We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All The Amenities a Family Needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
West Covina, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All The Amenities a Family Needs”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Resort is located in the center of South Lake Tahoe- approx. 1 block south of State Line. The Resort is approx. 3 blocks from the Lake and your stay includes the usage of a private beach front (Lakeside Beach). The Resort is in nearly new condition and the rooms are beautiful. All the amenities a family would need to make themselves feel at home. Each stay for Resort owners include one Valet Parking for the duration of your stay. Make sure you let the Valet know you are a timeshare owner upon arrival so you will be given your claim ticket. Additional vehicles are billed to your room at $24.00 per day. The pool is very well maintained and towels are plentiful. Do not get to the resort any earlier than check in as they pretty much stick to their 4:00pm ck in time. Many people were waiting in the lobby for ck in. The resort is undergoing some renovations in one of their towers and I did notice additional dates for further renovations. Overall the resort is the nicest places to stay in Lake Tahoe- Enjoy:)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyouting46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    366
    99
    46
    29
See reviews for
479
337
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here for the second week of our honeymoon. When we arrived friendly staff sorted out our booking quickly and porters took our gear to our room. We had booked a one bedroom suite booked which we found (to our liking) to be enormous, with everything you need in the kitchen including a dishwasher and huge fridge, There was also a washing machine and tumble drier which is very useful on a skiing holiday. The room also had an electric fire, large spa bath and two large widescreen tv's.

An excellent view of the mountain was provided through the windows, fortunately only obscured by huge dumps of snow! Hotel had a ski valet right by the Heavenly Gondola which was very useful.

The only concern was the key cards for our room occasionally stopped working, and it was a fair distance from our room to the front desk when we had to walk all the way down to sort out.

Overall a great place to stay in Lake Tahoe,

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed here in August. In my opinion, this is the best property in South Lake Tahoe, if not the entire lake area. The hotel was spotless, staff friendly and helpful. Great, great location close to lots of of dining and a good number of shops. Hotel has their own beach access about a half mile from the resort. Wonderful kids center, daily activities, two concierge desks. Hot Tubs were wonderful on the chilly August nights, and the pool a welcome relief during the warm days.

Only drawback was the expense of parking and having to valet the car. I'm sure Marriott can line their wallets with this extra, unnecessary expense. $25/day is crazy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BooTerp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We have been staying at the Marriott Timber Lodge for several years. The Timber Lodge has everything on site or nearby that we enjoy every year. The entire staff is always very helpful and goes out of their way to help us. The accomodaitons are very generous and improve every year. As long as we are able to travel, we plan on staying their at least once a year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourdogsarecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

A fabulous destination demands fabulous accomodations. We were not disappointed at all in this property. Great location at the foot of the Heavenly Ski Lift, steps away from Nevada casinos and in the middle of some fun shopping. I wish we'd had more time to stay...like a couple of months. We tried to see everything we could while there. The lake is spectacular, and the drive around it worth every mile. CalNeva Resort is a hoot and a great mid-point for lunch. Yosemite IS NOT a day trip...we found out...but so worth the effort. The property itself is clean and family friendly (if you're into that sort of thing) and quiet enough if you're not. Great pool and hot tubs.

Room Tip: You can add another bedroom and bath to the standard suite making it perfect for two couples. No ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xsdv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa,FL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

marriott timberlodge is the whole vacation package. location can't be beat. we stayed in corner room in Alpine bld. very large 2 bedroom suite looking out on gondola and Fire and Ice. A few steps away is shopping in Heavenly village and a block down street are casinos. Raleys food mart a short walk away. Beautiful pool. room was fully stocked and clean. we called down for extra pillow, cutting board and they make it a point to deliver whatever you ask for in 20 min. they even called room to check that item arrived.we ate at The Brewery (hamburgers abd bbq) and Freshies (teryaki chicken, everything organic) and both were good. took Tahoe Queen boat tour and that was very enjoyable as well although they could update their narration and not be so repetitive. but tour did give gorgeous views of lake, mountains and Emerald bay. i would definitely recommend Timberlodge.

Room Tip: request corner unit or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for a week last April and liked it so much we returned for another week. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and it was immaculate. The furnishings are new and in great condition. The beds are so comfy and the full kitchen is wonderful, especially if you are traveling with a family. We think the rooms are fairly quiet, as we didn't hear our neighbors and the hotel was quite full. For those that complained about no onsite restaurant, there are several restaurants and a coffee shop on site, and within the complex, and a grocery store across the street. There's also a movie theatre, ice cream shop, and several retail shops. There are some chain establishments within walking distance, like Applebee's, sub shop, etc. Of course, the most convenient thing about the hotel is that it is at the base of Heavenly. You literally walk out of your room and onto the chairlifts. The valet parking service is a bit pricey. It's waived for owners. I found most of them very helpful. One gentleman even helped me load a cart with about 10 grocery bags. Also, they are always patient when loading and unloading kids and our truckloads of stuff! There is a kids activity center, which is really nice. We did arts and crafts on several occasions and the staff was very nice. The lobby staff handed out cookies on some afternoons. The pools are large, clean and heated, thankfully. There are also several (4-5) small hot tubs. The housekeeping staff was good, replacing items quickly when we called. I really cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel. We love staying here. Our kids had a great time. We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patriotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Property: Marriott's Timber Lodge
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing