We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Bear Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

If you are going to SLT and you want to stay in a wonderful B&B the Black bear inn is a must. Jerry and Kevin are the best. Jerry helped us plan our first day and pointed out many must see places around the lake. The Inn is gorgeous, well maintained and so clean. The grounds are beautiful and make sure you take your bathing suit because the hot tub is wonderful after a day of hiking. There is wine and cheese every evening at 5PM which gives you a chance to meet some of the other guests. The only thing that they could do to improve upon excellence would be if they had a few umbrellas for their guests to use. One of the days we were there it rained all day and an umbrella would have been helpful when we got dressed to go to dinner. I would highly recommend this B&B it was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teach4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    8
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
95
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Macho dimensions (2 linebackers can fit in shower), classy macho style. Each day's (ample) breakfast is novel.
Quiet gem of a place to read in your own pine forest, while all the others knock themselves out skiing. Kitchen.
Great base for Lake Tahoe hikes.....get back on time for the wine & cheese hour.

20 min. walk (sober) to casinos.

Incredible colorful groundskeeping, peaceful. Fun Stellar's Jays bouncing around.
Excellent restaurants across the street.
I wish we stayed longer.

Room Tip: All the cabins are quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Fabulous bed and breakfast. Rooms immaculate with Ralph Lauren towels. The surroundings were breathtaking. Breakfast served. Jerry and Kevin (the owners) could not have been lovelier and the breakfast a gourmet delight. Don't miss the opportunity staying here. FABULOUS!
Kathy, New York

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Black Bear Inn in South Lake Tahoe. The property was set in such a beautiful setting with our room overlooking a stunning garden at the back. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and attractively served by the hosts Kevin and Jerry, who in addition, provided wine and cheese every late afternoon! I would definitely recommend this lovely Inn to anybody who is looking for the perfect place to unwind. It is also in a good location for an eatery called the Riva Grill overlooking Lake Tahoe for dinner in the evening. It would also be the ideal setting for a return in the snow!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I just spent a long weekend at the Black Bear Inn at South Lake Tahoe. I was expecting it to be quite nice, but it was really perfect. The Inn and the grounds are so beautiful. Our room was lovely and very very comfortable.
The food was wonderful and presented so perfectly. The late afternoon wine and cheese was such a nice touch. We will be back and we'll be recommending this place to our friends. If you choose to stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are great, we stayed in the Saquoia which has a lovely view of the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The owners have created a beautiful oasis in this busy area of Lake Tahoe with a cabin-like setting among ponderosa pines and beautiful landscaping. We stayed 4 nights in a beautiful 2-bedroom cabin and always looked forward to returning. Attention to detail really sets this B & B apart: Perfect placement of plantings, a wide variety of antiques both inside and outside the accommodations, thick Polo towels, and even high-quality toilet paper! Breakfasts were excellent. We hated to leave.

Room Tip: The "cabins" are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a great stay at the Black Bear Inn. The inn is beautiful, the innkeepers are friendly and attentive, breakfasts are delicious. The daily wine and cheese hour is a nice touch. I highly recommend it and would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.0 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Property: Black Bear Lodge
Address: 1202 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8514
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Bear Lodge is a unique lodging experience in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. With five guest rooms in the main lodge and four spacious cabins, our accommodations are perfect for a romantic getaway or a family reunion. We are ideally located just moments from the shores of beautiful Lake Tahoe and the slopes of Heavenly Mountain – walking distance to some of the best restaurants in town. No expense was spared during the construction of the property. Hand hewn logs and meticulously crafted river rock gas fireplaces highlight every room. The one-acre property is fully landscaped with flower gardens and Tahoe’s famous pine trees. We’ll make sure you leave fueled for your day with fresh baked pastries, organic yogurt bar and locally roasted coffee – included with every reservation. After a day skiing, biking, hiking, kayaking, parasailing enjoy a soak in our in-ground spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing