We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best experience ever!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best experience ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I stayed at the Marriott Timber Lodge from 12/5-12/9. I cannot express enough how great this hotel was. The service was amazing! You are right in the center of everything! You walk out of the hotel and get right on the Gondola. I cannot imagine staying anywhere besides the Timber Lodge. The room was amazing as well. We stayed in a 2 room villa and we loved it. I take at least 3 vacations a year and this by far was the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. I really like Fire and Ice (located inside of the hotel), yes it was a little pricy but really great! And again the service was spectacular. Everyone was so friendly everywhere we went. We took shuttle's everywhere and it was so convenient because all of the shuttles pick you up only from this hotel! If you stay anywhere else you are a fool! AMAZING!

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eRiCaCaMpBeLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    354
    90
    43
    27
See reviews for
457
322
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford,fl
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Room was great with brand new carpet, washer/dryer And dishwasher. It was like my home away from home. We stopped to get groceries at the supermarket and made breakfast and lunch in room and ate diner out. It was overall a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gujugal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

If you're looking to ski or snowboard at Heavenly, this is the place to stay. The rooms are spacious and equipped with all the comforts of home. We stayed in a 2br/2ba suite with my cousin and her husband and it was perfect. There is a full kitchen, flat screen tv's in both bedrooms and the living room, a washer/dryer, fireplace, & whirlpool tub in the master. Oh and best part is its just steps from the Heavenly gondola. There are tons of places to eat and shop within walking distance and renting gear from nearby shops is so easy. The staff is super friendly. The gym is great and the pool/hottubs are awesome. Trust me, when you're snowboarding all day, its nice to get off the gondola, return your gear right there and be able to walk right to your room. So convenient. The parking is $26/day (ouch) and it's valet only. That's probably my only complaint. Other than that, you have an awesome ski resort on one side and gambling resorts on the other. Fun times to be had. Also, there's a skating rink right in Heavenly village and Raley's grocery store right across the street.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfchic55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Marriott Timberlodge-Fraudulent Charges
We have been Marriott vacation club owners for over 20 years and loyal Marriott customers even longer. The Marriott Timber Lodge has acted way outside of the "Marriott way" that we have trusted for so many years, so we thought it important to warn you all. Think twice before booking at this hotel. Any chance that you may need to change your plans? They will try to charge you for three or more nights, even if you don't go there and give them almost a month's cancellation notice!
By booking at this hotel, they claim at the time of cancellation that they have a thirty day cancellation policy. This was never made clear to us at the time of booking. We booked a room mid-November for this Christmas, but decided during Thanksgiving to go elsewhere and needed to cancel. We tried to notify the Timber Lodge during the Thanksgiving weekend, but they wouldn't accept the cancellation (almost a month in advance!) and told us to contact Marriott customer service. Finally, after several phone calls with Marriott, we demanded cancellation which after all the run-around was still 23-days in advance. The Timber Lodge first wanted to charge us $1500 for the room we would not be using, even though we gave them ample time to rebook it. After multiple calls with Marriott Customer Care, the Timber Lodge finally offered to lower the cancellation charge to one-night's stay - i.e. $370 - even though we will not be there. This is unacceptable and fraudulent, especially since they will certainly rebook the room and take revenue on it twice (or more if the next group also books and cancels well in advance, and they also experience this bad-business). We are disputing the charge with our credit company and will file a fraudulent claim as well. Shame on you Marriott for letting Timber Lodge behave this way!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank KirstenM805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I just got back from a week's stay at Marriot's Timber Lodge. Zach from Chicago and Rachel from Vermont provided some of the best service for check in that I have ever experienced. They are first rate. I had 3 reservations and a large number of people in my group and they were attentive to all our needs. The valet ski and car service is excellent as well.

As for the resort itself, a nice suprise were the options available to kids this year, the cub house was a popular stop for my kids.

I must say I am not a fan of the new fireplace, a bit too modern for a ski resort. The sleek look didnt quite fit the decor of the rest of the hotel.

I look forward to going back for my 3rd straight year!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Over Veterans day, I visited this Hotel. From the time I walked in the main entrance, I knew this would be a great experience. The front desk attendant took time to explain the features of the property and what to do around the property. The Bell Man was instantly available and showed me to my room. The Bell showed me everything I needed to know in the room. The room was awesome. A huge tub in the room, soft bed with awesome pillows, fire place, living room with dining table and kitchen. There is also a great place to eat and drink right next to the outdoor heated hot tub/pool. The property was a short walk to the major casinos. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiamondDuoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed in a studio with a king bed and sofa sittinmg area. It was just the two of us so we didn't need the 1 bdrm this time. We flew into Reno and took the South Lake Tahoe shuttle (1 hour 15 min) up and back. Once we were at the property we really didn't need a car. The property is at Heavenly Village next to the gondola. We were not able to ride the gondola due to high winds sevral days of our trip. Thanksgiving is a bit early to go skiing as it is unpredictable. We planned to go snowmobiling but no snow this time of year. For a ski trip I would wait until Christmas or even Jan to ensure snow. We decided to fly to Tahoe and use the shuttle this time as the Marriott charges $25./26. to park each night.

We will defintley visit this property again in the summer and after Christmas for skiing.

We still had a great time - thevillage has ice skating, a movie theater, Cold Stone ice cream, Nestle cookie store, Rocky Mtn chocolates - across from the village is a Raleys supermaket, Subway, numerous other eateries.

We walked to Harrahs (nice view from the 18th floor (nice buffet), and to Harveys across the street (better view of the lake) on the 19th floor. Harveys also has a Hard Rock on the casino level.

The Marriott has activitiess for kids and adults every day. The rooms have been recently updated - very nice. The small kitchenette had a mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave.
We walked to Raleys (full supermarket) every day for snacks and water. The studio did not have a washer/dryer but it was ok b/c the laundry room was on the same floor and free. They do provide a box of Tide for your first load.

The only restaurant on-site is Fire & Ice which is a Mongolian BBQ buffet place. We did try it for lunch and enjoyed the combinations of seafood, beef, pasta, etc.

Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlfan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Property: Marriott's Timber Lodge
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing