We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Family Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for Family Travel”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Highlights of our stay at Marriott's Timber Resort:

Location: Property is at Heavenly Village. Restaurants, movies, shops even mini-golf are just out the hotel door.

Rooms: We had a two bedroom with living room and well-stocked kitchen.

I'm not into much cooking while traveling, but it's nice to be able to fix a simple breakfast and keep fruit, veggies and dairy on hand. At Tahoe, it gave us the advantage of being able to stock snacks for hiking and broil the salmon we caught during our fishing trip. One night, we picked up a simple rotisserie chicken and salad fixings at Raley's -- dinner and a family movie night in the comfort of our suite!

The staff is friendly and accommodating. I asked to move rooms -- we were off in the hinterlands with a dismal view -- and it was taken care of right away.

Ambiance: Alpine feel, appropriate to the setting. Big lobby with central fire area.

Pool was under construction during our stay (the new pool area looks really promising.) But the Marriott Grand Residence is just on the other side of the Heavenly Ski Lift -- meaning, very short distance and doesn't even feel like you are leaving the property.

One evening, we went downstairs to play mini-golf. The course looks small and easy, but it has some curves and inclines that keep it interesting. Our 11 year old loved it. You see lots of kids having fun outside, and there's early evening live music too.

Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for visiting us in June, Mary! We are happy your family had a great vacation in Lake Tahoe and got a chance to experience the many resort amenities. Our team looks forward to your next stay with us at Marriott's Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    360
    95
    45
    28
See reviews for
470
332
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good service and location. I would stay again. You have to coordinate with room service or they are a bit slow. Definitely go on the flume bike trail and visit emerald cove. The swimming pool was under cknstuxrik so they had us use the adjoining marriott pool which was OK

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We just completed a week at the Timber Lodge and although our vacation was delightful I was disappointed with our hotel.
It actually started with arrival- the valet removed our luggage while I checked in. I turned to give the valet the room number but he had already left my husband with the luggage cart with instructions to return it to the lobby when we were done. I have never stayed at a Marriott resort that did not assist you with your bags.
Then we discovered that the lodge did not have a restaurant for breakfast or a cocktail lounge.
I must hold myself to blame- I should have researched our accommodations more and if I had done so, would have most likely made a different choice. We also did not have a balcony and had a long trek to get outside to fresh air.
The lodge was clean and well staffed .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Expresso42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Timber Lodge. We are disappointed to hear the resort did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay. As a Marriott Vacation Club resort, we offer a unique experience for our owners and guests that is different than a full-service hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will join us again at one of the many Marriott resorts in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, D.F.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Honestly I was unsure when I book it, but since the arrival I totally change my mind. Cost vs benefit was huge, you will get everything to forget about travelling issues and just enjoy your stay. Room was great and quite (even though the pool area was under improvements we never get bothered), the resort is full of things to do an near everywhere (emerald bay e.g.) you can kayaking walking distance, bike, hike, eat, and enjoy an incredible sunset and sunrise. For sure we will back for ski season.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose Rodrigo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Jenny was great at the front desk! It's always nice to have a friendly face to check you in! Very impressed! The hotel itself is very nice as well, couldn't be happier! The fitness center is a plus and we did beach yoga with Stephanie the fitness instructor who was very friendly as well and we enjoyed our session! It's nice to have the different options when on vacation!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsabbylarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake tahoe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This is second time we've stayed here in the last year. It's an attractive resort with very friendly and helpful staff. The location is incredible. Steps from excellent restaurants, shopping, skiing, beaches, boating and more. Activities also offered all day long at Timber Lodge. We especially enjoyed learning to make Mojitos in Mojitos 101. This is just an overall wonderful place to stay for many reasons! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLA333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Timber Lodge! We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. The mojito class is certainly a great way to have fun in the hot summer weather! Thank you again for visiting and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madisonville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights prior to a business training even in Minden, NV. Obviously it was worth the drive across the mountain range ~45 minutes. The rooms were very large and accommodating. The location to the Heavenly mountain cable car is the best in the area since its at your doormat; i.e. ski in/out concept. All of the south lake Tahoe entertainment and restaurant options are within walking distance.

The only con would be that the room was $225/night in the summertime. Kind of pricey compared to Harrah's, Harvey's, and Montbleu casino's.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tluehr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are happy you could join us on your recent business trip to Minden! Thank you for the positive review and we hope to see you again at Marriott's Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Property: Marriott's Timber Lodge
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing