We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Pinon Hills
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We had a 2 bed/2 bath on the 5th floor in the Alpine building. Check in was a breeze and all staff was super friendly and extremely helpful. Since we were owners the daily valet fee was waived for first vehicle. The temperature was between 72 to 78. Lodge is right next to Gondola, shops and places to eat. The pool was very large and had four hot tubs. Walking distance to market,starbucks and hiking trails. We drove around the lake, must see Emerald Bay and Sand Harbor!! One thing, our room had no balcony, but with the beautiful location we didn't miss it. We will definitely will come back.

Room Tip: Alpine building was in the back, we had a nice view of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    373
    100
    47
    30
See reviews for
485
340
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
naples fl.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

How could this hotel not be fabulous! It's in a perfect location, lots of shops, restaurants right out your front door, and the lake is just a few blocks away! The staff, including Tucker, who checked us in are all so friendly! It's just a beautiful hotel. Currently they are doing some renovations, however, we were never bothered...and this means the rooms will be even more beautiful upon completion. There was a complimentary washer/dryer on each floor. Rooms have kitchenettes with microwaves and refrigerators, coffee makers and filters! Perfect vacation! I would definitely stay again, and we have been to Lake Tahoe for years and stayed in many different hotels..this one is the best!

Room Tip: Second or third floor facing the pool would be nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank big1pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had a two bedroom condo and the base of heavenly ski resort. A fantastic location, near to all the attractions in South Lake Tahoe. The condo had recently been remodeled, a job well done. Two comfortable bedrooms, a full kitchen, and a small, but comfortable living room area. The only disappointment was the absence of a balcony. The pool and grounds were attractive and well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghGeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Yes, we were escaping the Texas heat in beautiful, cool Lake Tahoe. But our 5 day stay at the Timber Lodge made our trip even more enjoyable. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was super friendly and knowledeable. Our one-bedroom unit was far above my expectations. It was spotlessly clean and the furnishings looked new. Our private bedroom included a jetted tub tucked neatly beside a small wall for added privacy. The linens and bed were luxurious and the large flat-screen tv was nice. The bathroom had double sinks and large clear glass shower. It was also accessible from the living area. The living area had another flat-screen tv, a sofa bed, gas fireplace (which turned on by a wall switch), and a large dining table which seated six. The kitchen was well equiped with a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, nice dishes, silverware, glasses and cookware. Also, there was a breakfast bar with several bar stools and a stackable washer and dryer in a closet.
The swimming pool was awesome - large, heated and there was a baby pool and three large hot tubs. We even bought swim suits there to take advantage of this ammenity.
Harrah's Hotel and Casino were a short stroll away. The shops, restaurants, movie theater, gondola and miniature golf course were only steps away.
The only negative was the outrageous $26 per day parking fee.
I am usually a little grossed out when we are on vacation because our own home is so nice that nothing else compares. But there was absolutely no "yuk" factor here! I felt right at home - and that is high praise!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoerneMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Me and my wife had a wonderful stay, we would stay there again, but the parking situation sucks, 26 dollars a day plus tip for the valet parking, THAT'S JUST WRONG, park at harris casino. 26 dollars a day plus tip sucks. Be ready when you get there they will automatically put this fee charged on your credit card. Other than that great location great service, 26 dollars a day plus tip really sucks, when your staying at the hotel. Do you feel me.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria VA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

To be upfront, I now own a timeshare week here after staying on a timeshare exchange 3 times. The Timber Lodge is within walking distance of a chain grocery store (Raley's), boutiques, local restaurants and chains (Subway, Burger King, Baja Fresh, Cold Stone Creamery), and just blocks from the casinos. Most of the rooms are away from the main road, so relatively quiet. Nice pool and hot tubs. Staff friendly and concierge services avaible in lobby. I stayed by myself in a one-bedroom suite, but most of the other guests were families with kids. This made for a LOT of noise at the pool, and one "incident" that resulted in the pool being closed for an entire day for cleanup. South Lake Tahoe is close to water sports, hiking, and just beautiful scenery. However, none of the rooms have a lake view. If you ski, the Heavenly gondola is right outside the lobby and the resort provides ski storage.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool (not street side), but no view can be guaranteed with your reservation (e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatyRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange county
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed here in July and it was a very nice week. Great location. The room was perfect for our family of five. We had a two bedroom unit. Very nice ground floor. But, I think a very big flaw in their design....no patios or balconies to enjoy an outdoor area in a place like Tahoe!!! Mistake!!!
But, we used the kitchen for almost every meal. It was nice to be able to just walk over to the grocery store too!
Hate that you are forced to use the valet.
They had a "waffle breakfast" one morning. Don't do it. Very expensive and it was in the lobby....no where to sit with plastic plates of waffles with dripping syrup.
They have a kids club which is great. The property has miniature golf which is fun and of course you can just walk over to the gondola.
Overall, great place to stay. Pools and hot tubs are awesome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBsurferwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,482 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Property: Marriott's Timber Lodge
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing