We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I found this a great and convenient place to stay as it was so easy to access the Gondola to Heavenly mountain. Everything was within close proximity and the room was warm, clean and tidy. Front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating, as i had to leave my stuff when checking out, to go snowboarding then come back later and collect my belongings. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCsk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Scott,

I has been a pleasure to do business with you!

Please come back soon!

Thank you for your support.

Cordially,
Ruben Z
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    190
    86
    39
    31
See reviews for
129
177
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My kids and I stayed there last weekend and had a great time! Big Pines Mountain House is within walking distance to all of the casinos, restaurants and Starbucks!! It's very clean, affordable and comfortable. The front desk clerks were fun and adorable too;-) I highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzyRehaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben Z, General Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Julie,

We are here to serve you.

Thanks for your kind review!

Please come back soon.

Cordially,
Ruben Z.
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have recently returned from the Big Pines after staying there for 2 weeks whilst Snowboarding. The room on the second floor in the annexe was a reasonable size with good closet for snowboards and equipment. It also gave us everyhing we needed: fridge, microwave, coffee maker, TV and was clean with daily maid service.

The motel is very handy for the gondola and bars and restuarants. It also has free parking.

The breakfast offered porridge, bagels, fresh orange and tea/coffee. We went to the local supermarket and bought some cheese and ham to add to the bagels in the morning.

The reception staff were helpful and the free wi-fi in the rooms was a great bonus. As were the free protein bars which we did not expect for the cost of our stay!!

The booklets in the rooms were also helpful for choice of restaurants and shopping.

The pool was not open and we did not manage to paddle on the private beach but it was a bit cold!! When it snowed the staff were very quick to clear the paths and stairs.

There was a little bit of noise at the weekends (mostly other people returning to other accommodation from the casinos early morning).

Thanks guys, you do a great job.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi,

Thank you, thank you, thank you....

We are very happy to see your review!

Please come back soon!

Cordially,
Ruben Z
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This isn't the most glamorous of motels but its what I thought it would be. The decor was outdated, nothing fancy but it was clean. I really didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room so it was perfect for the price. We could walk to both the gondola at Heavenly and the casino. It was an easy walk back after I left the casino with nothing but the drinks that I paid $20 a hand for in my bladder. The free breakfast in the morning was enough to make do but certainly nothing more than that. Perfect to stay with some buddies but not for a picky family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glovesave99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi,

We are very happy to served you well.

We appreciate your review and business, please come back soon!

Thanks!

Cordially,
Ruben Z
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have reviewed this hotel before. They have really clean rooms and a very nice staff. The location is perfect. I come to SLT for business all the time and stay in the lodging by Heavenly because the prices are so much better. The truth about this location is, if you want a big, clean room with a coffee maker and iron board with iron and fridge and micro, you will be very happy.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs. You will have a hard time sleeping with people walking above you. Mention you saw t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi,

Thank you very much for your support!

Please come back soon!

Thanks again!

Cordially,
Ruben Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedalia, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The rooms were great, the staff was exceptional and the opportunity to have a gathering room for our family gatherings was priceless. Every single person in our group was happy and we had 22 people there. The staff was very helpful in the planning process, we were able to do everything we wanted to do and all of us were happy in most part because of our location and our accomodations. We really appreciated the affordability, the proximity to all the attractions and the comfort of our accomodations.

Thanks to Ruben and the entire staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geejo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben Z, General Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

There's a ton of motels all located in the same area. Its not a bad location, close to the strip of casinos and the beach. The pool was in utter disuse, and the room wasn't too spacious. But hey, for a last minute bargain, not bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hi Neil,

Thank you for your patronage and review. Our pool is seasonal and opens from May to September.

Please come back again.

Thank you!

Cordially,
Ruben Z
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#28 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Property: Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6979 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing