We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value - very friendly professional staff”
Review of Americana Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americana Village
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My wife and I have been going to Lake Tahoe at least once a year since 2001. Most of the time we stay here, if the space is available. They have gone on a remodeling blitz and are done with most of the rooms now. They are using excellent quality materials and appliances such as granite counter tops, ovens, dishwasher, microwave, frig. as well as wall mounted 60" flat screens TVs in the remodeling.

When our kids were younger, they would enjoy the kids activities, such as board games, bicycling, ping pong, soccer, basketball, sledding, etc. on site. There are weight room equipments, laundry facility and complementary donuts, OJ, coffee and pop corn on site.

Last week (July 2012) we were there. The rooms were new and clean. The king bed was very comfortable. There were between 1 to 3 TVs in each unit, every one equipped with several HDMI input (for high definition videos and games) and video players.

The shower was new with two (his & her) shower heads. They had even paid attention to the toilet. It was very quiet. Their pool, hot tube and sauna were clean and enjoyable to use.



The best feature however is their location to the restaurants, shopping, lake, ski slopes and the casinos. You can actually walk to most of them or drive (4 minutes)!

In conclusion we will be back again this year, since we enjoyed our stay again and the price was great.

Room Tip: If you are looking for value, you can't find a better place in South Lake Tahoe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

The American Village is a sister property to the Stardust. We stayed here one night. Our room was on the second floor near the pool. The kids were having a lot of fun in the pool -- and that I understand, but we wanted to relax by watching a bit of TV and couldn't hear a thing. There is no A/C so you have to have the windows open and there is no way to dampen the sound. If you stay here, ask room a room away from the pool. The room was extremely clean and well outfitted. It had been recently remodeled with a beautiful bath and kitchenette. I was a bit uncomfortable with the neighborhood, although we did walk to and from the casinos at night with no issues.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed in a very welcoming, newly refurbished Deluxe Studio unit with a friend. I ended up sleeping on the foldout couch with an air mattress, which was incredibly easy to use and surprisingly comfortable. There was a small fridge, a coffeemaker, some utensils, a small range for cooking and even a mini-dishwasher in a great little kitchenette. The room was very clean and the staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly. I woke up one morning to find I had left my car headlights on! D’oh! Not the way I like to start the day. But in just a few minutes, a staff member was there with a truck to give me a jumpstart. I think the value is fantastic, especially for South Lake Tahoe and I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you so much Erica! Hope you and your friend will come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

we stayed at Americana village for seven nights and we really enjoyed our stay. Hats off to their staff, they are awsome, very friendly and will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. we were very pleased with the room layouts they are very comfortable and well organized.
we hope to visit americana village again in the near future. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: rooms across the office and not far from the pool have huge trees right in front, great to just sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Tahoe is a memorable place, and we are proud that we could share in those memories. Give us a call when you think you might be coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here for a week in July. I had come with family, as they had all stayed here before, but it was my first time. I would definately come back again.

I thought the location was outstanding, as you are walking distance to everything. I am in my 40's, so I actually like to walk. We had one of the newer renovated rooms, and it looked great. Nice big bathroom and shower, the kitchen had everything we needed, and the two tvs in the room was an added bonus. They also had a screen on the front door, so you could leave the door open while you were in the room. This was a very nice touch

The morning breakfast (hard boiled eggs, plenty of donuts, fruit and coffiee) was way enough to get your day going. They also supplied three dinners during the week for $7, that were outstanding. A nice inexpensive way to eat, and you were full at the end. The staff was very helpful and super nice during the whole week.

We also rented the free bikes just about every morning and also checked out a few of their 100's of DVDs. I was able to watch a few movies that were on my 'to watch' list

I also really enjoyed the pool and hot tub. They even had a singer one night at the pool, and he sang lots of 'hits' as we enjoyed a few beers while sitting there.

The only trouble spot could be parking late at night. You might either have to park at the very end of the driveway or on a side street. Not really a big deal, as you can let folks out before you park as needed.

This end up being a great week!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jameson60540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for the wonderful comments. Hope you and the rest of the family will be back to see us again when you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is our 5th time returning to Americana, and we love it. Yes, some of the rooms need some updating, but it's Tahoe!! If you want something to look at, try the beautiful trees outside. The staff is warm and friendly. My kids love the popcorn and movies. We had a renovated room this time and it was fanntastic!! The activities could be revamped. Since we go every year they tend to stay the same. I've recommended this place to several friends and all have liked it. Overall, good value and great location. I think some attention needs to be given to updating some of the more dated rooms. Mainly some of the furniture choices and colors.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ctrefz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

We love guests like yourselves that love to be here! We have had a wonderful summer this year, hope you can come and enjoy some of what is left. We are thinking that the Fall will be amazing as well. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We just returned from a stay at The Americana Village. PROS: We were given a newly remodeled room that was super clean and comfortable. The staff is very hospitable, friendly and helpful. The staff was very helpful on tips where to eat and shared personal favorites. The exterior property is also clean and well kept. The location is ideal, close enough to walk if you want or drive and be in Stateline less than 5 minutes where a lot of action is. The free popcorn in the office is nice along with the free DVD movie selections and continental breakfast in the A.M. CONS: Parking often difficult to get a space close to room or overcrowded and forced to park in non parking spot. There is no air conditioning so in the warm summer days, we opened the windows and turned on the ceiling fan and box fan, however since the hotel is close to the main road, you here the road traffic all night and conversations in the parking lot while trying to sleep. I would suggest for parking, each room has designated parking spots assigned and each room allowed only so many cars to avoid the parking issue. Overall, we would stare here again, we exchanged with RCI for our timeshare.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationbobstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for your helpful comments, we do take your suggestions seriously. Hope you will be giving us a call the next time you visit Lake Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
927 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Village

Address: 3845 Pioneer Trl, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £87 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Village 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe is the ultimate year around playground! Every season has adventure to offer and we’d like to to make sure you have a place to crash after your adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Americana Vacation Hotel
Americana Vacation Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing