We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again. Love this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for a week last April and liked it so much we returned for another week. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and it was immaculate. The furnishings are new and in great condition. The beds are so comfy and the full kitchen is wonderful, especially if you are traveling with a family. We think the rooms are fairly quiet, as we didn't hear our neighbors and the hotel was quite full. For those that complained about no onsite restaurant, there are several restaurants and a coffee shop on site, and within the complex, and a grocery store across the street. There's also a movie theatre, ice cream shop, and several retail shops. There are some chain establishments within walking distance, like Applebee's, sub shop, etc. Of course, the most convenient thing about the hotel is that it is at the base of Heavenly. You literally walk out of your room and onto the chairlifts. The valet parking service is a bit pricey. It's waived for owners. I found most of them very helpful. One gentleman even helped me load a cart with about 10 grocery bags. Also, they are always patient when loading and unloading kids and our truckloads of stuff! There is a kids activity center, which is really nice. We did arts and crafts on several occasions and the staff was very nice. The lobby staff handed out cookies on some afternoons. The pools are large, clean and heated, thankfully. There are also several (4-5) small hot tubs. The housekeeping staff was good, replacing items quickly when we called. I really cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel. We love staying here. Our kids had a great time. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patriotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

We recently spent one night at this Marriott and it was great. The staff was very friendly. They helped us mail a package and answered all our questions. The rooms were very clean and smelled wonderful. The bed was very comfortable. I wish we would of been able to stay at this hotel longer. They offered activities for the kids every day, like there was an ice cream social in the lobby the day we got there. We were walking distance to a grocery store, shopping and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlin0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Went here for our honeymoon and it is a perfectly located base for skiing with the Heavenly gondola right in the grounds of the hotel. The fire pits and restaurant were a great to relax in after skiing and the prawns were fantastic. Only issue is that check out time made it departure difficult because everyone departed early at the same time and staff were not prepared for this with valet parking taking too long and no trolleys available for use to move our luggage easily. This said, usual American high standard of service was received. Following our visit we stayed in a cabin by the lake and this would be our preferred return location because of the space and cheaper price, once you aclimatise yourself to the location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natwress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have stayed here about eight weeks during ski seasons.

We bought our first timeshare here when the 2nd phase was being belt. Since we have bought three more weeks we enjoy it so much. We love it here due to the convenience of the slopes, resturants, movies, grocery store and enterainment.

We bought exclusively for skiing. Everything a skier could want for a great ski vacation is walking distance from Timber Lodge. Not the greatest ski mountain but a good one and there are some truly great power days.

The service runs from great to spoty. Mangement runs from great to OK. Parking is redicioulous if you aren't a time share owner. The rooms are great. The pool, jacussi and workout room are good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wise_Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I would never stay at this "vacation destination" again nor would I ever recommend it to anyone. First off, I am giving the place 2 stars because the hotel was beautifully designed architecturally, the room was nice and the bed comfortable. But that's about it!! There are many negatives…let me list them. The room was $220.00 a night… slightly overpriced! Check-in time is 4:00pm, check-out 10:00am (talk about wanting you gone quickly)…. we checked in at 5:00pm and our room wasn’t ready yet…that’s 6 hours to get a room cleaned and prepared! We had to wait 30 minutes outside until they called to let us know that it was ok to finally check-in. There is only Valet parking! If you want to park anywhere else for free…forget about it…not available!! There is construction going on right outside the front of the hotel…you can hear jack hammering all day long! There is no breakfast option within the hotel itself, if you want food then you can go outside to one of their overpriced shops or go and search. There is no AAA or Marriott Rewards discount! The beach that they give you a free pass to (Lakeside Beach) is run down and scummy!

There are so many other options to choose from in SLT…do your research and stay somewhere else that won’t completely rip you and your family off!!

Room Tip: Look for other financially reasonable options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mtnlvr4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Despite what some of the other reviews have said, we had a WONDERFUL time here. The front desk staff were amazing! Always helpful and courteous. Any other staff that we happen to run into were also courteous and friendly. The only exception were two valet attendants, one with blond hair and glasses and the other had a very bad short hair cut. Didn't get their names, didn't care to. Very rude. I was walking away from the car to check in with my husband and the kid yelled "Uh, I need your car keys". The other time my husband forgot to call down for our car and went to the valet and the other kid with the bad hair cut said "Did you call down?". My husband told him no and his reply was "You need to call, it'll be 10-15 minutes". Very rude. I spoke to the head valet attendant and told him that we were sorry we didn't call ahead of time, we just forgot and he was very nice and made sure they brought our car around for us. Other than those two incidences, our overall stay was WONDERFUL! We had requested a higher floor, but being that we came in the middle of the week, the resort was pretty much filled to capacity, The front desk staff did every thing they could to get us the best available. The Concierge was also very helpful in helping us find things to do in the area. Overall, our stay was very much enjoyable and are planning on coming back again this winter.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourdecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Marriott really should be ashamed of this property. Paid $229.00 for one king bed on a Friday night. Would not let us check-in until 4:30 pm, and check-out is at 10:00am, very early for any other hotel chain. The property serves no breakfast, so you must wake up and go out to search for food. Sounds easy right ? Nope ! You must valet your car underground for $24.00 per day, as there is no free parking anywhere near the hotel. Do yourselves a big favor, and call around to the many smalller inns and motels in the area who do not scalp you for parking, and whose check-in/check-out times are fair. This Marriott property is way overpriced, and does not give you anything of value in return.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedtravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,130 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £100 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing