We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Located at the Heavenly tram station, in the center of all commercial activity on the highway. Plenty of shopping and dining within walking distance. Finest property in the area. We stayed in the summer. A luxuriously experience, rustic and beautiful, furnished and maintained well. We stayed in a king room, the master of a divided timeshare unit. A bit small, but so well presented that it felt cozy, not cramped. A timeshare property that we felt at ease in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IYHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

Our stay at the Marriott was relaxing and comfortable. We had a 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms. The master bathroom was sizable and the master bedroom included a whirlpool tub. the The living room/dining area is smallish but adequate and the full sized kitchen has lots of amenities and includes a washer/dryer. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and allowed check-in 1 hour early.

This facility is being renovated and we had been warned about noise but didn't encounter any. The beds were very comfortable. The linens, however, for the sofabed were extremely torn. Housekeeping services are not included in the cost of the room and the charge is $60 for cleaning the entire 2 room suite. This is outrageous. For a 2 room suite, overnight parking is included for 1 car with an additional charge of $26/night for each additional car. Park elsewhere to avoid this charge.

Despite the negatives, this was a relaxing stay at a lovely place in Tahoe close to shopping, casinos, and Heavenly gondola.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shell1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

When we first checked in to the Timber Lodge, they placed us in a room below ground level, where our windows looked out upon a brick wall about three feet from the window, and we could see only the feet of the people walking around outside, which were well above our heads. Obviously, we requested a new room, and as Marriott owners, they obliged happily.

Our second room overlooked the pool, which was a great view. However, the room was much smaller and colder feeling than most Marriott Vacation Club suites. It wasn't really an issue, although the Master bedroom was very compact. As I said earlier, we had a nice view, but the windows were tucked away in the corner of the room, and we had to climb onto the large platform in front of them in order to really look out.

That was really the only issue with the hotel, as the Timber Lodge is in a perfect location. We were just steps from the Nevada border, so the casinos in the area are easy to walk to. The beaches were just a short drive away, although it was hard to find parking as it was a holiday week.

The best part about the hotel is that it is the center of the Marriott Village, which has everything you might need in Tahoe. The ski lifts are right there, and while we were visiting during summer, they are still active. There were restaurants right in the village, which was perfect, and when we wanted to eat elsewhere, the concierge was very helpful in making reservations.

We had a small problem with our bathroom doors not locking, but Marriott did their best to help us with that issue.

Maybe we had an unusual room, but apart from that, there were no problems. If you're looking for a nicer room, the Marriott right next door is much nicer, but a bit more expensive. Either way, the Timber Lodge was part of a fun trip!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelSantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Let me start off by saying that perhaps coming from the Hyatt Residence in NorthStar to the Marriott Timber Lodge in Heavenly was not the best idea. The quality went down, down, down. If our path had been reversed, maybe I could give this hotel a better rating - hard to say. Our two bedroom unit at the Marriott was TINY. Our family of four could barely move around without running into each other. The carpeting throughout our unit was stained. When we pulled out the extra linens to make up the sofabed in the living room, they too were stained, falling apart and disgusting. Kudos to the housekeeping staff, however, for immediately bringing us clean linens. The master bath was small, the furniture throughout the unit old and worn. We had to move the dining room table to one side of the living room as best we could as it was just in the way and we were running into it constantly. At the Hyatt we had over 1,000 square feet. Here it felt like less than half that. Don't recommened this place at all, sorry ...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Our one week stay at the Marriott Timberlodge was very relaxing. There was one outdoor pool, kiddie pool and four spas to choose from. No need for a car although there is much more to do in Tahoe if you have a car to explore. Can walk to restaurants, supermarket, shops, casinos, movie theatres, golf club, etc. Our 1 Bedroom Unit had a washer/dryer in the unit which was very convenient. We had a unit on the top floor overlooking the pool and the mountain and since it was the "shoulder" season in Tahoe, it was very quiet. It seems that Marriott has discontinued delivering morning newspapers to the units and you need to go downstairs to find one each morning - an amenity that should not have been discontinued. All in all, it's a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony if you want one. Not all units have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

As a regular travel, I expected a quality stay when we booked the Timber Lodge based on the Marriott name. We booked a 2 room suite with a price tag of almost $700/night. Although pricey, we were excited about the location and convenience that the hotel provided. Prior to booking online, I called the Marriott reservations to inquire about the likelihood of having early check in upon arrival as we were traveling with a 3 month old baby. Upon arrival, we were told that no rooms were available (this is at 11am and check in is not guaranteed until 4pm), however we would be at the top of the list as the next room became available. When we came back from the top of Heavenly at 2 we inquired about our room. At that point, they said that the room was still not available however they would allow us into one of the two rooms (they were adjoining). At 4pm, our room was still not available. When I called to inquire, I was told that although the 4pm policy was in place that meant, "we only guarantee A room but not necessarily your ENTIRE room." I'm sorry- at $700/night, my room should be available the ENTIRE time guaranteed. In my regular travels, I have NEVER not had my room available by the time promised. I am in the service industry myself and could not believe the complete lack of professional that was taking place. The manager called and was apologetic and we were finally checked in to the room at 5pm (an hour after guaranteed). I then inquired about late check out (to make up for the hour that I lost in the check in promise) and then was told that only 1 room per floor is allowed to have late check out. Unfortunately that slot was already taken.

After filling out a requested survey about my stay, I requested that someone contact me regarding my stay and of course I have heard NOTHING. It's been 2 months and take their silence as an example of the lack of care they have for a lost customer.

Overall, save your $700/night and stay at any of the other hotels in the same area. Or splurge and go stay at the new Ritz Carlton in Lake Tahoe, it's beautiful and a nicer facility. I would never stay at this property again. To say they dropped the ball would be an understatement.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Marriott's Timber Lodge. We apologize the (level of service) did not meet your expectations.

Your satisfaction is important to us. In order for us to appropriately address your concerns, please contact our Customer Care office at Marriott Vacations Worldwide via email at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384.

Marriott Vacations Worldwide Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

As a Marriott employee, I'm normally accomodated with a room in a less than ideal location. These guys put me up in a 1 bedroom villa in a top-notch location in the hotel. Experience was wonderful, overall. The room was immaculate and service was friendly and warm. Not to mention great location - 100% recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlepunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £109 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing