We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Americana Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americana Village
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Hollister, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were due to check in at the Marriott Timber Lodge on Sunday, but I thought we could come up a day early and have no problem finding a room for the night. That was stupid! All the casinos were booked and many other hotels/motels were full as well. Harrah's kindly gave me a list of local hotels/motels and I began blind calling. The Americana Village was the fifth or sixth place I tried (some other places had vacancies if I would be willing to part with an arm and a leg). Americana Village not only had a vacancy, but they weren't going to take advantage of me financially for my stupidity/desperation. I wasn't expecting much at all ... I was thinking it would be similar to Motel 6, but was glad to just have a bed and a shower. I was more than pleasantly surprised by the beautiful room, free amenities (like bike rentals, planned activities, popcorn, and DVDs for the room), and wonderful staff. My children were excited to swim in the pool, which was clean and inviting. I was happy to sleep in a comfortable bed after a long, stressful day. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. I would stay there again and I highly recommend it for families on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
So glad we could be that great place for you to land. I think you happened to pick the same weekend to come up that Journey was in town! Wonderful to hear that you and the kids had such a good time once you got here. Hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    124
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
167
131
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed for a week in September 2013, and was pleasantly surprised by the beauty and comfort of the recently updated suites. Staff was extremely kind, accommodating and professional. Rooms were clean and well-appointed, and the facility was nice and close to area attractions & gambling. There was a little too much street noise, and the neighborhood looks a little low-rent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you Jill for taking the time to post a review. That road construction is all finished now, thank goodness, things are much quieter now. Hope you will come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just got back from a stay end of August, early September. The place looks like a well kept motel. There is no luxury or air conditioning. It was HOT, but they do have screens on door and windows and there is a ceiling fan and a free standing fan. We stayed in a studio that has not been remodeled yet, The furniture was very worn and the wall paper was peeling off the walls. The refurbished rooms looked nice. The area surrounding the place is a little seedy. It is a neighborhood of older homes and apartments. I wouldn't want to walk around at night. On the positive side, the staff goes all out offering activities that are family friendly. There is always free popcorn available , free coffee and free videos for your room. We participated in the $7.00 taco night dinner and the $ 7.00 hot dog & hamburger dinner. We enjoyed the musical entertainment of Fabrizio. We used the free bikes. They also have fishing poles and many other things. You will enjoy your stay if you are not expecting luxury and the weather isn't too hot! They are experimenting with letting you bring small pets. This is a first. If interested, you have to call the resort directly as RCI doesn't seem to know much about this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alikes2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback, hope you can come back and experience one of our remodeled units in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in August. Location is fantastic. Rooms are nice but a little dated. No A/C. Evenings were OK, but room was hot during the day. Had a little trouble getting Wi-Fi connection. Front desk very helpful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanderson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauma Valley, CA
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in an upstairs unit July 26-29. Room was hot and stuffy but there are fans. Older decor but kitchen and bath had been remodeled. Yes a studio is small, we had 3 and it was quite comfortable. If you like a more relaxed accommodation, family friendly with grounds to walk or just to chill, free movie rentals, free bike rentals and an activity center, this is the place for you. If you need room service and a fancy hotel, this is not. The office staff was very helpful and friendly, they will book activities for you. Check in and out was fast and easy. Keep in mind that this is a timeshare property, I imagine room preference is given to owners, so the newer remodeled rooms are given to them first. The other rooms are perfectly fine, clean and acceptable. They do have access to a private beach, did not go so cannot comment. We will stay here again when we visit Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neecee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Great to hear that you and your family had such a good time. Hope you can all come back and enjoy some great snow this year! We are busy planning some fun winter activities for the kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in August and were very disappointed. Upon arrival front desk staff rushed us through all the paperwork. Studios are EXTREMELY small -they say can sleep 4 -but we were cramped with 2. Very old decor . Clean though. We had 3 bear sitings in 2days - one was walking right in the resort to the unsecured garbage cans on the Americana grounds. Because we are not accustomed to being close to bears I approached a staff member to ask about info on bears. She kinda looked at me as if I was weird and said something like "this is Tahoe and there are beards here". She referred me to the Internet and told me she lives with bears sleeping on her grass-she doesn't bother them and other don't bother her. I was very disappointed in her lack of concern-again where we are from one does not see bears close up at all ever! Parking is also a real issue at tis resort. If you aren't in bed by 10pm and arrive back later you may not get a spot. This happened to us one night and we had to park alongside the pool which actually made it so others wold not tight to back out in the morning. When I informed the staff, she told me there was overflow in the lot next door. I suggested they tell us that when we check in. By the way, the overflow"lot" was a gravelly construction lot - which looked rather unsafe to me especially late at night. (The resort is not n the nicest neighbourhood). All in all Tahoe is a beautiful place where there are lots of things to do and we will return for sure but will not stay at Americana Village again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miabos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Were in Lake Tahoe for a wedding recently and stayed at the Americana. The recently renovated rooms were very tastefully redone, well equipped and really comfortable. What stood out most was the service and staff. Like all weddings, there were a few points of confusion (ours) when we arrived, but Anna and Linda at the front patiently helped us through everything. Anything we needed during the 3 night stay was quickly and warmly taken care of by the staff. The hospitality, service and professionalism was impressive to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Wonderful to hear that you all had such a great time. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.5 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
458 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Village

Property: Americana Village
Address: 3845 Pioneer Trl, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Village 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe is the ultimate year around playground! Every season has adventure to offer and we’d like to to make sure you have a place to crash after your adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Americana Vacation Hotel
Americana Vacation Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing