We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent 5 days at Lake Tahoe over the July 4th week. This is such an amazing place to stay. We were within walking distance and everything we were interested in doing. We had a two bedroom (the beds were super comfy) which was spotless and provided everything including a full kitchen, living room two large bathrooms plus a washer and dryer. If you get a room facing the lake, you can see the fireworks from your room, which were spectacular!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackimouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family and I spent the 4th of July weekend at Marriott Timber Lodge and all I can say is beware of this hotel. Where do I start?

1. Valet staff employee tells my wife to "stop b*tching!" when questioned why no-one notified her that car was ready and waiting (out of site). Young man is lucky I was not within earshot or I would have "parked" him on pavement. No excuse for a hotel employee to mouth off regardless of how busy they may have been.

2. No, there is no wooden roller coaster on the ceiling. That is the AC working.

3. "Family Friendly" should not equate to kids run amok! Pool policy allows over indulgent mothers to plop little 12 month old Johnny into one hot tub after another (there are 3) with diapers on. But it's ok because they are "pool diapers". Also encountered pre-teens practicing their backstroke in our hot tub and dumping their pineapple drink in another tub. This happened at 10:00 at night! Regarding saftey of "pool diapers" Marriott needs to educate themselves on this (here are a couple of helpful links that cover what an unhealthy practice this is).

http://www.cdc.gov/healthywater/swimming/pools/swim-diapers-swim-pants.html

"Swim Diapers & Swim Pants
The use of swim diapers and swim pants might give users, parents, and pool staff a false sense of security regarding fecal contamination."

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/childrens-health/CC00003

"Can babies or toddlers wear diapers in the water?

Various types of diapers are designed for underwater use. They're water-repellent and fit snugly around a child's thighs and waist, but they're not waterproof. If your child has a bowel movement in the water, fecal material may escape the diaper. A dirty diaper might contain diarrhea-causing germs, including the parasite cryptosporidium — which can contaminate pool water or other swimming areas. In otherwise healthy people, a cryptosporidium infection causes upset stomach and diarrhea."

We confronted the front desk manager (Andrew Jansen) regarding the situation at the pool and we were met by indifference and a smirk when we said the hotel should review it's pool policy.

4. Lastly, this is a TIME SHARE ESTABLISHMENT which means that everyone else will get squeezed into whatever little corner of the hotel is available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Salsaboy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay at Marriott's Timber Lodge. While the valet parking is outsourced to another company, there is no excuse for the rude treatment you received. This will be addressed with the parking manager immediately. Your comments regarding the pool have been forwarded to our recreation manager to review and take action. Thanks once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel is nothing short of spectacular. New, spotless rooms with all the amenities you could ever want including a super comfy bed. location in South Lake Tahoe as well. We stayed the week of July 1st. The staff was wonderful. We have 3 boys ages 11,8 and 4. We were surprised to find tons of activities for them at the Cubs Den. Each day my boys were so excited to see what was on the hotels daily itinerary. Marriott threw a pool party for the 4th of July. A few activities offered were, pie eating, balloon toss and hula hoop contests. An alligator wrestling match, live music, BBQ and slushies. We took advantage of the hotels private lake to watch the firework show and thrilled with the local and the fabulous firework show!We will never stay else where when traveling to South Lake Tahoe. Five stars aren't enough for this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhafenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is a lovely lodge and the staff was very friendly. Great location next to the Heavenly Gondola, shops, Mini Golf, Starbucks, and restaurants. Also, you can walk across the stateline into Nevada where there are casinos and the Hard Rock Cafe (in Harvey's Casino). In and out service for your car (valet)--you can text them or call down--quick service.

Room Tip: The suites have a refrigerator, sink, and microwave. Nice pool area and fun center for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Italytwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed here one night and wished I'd stayed more! The villas are amazing- include a full kitchen, living room, jetted deep tub and separate bathroom, as well as a washer and dryer! And all important air conditioning which was especially appreciated during the HOT week we were there. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful- especially Joseph who checked us in. It is conveniently located and there are lots of great meal options right near the hotel. Will definitely come here again- next time for a few days instead of just one! Having stayed at numerous hotels higher on the Trip Advisor list, I would put this one at the top!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We have stayed here at least 4 times. We've stayed at other South Lake Tahoe properties and this one is by far the best! You can't beat the location. The moment you walk into the lobby you feel like you're in a nice mountain resort. I agree Sunday check - in is chaos but I enjoyed the warm chocolate chip cookies and even small glasses of wine were being handed out to calm everyone's nerves. We hadn't see that touch before. The staff is so friendly at the front desk and at the concierge. We had to request some dishwasher soap and it was brought to our room immediately followed by a phone call from the front desk to make sure it arrived.

The rooms are kept in great condition. We love the size of the 2 bedroom/2 bath for a family of 4. The pool area is kept up with lots of fresh towels. There are so many activities available for all ages if you wish to do them.

We did learn on this trip if you ask the concierge for the parking pass to the Lakeside beach you'll get free admission to the beach which normally charges $5 per person. Great beach too! As a Marriott guest you also get discounts at the surrounding shops and restaurants which is a great perk.

After attending a nearby timeshare talk, it only confirmed that being a Marriott owner is the place to be!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlcrzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We just got back from a four day stay at Marriott's Timber Lodge resort at Lake Tahoe. This beautiful resort is right down town South Lake Tahoe accessible to the casinos and right next to the Gondola. The staff was very accomodating and friendly although the slow check in on Sunday was a little unnerving. It seems they had over half of the resort was checking out the day we arrived and our rooms were not ready until nearly 6:00 pm. Hopefully this is just one of those days as we have stayed in several Marriott resorts and never experienced this kind of delay. Being from scorching South Texas we were ready for some mountain cool weather but we were not expecting highs of 57 F the first 2 days of our stay but the 3rd day was absolutely beautiful as we had hoped. I do recommend this resort for all travelers; families with kids will really enjoy all the activities at the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fbraselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
905 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,118 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,138 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £111 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing