We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Steal of a Deal”
Review of Americana Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americana Village
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2007

We found this place on a tahoe hotel website I'd been over and over for weeks. Because it was the weekend for the Music Festival, the other hotels were not only completely booked but even the one-star hotels had doubled and tripled their rates. We stumbled over this accidentally and couldn't believe the inexpensive rate. We checked on tripadvisor and read great reviews so booked it. We weren't disappointed. Very clean, the staff was polite and fast--we arrived early and instead of making us wait, they up-graded us to a larger studio! Dual-head shower, pedestal king sized bed, separate TV area with sofa bed, kitchenette set-up and centrally located. This is a real find. The other people we met up with hadn't heard of it and were staying in more expensive popular hotels that weren't up to standards. This is a great find for an inexpensive decent place to stay with great service. Also, because it seems to be a place where lots of families stay, it's quiet in the evening-no loud music or parties.

Stayed: July 2007
5  Thank mattieha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2007

Timeshare exchange - we were hesitant at first but SO glad we made the exchange! Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Facility was a motel in the past, but rooms have been remodeled to include kitchenettes and new furniture in bedroom area and living room area. Beautifull setting under huge pine trees. Very quiet area and so peacefull to sit on porch swing in front of the unit. (Part has just parking lot in front but other part has large green area. )

Lots of scheduled activities and they have a lot of detailed info. about area - history, events, attractions, etc. all in the office or their visitor center room. Staff was very helpful with those details - including restaurant suggestions and sample menus. Pool is rather small but quite adequate. Pool towels from office can be taken on day trips to beach. Bikes are available and other sporting equipment also.

Easy access to lake, restaurants, casinos, highway, grocery, etc. We are not skiers so we can't coment on wintertime, but we would trade timeshare week again any time, even though we were "trading down" to a smaller room than our home base.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2007

The staff at Americana Village were all exceptionally friendly and helpful; I felt as though I had known them for years! We were very surprised at how nice the room was for the price. Everything was extremely clean, appealing looking and homey feeling. We liked having a studio with a living room and kitchen area instead of just a hotel/motel room. Our shower was very roomy and even had two shower heads; that was a treat! Anything we needed, and more, was available to us at no extra charge. We liked the location being off the beaten path so we didn't hear all the road noise but still close enough to walk to casinos. (Probably a 20-25 min. walk). We will ck availability here before making any future reservations for this area. Our stay here was better than many 4-5 star resorts we've been at simply because the staff went out of their way to be so accommodating; plus all the extra touches they provided to make our stay special. Thanks so much...we will be back!!
Debbie from Modesto

Stayed: January 2007
7  Thank Dwilso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2006

We stayed in the studio with our baby. They did not have air conditioning, and one ceiling fan. The temperature in the room was stifling, and there was no breeze from the one window to the outside. I do not recommend the studio if you have more than 2 people. The partial kitchen is very small, and very difficult to wash anything bigger than a cup in the tiny sink. Don't plan to cook if you stay here- there is no stove top.

The bed was extremely uncomfortable, and so hot at night (even with the window open) that we ended up sleeping on the floor under the ceiling fan. The carpets were stained and old. Our baby couldn't sleep because teenagers at the pool were yelling until 10pm. The Americana Village is on a very busy street, so we heard cars driving by at all times of the day and night. So we found ourselves wanting to close the window because of the noise, but needing to leave it open because of the heat. (Not that is helped.)

There is no tub-only a shower, so was difficult to give baths to our young baby.

The parking lot is very crowded, and we had a hard time finding a space close to our unit. So we had to lug all our stuff from a further distance, and up a flight of stairs.

There is a grocery and the town nearby, and the beach is also a few minutes away by car. The beach was small and very crowded. Plan to get there before 11 in the morning to get a good spot by the water. People were smoking and ruining the fresh air. The view of the mountains at the lake side was nice.

The studio was cramped and uncomfortable. Even though we honestly did try to make the best of it, we left 5 days early.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Crystal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2006

The Americana Village was host to our first timeshare exchange & we couldn’t have been more pleased with the maiden experience. It’s a tastefully renovated & maintained bi-level motel (two buildings) in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to shopping (grocery and retail) & three casinos on the Nevada side. The front office staff was always very friendly, helpful & knowledgeable of the area (especially Joel – this young man was made for the tourism industry!).

We stayed in room 426 from May 27-June 1. It’s on the second level, right in the middle of the building. (Beware, there are no elevators.) It’s a studio unit with a sofabed, color TV (with HBO!), queen bed, two nightstands, table & chairs, partial kitchen (sink, fridge, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker & a large assortment of dishes, cooking utensils & kitchen basics…no dishwasher or oven/stove but hot plates & plug-in skillets are available through the front office) and a full bathroom (which included dual shower heads – awesome!). I wasn't sure what a "bar fridge" looked like & was expecting a tiny refrigerated square that can fit under a desk, but this was nearly a full-sized fridge! We didn't come close to filling it up. And since really only two people can fit comfortably in a studio, the fridge was perfectly sized for me & my husband.

The room was very clean & the grounds were maintained well with flowers (our masseuse at A Massage For All Seasons even commented how nice the area is kept) & there are daily activities offered (yoga, hikes, karaoke, movie night, etc.). Activities at the Americana’s sister resort, the Stardust, are also open to Americana guests, so double your pleasure, double your fun. The Americana has a large swingset for the kids, a ping-pong table & a picnic table on the premises, which is fenced in. Bikes & golf clubs are just some of the recreational equipment available for loan free of charge. The front office has a large library of VHS movies for loan, so if HBO isn’t doing it for you, pop in the movie of your choice (we chose “Kingpin” since we were planning to check out Reno’s National Bowling Stadium, where part of the movie was filmed).

The only thing we had to pay for was wireless Internet access, which was $29 for the entire week (better than the hourly rate, which I believe was $4 for a two-hour session). However, the resort does provide a computer with Internet access in the free gym/laundry room for those who don’t mind sharing. We prefer to have the Internet at our fingertips (& in our jammies) so the $29 fee was worth it.

The Americana is located right off Highway 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd. so it’s very easy to find. (The hour-long drive from Reno was a breeze & very scenic.) There is a large shopping center with a Raley’s grocery store (which has a great selection of organic/vegan/natural foods!), movie theater & other shops about a half-mile away & a strip of touristy shops across the street from that. And one-tenth of a mile farther is Heavenly Village, a complex of (expensive) shops, restaurants, the Marriott & Heavenly gondola. And a little farther are the casinos (Harrah’s, Harveys & Mont Bleu, formerly Caesars).

If you're a health-conscious eater, you'll be happy to know that just a few miles up Lake Tahoe Blvd. from the Americana is a natural foods specialty store called Grass Roots, a natural foods cafe called Sprouts & a vegan-friendly restaurant called Freshies, all of which were answers to my dietary prayers.

The lake is near the resort but due to unseasonably cold temps over Memorial Day weekend, we did not participate in any water activities (although we saw someone parasailing & some brave souls were in the resort’s heated pool every day). We made the two-hour drive around the lake (72 miles) & stopped to hike down to the Ehrman mansion on the west shore.

We enjoyed every minute of the quiet relaxation & would definitely stay at the Americana Village again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lisa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2006

While the rooms were clean and the location is close to Heavenly -- I had an issue with property maintenance. I slipped on a patch of ice and bruised a bone in my elbow -- when we went down to ask for an ice pack and to let them know I had slipped, the attendant simple said they ran out of ice. Not the best response considering I got hurt.

3  Thank mmm333333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Marcos, CA
113
Reviewed 2 April 2004

I was expecting a little more than what I got. We ended up in a studio-very small. The overall appearance/condition was fine. Close to Heavenly & Gondola. The conditions of the suites inside are clean but not space efficient. Our bathroom had a couple of tiles that were broken. The coffee and dougnuts are good start to the brisk mornings.
The staff was fine--we showed up past midnight and the staff that was closing up went ahead and checked us in, instead of making us go to a sister resort--I didn't feel like driving anymore.

Not a bad place to stay, but certainly not the most pleasant.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
516 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Village

Address: 3845 Pioneer Trl, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £90 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Village 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe is the ultimate year around playground! Every season has adventure to offer and we’d like to to make sure you have a place to crash after your adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Americana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Americana Vacation Hotel
Americana Vacation Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing