We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March Shi Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just a note about this amazing property. It is perfectly located 20 feet from the Heavenly gondola. The property seems to be either well maintained or recently upgraded. This property is actually a timeshare hotel but you can book units thru the Marriott corporate site as you would for any other hotel. It has a standard check in desk, concierge, on site restaurants, spa/pool, etc. Virtually indistinguishable from a hotel. It is also located in the Heavenly Base Village with its activities and restaurants nearby. Service was excellent. Breakfast service is limited on site at the hotel but there are plenty of places very nearby or you can use the in suite fully equipped kitchen. I would not hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: We booked a 1 BR suite that can be expanded by adding a room to convert to a large 2 BR unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22AmS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We obtained this room from someone who owns a timeshare there. We had the corner room in the Alpine building. It was phenomenal. Big room with full dining table, large kitchen, spacious master bed and bath as well as the adjoining room which looked like a regular king hotel room. Two sleeper sofas. Fireplace. And ours was overlooking the pool area. Which was good, but sometimes a bit awkward, as we were on the 2nd floor and looking directly onto the pool deck. Great amenities. Pool and hot tubs were fabulous. Just look out for some guests, as they seem to be quite particular about 'their' pool chairs. We got groceries at the store across the street and cooked many meals for ourselves, saving money for shopping and attractions in the area. We could walk to Harrah's/Harvey's, the Heavenly Village shopping areas, most eateries, and the walk to the boat landing by the TahoeQueen was an easy one, though a bit longer than other attractions. The service was great, and expect a wait of 5-10 minutes for your car if you valet. Not unreasonable if you plan accordingly. We were warned of it when we checked in, so we had absolutely no problem. No lines. The fitness center was nice! I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher up if poolside, such as 3rd or higher. We had 2nd and it was a bit too close for comfort to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We are owners at Timber Lodge, but had not been here for three years. We arrived with great anticipation as this has been a wonderful, favorite property for us over the years. Upon arrival, it was chaos. The line to check in was 15 minutes. Our room was not ready - at 5pm. The bellmen were nowhere to be found. We did have help to unload the car and then nothing. When the room finally was ready, we took our groceries up and were told that our bags would be right up. 30 minutes later, I went down and took the overloaded cart up myself to the room. Later, going out, the wait to get a car from the valet was over then minutes (in spite of the $26 per night parking charge).That is not the level of service I would expect from this property or from a Marriott Vacation Club property. The rooms are gorgeous as ever, but the service has really declined. You cannot beat the location - right at the bottom of the Heavenly Gondola - but you most certainly can do better for staff and service.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best. There is a very noisy pool and an even noisier restaurant (Fire and Ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenntabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My son and i had three great days at the Timber Lodge last week. The Spring skiing was fabulous and the Hotel(it is really a time share property but you can rent like a hotel) was over the top. Great location right at the gondola. There is a fun restaurant ( Fire and Ice) on property and a great outdoor firepit deck for apres ski. You can walk to all kinds of stuff(including casinos) The Operations manager Josh helped make our stay perfect. Great pool and the room was spacious, newly renovated, excellantly equipped and realy clean.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that looks at the pool or the village. Corner rooms are bigger but no balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Marriott Timber Lodge at the base of Heavenly's Ski Resort in Lake Tahoe. Both times, we were impressed by the service, comfort and convenience this lodging provides. The amenities such as the pool, restaurant and close proximity to everything you need make this a 5 star location. The rooms are very nice and well kept. We had a two bedroom villa that provided for all our needs including that of our two boys. This set up worked well also when we stayed with another couple. If you're into quality skiing and want a great place to hang out that requires no driving, this is the spot!

Room Tip: We overlooked the gondola and it was a nice view of all the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We really like the location of the resort so close to the Heavenly Gondola. The hotel is very nice and clean. The rooms are very comfortable. My husband was not feeling well when we arrived and the hotel staff was very helpful and able to get us into a room on a busy Saturday before the check in time. Very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomifl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This was our second visit to Marriott's Timber Lodge and it was everything we remembered. First of all, it is RIGHT AT the Heavenly Gondola, so convenience is excellent. Our room was well equipped (although for 4 adults, the studio was a little cramped; however that was all that was available), beds were comfortable, ski valet was offered free of charge so were able to drop off and pick up our skis just a few steps from the gondola. There was a heated pool and several hot tubs, which were wonderful at the end of a day of skiing. It is within walking distance of several good restaurants, and there is a state park right behind the hotel which has some good hiking trails. The days prior to our visit had been rather warm, so the hiking was fine as snow was melted at the lower elevations. We did not rent a car, took the shuttle from the Reno airport which dropped us off and picked us up at the Embassy Suites, about a block away from the Marriott. This is a great property, friendly staff, good amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawberryroan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
913 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
488 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £111 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing