We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photograph your car before you let them park it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stay at a lot of Marriotts. The central room is very small, furniture would not hold more than three and it is placed in an odd way. The couches and chairs are cheap and uncomfortable . Most important, photograph your car before you have them park it. Our car was damaged from scraping against a concrete post. It was a brand new car yet they claim they mark all body damage ahead of time and basically mark the entire car having damage so they claim they are not responible. Our car had a dent in the door and deep lacerations on the driver's side front corner in two days.

The air kicked on and off all night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catstash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

The websites about Lake Tahoe announced the snow season until the end of April/begin of March. When I checked in on the last week of april, the lady on the front desk told me that all the snow resorts had been closed for the season, two days ago.

Obviously that is not a hotel's fault, but she also told me that no snow resort was open. That was not true, because searching the internet, and asking the concierge, I figured that the Alpine Meadows was open.

Overall I had a great stay. The staff is extremely kind and friendly, the rooms are clean and quiet, the shower was good.

I had a terrible service in the pizzeria that is attached to the hotel, and parking costs $ 25 per day and there is no option of free parking.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernandoTds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

What a wonderful setting and resort. From the moment we got there, we were treated professionally. We got there at about 1 p.m. figuring our room wouldn't be ready as check in time is 4 p.m. The front desk took our number and said they would contact housekeeping about getting our room ready and then letting us know when it was. We went to lunch and at about 2 p.m. received a call that our room was ready. Check in was simple.

We had stayed before and expected to be ask about a timeshare presentation. Not a word or request. In fact, we were never bothered about any type of presentation.

The resort was wonderful. It had obviously undergone some freshening up as the paint and everything looked new. The accommodations (we were in a 1-bedroom) were first class with everything you need and modern. Kitchen was stocked adequately with everything we needed.
One of the best things is the in-room washer and dryer.

One of the most relaxing stays at any resort and the scenery was breathless with the clean air, still snow-capped sierra Nevada's, and the amenities of the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for 7 days in the one bedroom condominium. Good location with the walking distance to the casinos and shopping area. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. It was too bad that we have a very nice location on the Alpine building facing the swimming pool, but there was no balcony. This is a real wasted of the good view and location. The sofa in the living room had a very bad smell, even though it was not old, but the smell was unbearable. They need to change the dishes, they are old and cheap. There is a gym, with good exercise equipments and clean too. This is the first time we stayed in the timeshare property, so has not much to compare with another property.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiangmai2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Having stayed next door at the sister resort the previous two years, The Grand Residences, I figured I'd give the Timber Lodge a try.

For all intents and purposes, it was the same experience. It's like comparing a Chevy and a GMC. One is just a tick higher than the other in terms of refinements and appointments, and in this case the Timber Lodge is the Chevy that just slightly lacks in what it's sibling brings to the table.

Having traveled to Lake Tahoe every season for the last 15 Yrs, It's still by far one of the nicest place to stay on the south shore, and in a perfect location at the base of Heavenly's newest gondola and village.

A 2 br condo for 6 nights ran about 3k, which isn't cheap, but as they say, it's location, location, location.

Even with that relatively great location, stocking up on groceries still needs to be done by car if you're buying supplies for a week's stay, as the grocery store, even though its in the plaza next door, is too far to schlep bags upon bags of food back.

The only real complaint was the location of the room. It was a bit of a hike from the lobby to the room,and there's no easy way to get there even with an entrance on either end of the building. AND, if you have ski or boarding gear you're taking back upstairs, it makes the walk all that much more daunting.

Would I stay here again? In a minute if for nothing else than the ski in ski out convenience, I'd just request a room that isn't a 5 minute journey from the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a week banked with our timeshare trading company and ended up trading for the Marriott Timber Lodge. It's smack dab in the middle of the shopping and restaurant area and Heavenly Gondolas, so within walking distance to all that and the casinos. They had a heated pool and about 5 hot tubs. Food and beverage service by the pool. A kids club for 4+yrs of age, then a teenage club, then a retreat for adult and all age activities. GREAT for the family - everything was great, the service and staff were friendly and helpful. The activities and pool area were great that we almost never left the property.

Room Tip: Rooms are built well enough that you don't hear a lot of noise from other areas and rooms. Soli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 456Debi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Visiting here in the "between" season for them. Skiing has finished and summer doesn't begin until the end of the month for them. The property is very nice with lots of activities for the kids and teens and adults can always walk a block to the casinos :-). Driving around the lake is beautiful and there are plenty of opportunities for walking and hiking. We were excited to be right next to the Heavenly Gondola, but unfortunately it is shut down until May 27th, that between thing again. Lots of little restaurants and shops and groceries within walking distance. Timber lodge villas and facilities are wonderful! Had a great time!

Room Tip: You really cannot go wrong with a room, although the mountain views are somewhat blocked by the surr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fidgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
223 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,163 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £111 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing