We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Summer or Winter this Hip Revived Motel is Fun and well appointed. The hotel theme is adventure base camp and it delivers with trendy flair. 2 blocks to access to the Gondola at Heavenly Valley for skiiers, and 3 blocks from beach at Lake Tahoe, it is also nearly in the back parking lot of the Harvey's/Harrah's casino. The beds are comfy, and the shower pressure strong, flat screen and clock radio's for charging your Apple products are bedside. No air conditioning but fans are available. Breakfast is complementary in the communal lobby and includes basic fare: bagels, yogurt, oatmeal, granola coffee and juice. In the winter, communal dinner menu is available for a fee and feature Fondue, Raclette and chili dinners. There is also a small bar, which serves local brew on tap during happy hour from 3-6 pm, beer and wine are half price. The comfy lobby features a communal table and comfy leather sofas with a large flat screen TV, which we were able to watch the world cup on with some European travelers also staying at the propery. 2 fire pits are the outdoor gathering focal point, surrounded by tables and chairs for card games and happy hour- S'mores fixins are available at the front desk. The hotel is adding a beer garden annex with more 'great indoor' themed rooms for families which feature a camping tent over the bed. Highly recommend this property, I will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Several configurations available, the bunk over double rooms sleep 6comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oreogingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    256
    104
    43
    20
See reviews for
304
373
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent 2 nights in South Lake Tahoe. The hotel is pleasant, cozy and fun - just perfect.
Lovely room - so nice and clean, great design/decoration as well as indoor amenities.
bed was really comfortable, shower was powerful and great.

Breakfast was a big plus - freshly squeezed juice, fresh bagels and pastries, fruit etc.
This was really one of a kind! Wish I could stay longer in this hidden gem.

♥ Loved it ♥

Room Tip: Everything is just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londoner46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We very much enjoyed the excellent location, good beds, cleanliness and industrial-chic feel of the motel and overall the staff was pleasant, so I gave it a high score. The only reason it did not get a 5 was; no local maps, no tourist flyers and only 1 brochure in the lobby for things to do. The young staff was NOT knowledgeable at all on tourist activities in the area and when asked how to get to the SUP business on their lone brochure, he had no idea where it was. Breakfast was less than expected, but its free, so can't complain. Only the upper balcony rooms have a view, so book accordingly if that's important.

Room Tip: Only upper balcony rooms have a view of anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_monster_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have visited the Basecamp Hotel in South Lake Tahoe twice in the last two years. Both experiences were exceptional (with on bad night.. more on that later).

The staff is super friendly, the bar is small and quaint (the front desk clerk will likely have to walk over behind the bar to pour you a drink, they wear many hats), the rooms are tastefully decorated in what I can only describe modern mountain lodge theme. My wife loved it so much, the color scheme is all over our home now. They cater to the outdoors enthusiast, but treat all guests with the same friendly demeanor. Bike and snowboard racks abound, even in some hallways outside your room (lockable of course). There are even some hotel bikes available for use. Nice touches include small travel coolers in each room and outdoor survival guides in the bedside table. Short walks to the Heavenly Village. Not to far from the lake and a very nice beach. Smores kits are available to cook on the outdoor firepit. Centered in all that is South Lake Tahoe.

Don't really want to explore the great outdoors? Get the room with a fake outdoor firepit, tent over the bed and picnic table (The Great Outdoors room). Traveling with a bunch of friends on the cheap? Get the room with 4 bunkbeds (sleeps 8 - Explorers Club Room).

Communal eating area for breakfast if you are the chatty type and like to meet new people, and there are individual tables for the solitary type. This is a favorite of mine. A great friendly environment to meet new people.

Now, I did have one absolutely horrible night. There are a couple rooms that sit right over the bar. Now if you are AT the bar till closing time this is probably not a big deal, but trying to get a good nights sleep OVER the bar is down right impossible. Every noise channels straight up into the bedroom.

I explained this the next morning and they apologized, and immediately upgraded our room. During my last visit I was told they had purchased the neighboring hotel and would be expanding the rooms and moving the bar and eating area, so this may not be a future issue, but ask when you are reserving your room. Other than that, I have nothing bad to say about this hotel or the people who work there. A great stay both times.

Room Tip: Avoid the room over the bar/dining/lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandofGileadReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassis, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Simple and clean rooms. Relaxing and fun decor.
Enjoyable bar and outdoor fire for a s'more. Friendly staff and really helpful. Perfect for outdoorsy people.
Right downtown and 5 minutes walk to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morganebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What a cool place. We had read about the motel when it first opened and had seen some pictures, so we decided to give it a try when family was visiting (with kids). We got two adjoining rooms with the loft bunks over the queen size beds. The rooms were great and the kids had a blast. Rooms are clean and skier/boarder modern, have cool finishing touches (like the furniture colors, kleenex dispensers and artwork), and have comfy linens and blankets. Balcony rooms have Adirondack chairs on them for hanging out. Breakfast is included with fresh and tasty pastries, juice and coffee/tea. Rooftop hot tub is fun. There's even a small bar with happy hour -- wine and quality draft beer. We'll be back.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, go for a room with the loft beds. Just a lot of fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vtmaple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked this room for a girls night out, and liked how close it was to the casinos. The staff were so friendly. Satchel took excellent care of us (he deserves a raise!) Rooms are adorable. I thought it was quiet, even though it was so close to downtown. I will definitely be booking here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Codie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Property: Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing