey for the holiday weekend. The Basecamp was very very reasonably priced, and a huge incentive was that they were dog friendly! Their dog policy was 50 lb weight limit and $40 fee, not bad.

I'll start by saying that I work in architecture, so this place was right up my alley. Everything about this hotel was well thought out - from the design of the lobby, breakfast/bar area, and the little touches in the hotel room. It's not that it feels expensive or out of place, it's just very comfortable, hip, and almost humorous. My favorites included the orange Emeco navy chair in the room, the graphic print of a deer "no deer were harmed in the making of this deer", and the steel pipe towel racks. It had so much character compared to a typical chain motel/inn.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly - not snooty or "too cool" for us. Happy hour everyday brought a lot of the hotel guests out to mingle over beer and smores - a really nice way of bringing people together. Complimentary breakfast included fruit, oatmeal, bagels, juice, and coffee - just the right amount.

Some reviewers complained of noise on the first floor. The only thing that was a little disruptive was people in ski boots walking up and down the stairs in the morning. But this didn't happen during sleeping hours so it really was negligible.

The Basecamp Hotel won me over - I will stay here every time I'm in Tahoe. Such a cool place.

Room Tip: Rooms have modern decor and really great design touches
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

There's a lot of Motels in South Lake. Typical "L" or "U" shaped affairs; 2 story, parking in the center, exterior hallways, office out front, Motel 6 style. They all mostly suck. Good only for teens and "Bros" looking for cheap digs they can share while skiing or partying. I was young once too and stayed in my share but neither i, nor my wife, would be caught dead in one now. Basecamp took one of these old affairs and spent good money on a quality renovation about a year and a half ago and did a really nice job of it. We stayed only 1 nite while we skied South Lake and gambled and enjoyed the stay immensely. The interiors are brand new. The bed was fantastic. The overall interior and exterior design of the remodel was super fun and tastful and really had a sense of place. The free breakfast is the typical layout but the coffee there was actually good and hotel coffee is almost always terrible. Theres beer and wine in the hotel "Bar". A great Fire Pit on cold nights. A Hot Tub (which we didn't use but looked pleasent) Depending on your purpose for being in Tahoe the location might just be ideal. It's right in the center of So. Lake. Just off of Stateline and a short walk to any of the big 4 Casinos, the Raleys center or Heavenly's Gondola. That said, it was a very quiet stay as well. Staff was super nice. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisun City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My family and I stayed two nights at the Basecamp Hotel and it was wonderful. The staff are all very friendly, and accomadating. As there has not been much snow they suggested a couple places that the kids could go to and just play in the snow. It is in walking distance to the Heavenly gondolas which is great so you don't have to worry about parking.

The hotel is very cute and the room we stayed in was a family room with bunkbeds which the kids loved. I don't believe there were many people staying, so everything was very quiet. The breakfast is great! Also we did the smores at the fire pit and it was a lovely time. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Heather M,

Thank you for the awesome review! I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us! Our Family Rooms featuring twin bunk beds lofted above queen beds are always a hit with kids. Although we don't have as much snow as we would like, there are still lots of great winter activities to enjoy in Tahoe. Thanks again, and I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We went during off season in 2013 and experienced October snow. The hotel seems at about 1/3 occupancy and was pretty quiet.

We spent quite a bit of time in the front lounge and bar area just soaking up the fireplace and wifi while enjoying drinks. The front desk folks were full of suggestions if needed.

You are quite literally one building away from the state line and a walk into the back door of Harvey's is super super super close.

No bathtub was the biggest downside to the room. The decorative funny 'headboard' tapestry was fun to look at.

Room Tip: If it is low occupancy time - ask to be put separate from other people. We could hear the kids next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina&Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda J, General Manager at Basecamp South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Tina & Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thought s about your stay with us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location, our cozy lobby and the cool, quirky artwork in the rooms. Please know that we do have some rooms with bathtubs, so be sure to ask the next time your travels bring you back this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here over the Xmas period.

Great location, friendly helpful staff, clean comfortable rooms and great decor.

Casinos are a short stroll as is the town and lake.

The only suggestion I have is to have a bar fridge in the rooms.

Other than that, great stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I took a solo trip to Tahoe before Christmas to get away from the city and do a bit of skiing. The snow wasn't so great but that wasn't really the crucial element of my trip. At Basecamp I was able to relax. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were modern. Unlike other hotels where the free wifi seems to cut in and out all day this one seemed pretty reliable and fast.

The breakfast each morning was continental - bagels, muffins, pastries, cereals, oatmeal, OJ, milk, coffee. More than enough to get you through to lunch. The happy hours each night were nice. There was a bit of a community feel to the place that you don't get at many other hotels. Being a solo traveler this was a good thing. Some other nice touches were the two outdoor firepits and the available smore kits available at the front desk. The hot tub was really nice as well and comes with a view of the mountains.

Finally, the staff. The staff was super friendly. Luke made me feel right at home in the community room. Although he was very busy tending to guests he never made it seem as if he was stressed out which is a great quality if you're in hospitality.

One thing I'm definitely going to try and check out next time I stay at basecamp is the communal dinner. Unfortunately they didn't have one on the nights I was there otherwise I would've definitely participated. Ask about that when you're checking in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sohail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Property: Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing