We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE location, great staff, great room...no cleaning service?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel is fantastic....great rooms, great property, adorable little village...

the concierge and staff were phenomenal and super friendly and patient and never gave the slightest hint that we were epically annoying, and I am sure we were.

My 18th mos old was obsessed with the cub's room and also running around the lobby, but no one ever complained or made a face, etc.

Great restaurant recommendations (we loved Riva Grill, check the review) and also help with planning our week during the offseason.

Very spacious room, comfy bed, my son loved the jacuzzi bath etc.

For me the real downer here (even though still giving 4 stars) is that we stayed on a timeshare exchange week...as we have done MANY times to MANY Marriott properties. This is the first time we did not get a free once-a-week maid service for the room....we were told the board of directors for the resort voted to eliminate this option and if you wanted cleaning service you had to pay for it (i think $26 per clean, but that is off the top of my head so I could be wrong). I just thought that was really lame...

Other than that, I have nothing but glowing things to say about this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank jdro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Timber Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We are Marriott Platinum Members and used points to stay in a one bed room suite. Very cozy with a fireplace and full kitchen. The sofa is another bed so it would be great for families. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was outstanding from the time we dropped our car to the time we left. The location is perfect and as mentioned the heavenly Gondola was closed until ski season starts. Easy walk to Harrahs and Harvey's although if you have any walking issues Harvey's is a little bit further away.
Be sure to take a few hours and drive around the lake. Go around clockwise so the lake is always on the right side.
There are lots of shops and a Starbucks near the hotel as well. Starbucks can be really crowded in the morning and we were there in the off season so plan accordingly.
Use the humidifier in the room as it was quite dry in November in the room. Excellent service and room made this stay outstanding!

Room Tip: We had a pool view and it was fine, Mountain view maybe better.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

First off, what a great group of people working here.
My 8 bffs and I had fun every morning in the pool with all 3 water exercise teachers - we enjoyed their friendly nature to us. It is pleasant to see wonderful young women and men enjoying the beginning of their careers with the Marriot - they spoke VERY HIGHLY of working there.
When we pulled into the Timber Lodge-the valets completely unpacked the top of our vehicle and then when we left...BAM! our car was repacked in a minutes time. Although we were cramped, we still enjoyed each other's company.
....it would be nice to have NO SMOKING on premises....just sayin...

Room Tip: Our rooms were just perfect!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a beautiful resort! We are visiting during the first week of November so the Gondola at Heavenly is closed for annual maintenance but we have a beautiful view of the mountain from our 1 bedroom suite in the Timber Lodge in the Alpine building. Our original reservation was incorrect so we spent one night in a "hotel room" at the lodge but even that wasn't torture...They fixed everything first thing the next day. The staff and service are absolutely amazing! We are enjoying the fireplace in our suite but will later be enjoying the fire pits down by Fire & Ice restaurant / bar. We've walked to Harrah's & Harvey's casinos, we're not really casino people, but enjoyed the people watching nonetheless. (Cabo Wabo...don't waste your time) We plan on enjoying the lunch cruise on the Bleu Wave Yacht but make sure if you want to do the dinner cruise that you book early as it's only available on Friday & Saturdays.. There are 4 hot tubs not to be missed at the resort...freezing air & 104degree tubs plus 84 degree pools are a great way to end the day! Kathleen at the concierge desk is a veritable cornucopia of info!! Eric & Tucker at the front desk have been very helpful also. There's so many things in walking distance...shopping, eats...(Mr. P's Pub right across the street serves amazing bloody marys!) Drive to the Tahoe Keys for oysters on the half shell at Fresh Ketch then take a short hike down to the lake. DO NOT miss the 19th floor dinner & view from Harvey's kitchen & cocktail bar!! The view is to die for!! We love Marriott properties & this one is no exception. Come here...Stay here..

Room Tip: Rooms w/ view of the mountain or view of pool area...higher floor
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank masher02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nice enough. Great pool, nice rooms, ok location. However, it's advertised as a non smoking property, but they have smoking areas set up by the pool and just outside the fitness center. Why should I have to walk by smokers and breath smoke to work out? Make this a true non smoking hotel and resort and get rid of smoking areas altogether.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Waterman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We are long term Marriott timeshare owners and this was our first visit to Timber Lodge. The location in Heavenly village is outstanding. It is so easy to walk out at lunch or dinner time and find something good to eat and/or do. Additionally, the Nevada border and the casinos are essentially across the street. In season, the lift is right outside the door. Accommodations were excellent per Marriott timeshare standards and the staff were the friendliest we have encountered in our travels. Valet parking was excellent. They always had our car out within five minutes with a call ahead. If you are not an owner, there is a charge for the service and the daily fee seems a bit high. The pool is outdoors but heated and there are four hot spas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cayman408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I had stayed in South Lake Tahoe before, but this was our first time taking our 4 year old daughter so we decided to stay away from the casino resorts. We are actually owners at Marriott Timber Lodge but had never stayed (sold us on the place while we were staying at Harrah's). We are glad we finally did, though! We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with full kitchen. We don't ski, and we come from a part of Texas that rarely ever sees snow. Our daughter had a blast playing in the snow in the morning and in the resort pool in the afternoon. The concierge service helped us setup a horse carriage ride and recommended places to go to just enjoy the scenery. The kids club was very nice to our girl, who kept asking to go back. The resort is an easy walk to many things. There is plenty of shopping and food, as well as the lake and casinos. And if you are a skier, the Heavenly Gondola is right outside the door to the hotel. A fun thing to do, just for a tremendous view. The Edgewood Tahoe Golf Course is about a mile away. A beautiful course!

As far as the room, we found it clean and quiet. Everything you can need for a short or long stay. There is a grocery store about a block or two away, so you can load up on groceries if you don't want to eat out every meal. The room did not seem dated to us as far as decor goes. Lodge style.

I would recommend the resort to anyone. I will say when I have been there in the heart of ski season it can be a little hectic, but I think that is common for most ski resorts. Not a flaw of the resorts. We have also been in the area in the shoulder season, and you almost feel like you have the run of the town. If you are looking to stay in South Lake Tahoe, you can't go wrong with the Marriott Timber Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front building will be a little noisier due to proximity to lobby, gondola entrance, an...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharkclc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,637 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £93 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing