We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation! Very friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vacation! Very friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I had stayed in South Lake Tahoe before, but this was our first time taking our 4 year old daughter so we decided to stay away from the casino resorts. We are actually owners at Marriott Timber Lodge but had never stayed (sold us on the place while we were staying at Harrah's). We are glad we finally did, though! We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with full kitchen. We don't ski, and we come from a part of Texas that rarely ever sees snow. Our daughter had a blast playing in the snow in the morning and in the resort pool in the afternoon. The concierge service helped us setup a horse carriage ride and recommended places to go to just enjoy the scenery. The kids club was very nice to our girl, who kept asking to go back. The resort is an easy walk to many things. There is plenty of shopping and food, as well as the lake and casinos. And if you are a skier, the Heavenly Gondola is right outside the door to the hotel. A fun thing to do, just for a tremendous view. The Edgewood Tahoe Golf Course is about a mile away. A beautiful course!

As far as the room, we found it clean and quiet. Everything you can need for a short or long stay. There is a grocery store about a block or two away, so you can load up on groceries if you don't want to eat out every meal. The room did not seem dated to us as far as decor goes. Lodge style.

I would recommend the resort to anyone. I will say when I have been there in the heart of ski season it can be a little hectic, but I think that is common for most ski resorts. Not a flaw of the resorts. We have also been in the area in the shoulder season, and you almost feel like you have the run of the town. If you are looking to stay in South Lake Tahoe, you can't go wrong with the Marriott Timber Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front building will be a little noisier due to proximity to lobby, gondola entrance, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharkclc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    358
    93
    44
    27
See reviews for
463
325
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was the first time we decided to stay at Marriott's Timber Lodge and we were surprised for the spacious room, and with all of the amenities like fireplace, complete kitchen and utensils, laundry, and the bathtub separated from the shower and bathroom, our daughter said: "it looks like home"! So, it made our trip even better since she was so happy! The best, very quite room!
Our only issue, was the long way to the exits, but it made it for a long indoors walking :-D.
And it is the Gondola to go to Heavenly, (since we missed it for one day, they closed on September till the skiing season) you just walk and voila there it is the entrance to the Gondola, and to the nice shopping area, theater movies, and so on...

Room Tip: If you are traveling with infants, and seniors you would prefer a room close to elevators and entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEZC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We travel a lot and generally stay in resorts or highend establishments and the Timber Lodge is one of the best. We are loyal to Marriott and are rarely disappointed. As for this particular resort, it is one of the best we've stayed in. We have stayed here before and plan to do so again. We stayed in a 2-bedroom unit with a balcony overlooking the mountains that was more than large enough and everything was in first class condition. From the furnishings to the kitchen and baths, to the in-room laundry, it was a perfect stay.

The location is superb as it is right near Stateline and the casinos (if you want) and adjacent to the Heavenly Gondola if you want that service. Everything you could want to do is within walking distance including shops, movie theatres, etc.

Excellently maintained. What really impressed us was items like the dishwasher and laundry could barely be heard when running. The room has a gas fireplace which provided some heat and was aesthetically very pleasing. All necessary utensils and cooking implements were available. My wife used the fitness center and was satisfied. Although we don't have small children anymore, the activity room for the kids always appeared to be a happy place for those we saw in there.

I know some complain about the parking fee and that is an individual issue but there are nearby options such as parking in the casino lot and taking the short walk. In my opinion, the parking fee is not a reason to not experience this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This Hotel is actualy part of the Marriott vacation time shares. It is a very large facility. We visted in between the ski and summer seasons. The hotel was not crowed and clean. However alot of the local shops were not open. The room was clean, however not quiet. We could hear the people in the room adjacent to ours. Casinos within walking distance if interested. No self-park. Valet only. During the off season it took the Valets about 20 minutes to retrieve our car. Would hate to see how long it would take during peak season.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leboland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I didn't know quite what expect on arrival at Marriott's Timber Lodge, it felt like a timeshare type 'fully packaged holiday' sort of place. And it may well be. But this hotel is well located in the heart of Tahoe's tourist strip. I had a suite on the top floor, and it was fine. Built-in gas fire made it very cosy. The sprawl of the place makes getting around a bit like a maze, with the odd blind end.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bay, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for a few days in October during fall break, we chose this hotel for the incredible off season rates. We met up with family and had 5 rooms overall. The front desk was very accommodating and placed us all together in one hall which was very convenient.

The Good:

There was plenty to keep us busy for a few days within walking distance. We walked to the casinos and the kids played at the Arcade, we really enjoyed the magic show "Illusion Fusion".

The pool was warm and there were 4 nice Hot Tubs.

For a 2 bedroom the room was smallish, reminded me of a Residence Inn 2 bedroom. At times we gathered our whole group into one living room to play games though and it worked.

The Bad:

Concierge: There was one lady working concierge who took several opportunities to be very rude. The hotel has a teen lounge and on the 2nd day I took the kids to concierge to request a key. They were unprepared and said the keys hadnt been made yet that morning (It was 2 or 3 PM) She was very annoyed with us for even asking. After several sighs she realized we weren't just going to leave so she began gathering the paperwork and then grumbled that she would have to print forms. Then she lectured the kids very rudely about how they were liable for everything in the room while in possesion of one of the keys even if someone else did the damage. She acted as if they had done something wrong already. She insisted that we should return the key as soon as possible to avoid that liability. She also mentioned that there are cameras in the room but again stated that even if the cameras see someone else doing damage, my teens would be liable. It went on for a long time, and I don't think I have ever been spoken to in that tone of voice.

As everyone has mentioned there is $26 per night charge for parking. I didnt really mind due to the incrdible price we got on the rooms, the Valets were excellent and super fast even when the place was very busy. Unfortunately the text for your car system was not working.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sillymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We took our 7-month old baby with us and stayed here for 4 days. The hotel provides crib and high chair. We also had room with full equipped kitchen so that we can prepare the baby food and our dinner by our self. It was the first time we travel with our baby and fortunately everything was fine and it was a pleasant experience while staying at this hotal. It would be perfect if the room had a balcony, though.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ck1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Property: Marriott's Timber Lodge
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing