We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpenrose Inn
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My son and I stayed at this lodge for two nights and were made very welcome by the hosts.
Instead of the twin bedded room that we booked, we were offered two separate rooms at no extra cost, most generous of them.
The local information was invaluable, and made our short stay even more enjoyable. The recommendation about dining at the Edgewood Golf Course was a real coup.
The whole place was 'squeaky clean' and I would happily stay there again.
AH.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    108
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
92
277
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Hannah and John are very welcoming and helpful hosts. We were in room 12, which was gorgeous, and the bed was huge and so comfy. The hotel is so close to the main shopping area and heavenly gondola as well as the beach.

Some people moan about the breakfast provided... On the contrary, we thought the breakfast was lovely. They provided very tasty cereal, which I think is their own blend, a filling toasted bagel with cream cheese as well as a selection of fruits and a pastries.

If we were to ever to stay in Lake Tahoe again we would definitely stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ctaylor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Alpenrose is within walking distance from the Heavenly Gondola, so you don't have to worry about driving and parking to go to Heavenly or the nearby shops. The inn keeper is a lovely and super friendly Swiss German lady who did everything she could to make our stay pleasant.

The rooms were simple and clean, bathroom was properly stocked with shampoo/soap (not all motels are), linen were above average and internet worked.
There is a simple, but adequate breakfast (cereal, milk, coffee, fruit, above average pastries).
End price is on par with many motels that were inferior in amenities, cleanliness, or location. The owner's kindness and welcoming were a very nice bonus on top.

This was my third time there, and plan on going back each time I'm in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very nice small inn in a perfect location, a quiet neighborhood well off the main road, but an easy walk to the lake, casinos and Heavenly Village lift. Originally a motel, but has been renovated and redecorated to be more of a bed and breakfast inn with unique, thoughtfully equipped rooms.
We were in the English Garden room and appreciated the extra space of the table and wetbar area, complete with basic dishes and utensils. The gas stove was a nice touch and did a good job of heating the room.
The included breakfast was not elaborate, but was enough to start the day. The homemade oat cakes/bars were especially good. One warning to particular coffee drinkers (like me), the coffee served at breakfast was fresh brewed, but was some sort of flavored type (like french vanilla, maybe?) and was not what I would prefer. However, with the coffee maker provided in the room this wasn't a real problem. There is now a nice area to eat breakfast with the completion of the new "winter garden" room just off the reception.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leucadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Small property - just few rooms in motel setup. Close to Lake Tahoe shore, but not that close to the lifts.
Nice, friendly welcome. Breakfast room non-existent and the breakfast is limited to just coffee and cookie.
Rooms well maintained, but with low ceiling and paper-thin walls.
Despite description, there was no fireplace in our "premium" room. So not worth paying for.
Instead we had very noisy and air-drying heater fan.
At this time of the year it was not expensive, but will rather select another place next time...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miramaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just great, its an owner operated place and they and the staff are just great. Everything is clean and the rooms are in great shape. We stayed in a king room and bring our dog to the trip. The prices are low for what you get (it includes breakfast). I will recommend the place to everyone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fcobautistat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Delighful, clean and comfortable rooms, friendly and welcoming. nice relaxing reception area for chatting with other quests, quiet but within walking distant of shops, casinos and restaurants. ideal after a day skiing, will return

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Property: Alpenrose Inn
Address: 4074 Pine Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing