We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked Into A Dirty Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Love this property, unfortunate to have a bad experience. Room was only partially cleaned from prior guests. A number of broken items in room. Front desk rather uninterested, long delay (hours) getting only some of the issues addressed. Maintenance gentleman very apologetic and displayed superior customer service. Valet seemed to be unorganized.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77aloha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's Timber Lodge. We apologize you were checked into a villa that was not ready and can understand your frustration. It is concerning that the front desk was unable to correct this to your satisfaction. We would like to learn more about your experience and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Timber Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed at the Lodge with a friend for a few days of skiing at Heavenly. The Lodge is only steps away from the gondola, making the location perfect. The room was well appointed with a little kitchenette. The heTed outdoor pool and hot tubs were inviting after a day of skiing, as were the fresh chocolate chip cookies that were in the lobby. The staff were gracious and helpful. I stay there again in a heartbeat?

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It's right at the foot of the mountain, steps away from the gondola to Heavenly Ski Resort. The hotel is very modern and clean and customer service is helpful. Valet parking is a nice perk but they charge you $26 each day for the service. They have a free ski valet right next to the gondola. There are some cute little shops in the village, including a place to rent skis.

The hotel also includes a huge outdoor pool and a couple hot tubs. There's a restaurant called Fire+Ice downstairs which caters to young adults. There's a Cub Den for children and Teen Den for teens during the day.

Note: Beware of the pot problem in Lake Tahoe! We smelled a lingering skunk odor in the first room they gave us and had to change to another room because we didn't trust our neighbors to stop smoking. Hotel security came quickly to confront them and were very nice but they couldn't do much more than give them a warning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun2travel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our visit was without blemish and there were lots of instances of the staff "going the extra mile." We got enthusiastic assistance from the concierge when needed, our repeated use of the car from valet was without issue, the front desk staff was great about giving us access to the locker rooms when we arrived quite early and again when we left late (and they happily stored our bags), the room was in great shape and cleaned well, the gym itself is pretty impressive, the Kids Club looked cute, WiFi was free for guests, there were four different hot tubs (all different temperatures, take your pick), the clientele in the hotel was predominantly families/professionals. The location is so convenient, next to the Gondolas, it really makes the experience an extra special one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisbutanyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We over this place! It definitely had the mountain feel, and it was quite comfortable. For dinner we walked down the hall 50ft, and ate at Fire + Ice, which was excellent. Great to be able to have a nice meal and some drinks, and not worry about how we're getting home. The rooms were very nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventureandthrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We just spent 3 nights at the Timber Lodge. There were 4 of us so we opted for the 2 bedroom villa. This is actually a 1 bedroom villa with the connecting door open to a studio room. It made the whole area very large. The shred living space has a nice kitchen area with much better appliances than I have at home. The sitting area has a gas log fire. People have said that the walls are thin and it is true you can hear people in the hallway, but the hotel was not at all noisy, so the odd conversations as people walked to their room did not bother us. Our room was in the SIERRA building which is nearer to the gondola and to the lobby, so I would recommend it. The pool is central and very nice. I used the fitness center and the machines were fine. The gondola did not run on our first day as it was too windy, but the transportation center is right in front of the hotel to take visitors to other slopes with working lifts. There are lots of restaurants around and there is a supermarket an easy walk away, so I bought breakfast things. We did use the valet parking and yes it was $26, but we really didn't want to use the car and I worried about leaving a rental car in the Casino lot. One thing we did not think about is that we might need chains for our tires. We come from MASSACHUSETTS and drive in snow a lot, but had never come across the requirement for chains. Fortunately, the requirement was only for one of the passes across the mountain route 50, and it was lifted before we left. Would definitely stay again, liked the ambiance. One last thing, we were facing the road and heard no traffic noise.

Room Tip: If you are skiing, opt for the Sierra building, closer to gondola. Also there is a ski valet to leav...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brit_USA_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is located right outside of the lobby for skiing and this was the best feature at the hotel. We rented a 2 bedroom unit, which was nice but very uncomfortable when you wanted to relax after skiing. We found the concierge very helpful and the hotel location was perfect. Unit needs a re-do in the living room. Poor lay-out and very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfecci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,633 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £93 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing