We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Americana Village!”
Review of Americana Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Village
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“We love Americana Village!”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is our 5th time returning to Americana, and we love it. Yes, some of the rooms need some updating, but it's Tahoe!! If you want something to look at, try the beautiful trees outside. The staff is warm and friendly. My kids love the popcorn and movies. We had a renovated room this time and it was fanntastic!! The activities could be revamped. Since we go every year they tend to stay the same. I've recommended this place to several friends and all have liked it. Overall, good value and great location. I think some attention needs to be given to updating some of the more dated rooms. Mainly some of the furniture choices and colors.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctrefz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
We love guests like yourselves that love to be here! We have had a wonderful summer this year, hope you can come and enjoy some of what is left. We are thinking that the Fall will be amazing as well. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    115
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
162
127
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We just returned from a stay at The Americana Village. PROS: We were given a newly remodeled room that was super clean and comfortable. The staff is very hospitable, friendly and helpful. The staff was very helpful on tips where to eat and shared personal favorites. The exterior property is also clean and well kept. The location is ideal, close enough to walk if you want or drive and be in Stateline less than 5 minutes where a lot of action is. The free popcorn in the office is nice along with the free DVD movie selections and continental breakfast in the A.M. CONS: Parking often difficult to get a space close to room or overcrowded and forced to park in non parking spot. There is no air conditioning so in the warm summer days, we opened the windows and turned on the ceiling fan and box fan, however since the hotel is close to the main road, you here the road traffic all night and conversations in the parking lot while trying to sleep. I would suggest for parking, each room has designated parking spots assigned and each room allowed only so many cars to avoid the parking issue. Overall, we would stare here again, we exchanged with RCI for our timeshare.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationbobstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your helpful comments, we do take your suggestions seriously. Hope you will be giving us a call the next time you visit Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

we exchanged thru RCI and were first given a room that reeked of carpet cleaner and had a brass headboard, decorated in 1970 maybe? we asked for a new room and were given one that was mauve and oak filled, maybe 1990? Lots of the rooms have been updated, but of course, one wasn't available for us. Room was dirty- smears on the doors and walls in the bathroom, stained sheets on the bed, old stained couch. No AC, so don't come in the summer-our room was warm. The pool, workout room, and laundry area were nice. Very cheesy activities and horrible meals were offered. We had two of the three weekly meals offered because we were charged $49 for our "amenities" and figured we would try them. Had to leave the "resort" when the horrible wedding singer came to sing by the pool. He was terrible, and again, since our room was an oven, we needed to keep the windows open. Not enough parking when the place is full-we had to park on the side of the road a hundred yards down one night. Staff was very friendly, but all young-there was a sense that there was no manager and the place was run by college summer help. Overall felt Americana Village tried hard to be a "resort" but fell quite short. Do a few things well and drop the rest.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My family and I have been coming here since before I was born. The great location right by state line and heavenly cannot be beat. The staff is friendly and always was so kind to our children. We hadn't been back since my youngest left for college but I was happy to find it still had the charm we fell in love with so long ago. Tons of activities on sight and they offer more through tours and suggestions. This is a great place for a family vacation or even a couples getaway. I highly recommend trying this place for at least a few days on your next trip to south shore. Oh and they have private beach access just a couple miles away for the warm summer months!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug3221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms good size with Seating area and facilities to cook. Even limited seating to sit outside to enjoy the weather and relax, most unusual away from the pool area. Really enjoyed our five nights here, beautiful location. Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Heather, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last week. I do hope you will consider us again on your next visit up to South Lake. Thank your for your comments, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Our experience @ Americana Village was totally enjoyable. The room we had was modern and kept exceptionally clean. The staff was courteous, outgoing and attentive to the needs of the guests. I would equate our experience to that of being on a cruise- without the ship and the gluttony : ) Would recommend this establishment to everyone without equivocation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darwinlapeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
So glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us again this year! Sure hope you come back again next year too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great Value! Great Location! We came up here for an our annual South Lake Tahoe Geocaching event. We found this place by accident last year as it was one of the event stops. Cute ambiance. Kind of makes y ou feel like you are in a little village.

What makes this place so great is that the staff is really nice. The reservation process was easy as well as the check in. Everyone seemed pretty friendly. They have a DVD library of over 500 DVDs for guests to check out. There is also a free breakfast which includes donuts, bananas, hardboiled eggs with juice and/or coffee. They also have activities for the guests.

We weren't lucky enough to get one of the remodeled rooms; it was nice enough and suited our needs. Very clean!!!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are thrilled that you had such a great visit with us, and hope you have plans to come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.5 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Village

Property: Americana Village
Address: 3845 Pioneer Trl, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Village 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe is the ultimate year around playground! Every season has adventure to offer and we’d like to to make sure you have a place to crash after your adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Americana Vacation Hotel
Americana Vacation Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing