We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an exceptional spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My son and i had three great days at the Timber Lodge last week. The Spring skiing was fabulous and the Hotel(it is really a time share property but you can rent like a hotel) was over the top. Great location right at the gondola. There is a fun restaurant ( Fire and Ice) on property and a great outdoor firepit deck for apres ski. You can walk to all kinds of stuff(including casinos) The Operations manager Josh helped make our stay perfect. Great pool and the room was spacious, newly renovated, excellantly equipped and realy clean.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that looks at the pool or the village. Corner rooms are bigger but no balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Marriott Timber Lodge at the base of Heavenly's Ski Resort in Lake Tahoe. Both times, we were impressed by the service, comfort and convenience this lodging provides. The amenities such as the pool, restaurant and close proximity to everything you need make this a 5 star location. The rooms are very nice and well kept. We had a two bedroom villa that provided for all our needs including that of our two boys. This set up worked well also when we stayed with another couple. If you're into quality skiing and want a great place to hang out that requires no driving, this is the spot!

Room Tip: We overlooked the gondola and it was a nice view of all the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We really like the location of the resort so close to the Heavenly Gondola. The hotel is very nice and clean. The rooms are very comfortable. My husband was not feeling well when we arrived and the hotel staff was very helpful and able to get us into a room on a busy Saturday before the check in time. Very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomifl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This was our second visit to Marriott's Timber Lodge and it was everything we remembered. First of all, it is RIGHT AT the Heavenly Gondola, so convenience is excellent. Our room was well equipped (although for 4 adults, the studio was a little cramped; however that was all that was available), beds were comfortable, ski valet was offered free of charge so were able to drop off and pick up our skis just a few steps from the gondola. There was a heated pool and several hot tubs, which were wonderful at the end of a day of skiing. It is within walking distance of several good restaurants, and there is a state park right behind the hotel which has some good hiking trails. The days prior to our visit had been rather warm, so the hiking was fine as snow was melted at the lower elevations. We did not rent a car, took the shuttle from the Reno airport which dropped us off and picked us up at the Embassy Suites, about a block away from the Marriott. This is a great property, friendly staff, good amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawberryroan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed for ski vacation.. and can't say enough about this place! Service was thorough, everyone was friendly and helpful. Every request was dealt with promptly. Gondola to Heavenly was steps out of hotel, free/prompt ski check. Only complaint was that studio room was very small for 4 people. Booked bc it was only size available, said it could hold 4 with fold out sofa; there was barely room for suitcases, and we were tripping over furniture. Would not recommend studio with kids! Otherwise great stay!

Room Tip: Don't book studio if you have children... WAY too small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriscottd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Great location, wonderful beds, friendly staff. Valet parking is a plus and very prompt. Roomy condos with wonderful amenities like heated pool, hot tubs and well equipped exercise rooms. Close to shopping, groceries and movie theater. Easy walk to casinos and nightlife. Close to public transportation. Be sure to ride the gondola to Heavenly shops and snow skiing. Enjoy a lakeside reverie. Fabulous.

Room Tip: nice exercise facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SPN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was our second time visiting South Lake Tahoe and staying at the Marriott Timberlodge. We loved it so much the first time around that we decided to return during the President's day weekend. A few nights prior to arrival, we requested a room in the Sierra building with a Pool view and our request was granted. What a wonderful view we had. The 1BR was clean and very comfortable for our family (2 adults and 2 children). The fireplace in the living room was very cozy. The staff is always courteous and the concierge was very helpful in arranging a snow mobile tour for us. The Timberlodge is ideally located within steps of the Heavenly Gondola. Since we skiied for a number of days, it was a treat to step out of the hotel, pick up our skis at the ski valet and walk a short distance to the Gondola. Taking a relaxing dip in the heated pool or in one of the many hot tubs, was a perfect ending to a long day of skiing. In the evenings, we ventured out by car to some of the local restaurants. Make sure you call the valet for your car at least 10-15 minutes before you head out since it can get quite busy. On one occasion, we called 10 minutes before departing but still had to wait for our car. Two restaurants that we enjoyed were the River Grill and the Blue Angel Cafe (local place with delicious and moderately priced food). We are looking forward to another getaway next year, and will definitely stay at the Timberlodge again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJFAB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £111 - £535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing