We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Tahoe inn, close to beach.”
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpenrose Inn
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Charming Tahoe inn, close to beach.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We met Hannah, the innkeeper, who was very hospitable and accommodating. We arrived before the room was ready, and she offered us complimentary passes for walk-on access to the beach while we were waiting. She also recommended having lunch at the nearby Edgewater Bar and Grill, excellent suggestion. She's very knowledgable on the best hiking trails, restaurants, and activities to do in the area. Our room was comfortable, clean, and very quiet. We had a view of two backyards of local houses, which was just ok. It is a motel layout, with a quaint European facade. The building is two story, all room doors are outdoor. She has a very simple continental breakfast (muffins, bananas, etc.). There is outdoor seating available on a rooftop deck, as well as indoor the lobby area. The only thing we missed after a long day of hiking was a nice hot tub to soak in in the evening. This would be a lovely addition. I would definitely recommend this inn to others, as well book a stay here again.

Great tips by Hannah for less crowded (2-3 mile) Hiking trails during the busy summer season / weekends, here's a couple to consider that we really enjoyed:

- Tahoe Rim Trail (Castle Rock)

- Eagle Lake Trail

Also, after hiking Eagle Lake Trail, be sure to make a pit stop at the very popular Richardson's Ice Cream Parlour on the way back to the Inn. :)

Room Tip: 2nd floor is always best to reduce overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvv2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    108
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
92
277
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I visit the Lake Tahoe area once a year and this time chose to stay at the Alpenrose Inn.We were so happy that we did! Hannah was very helpful and also proud of her fine establishment. The new addition of a sunroom and terrace gave us the chance to enjoy the continental breakfast while visiting with other travelers in a lovely setting. The location was perfect! We were within walking distance of a private beach, restaurants and casinos. Super quiet, nicely decorated, clean rooms....we will be back.

Room Tip: We chose a room with fireplace and kitchenette. Perfect for our needs during our four night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This a very comfortable place to stay by Lake Tahoe. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is delicious and plentiful. The hotel is on a quiet road but centrally located.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We booked a first night for a reasonable rate and were given the expectation that our second night would cost the same. WRONG. Their rate jumped 2.5 times over what they first told us so our main beef is that the Alpenrose staff should have known the "proper" rate before giving us a price. Their reasons: Friday nights are more expensive than Monday nights, AND all their prices go sky high when there is a big name entertainer in town. Not staying there and never will. We were saddened by this experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lovely, very well-located and quiet....the perfect place to relax after taking in all that Tahoe offers. Hannah and staff took care of every need and their info on local restaurants and attractions was very useful.. We enjoyed three evenings in our beautiful, clean and comfortable room. Certainly not your standard, motel decor....our room was unique, tasteful and perfect! We highly recommend the Alpenrose and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niederglatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you are looking for a great place to stay while you enjoy the stunning views of a great lake and the surrounding mountains, then you will be happy to know, the Alpenrose Inn is just that place.

I was welcomed by the owner, she also speaks German if you wonder, had a nice chat and we even had a nice chilled beer together. The rooms are newly remodeled and have all the luxury you want. Our room came with a little kitchenette and had even a breakfast nock if you wanted to make your own breakfast.

Breakfast is served at the lobby, basic but good and they have more then just a continental offering. The nice hot toasted bagel did the trick for me.

I'm sure to be back soon.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

June 2014 - I stayed here once before in 2010 with no complaints, but it is impossible not to notice all the improvements made since then. Hannah, the owner, is so charming. She converted the dated driveway by the front office into a spacious and bright conservatory; my room, #6, (2 doubles) was enormous, had a well stocked bathroom (toms toothpaste!), which was also very elegant. Several mini dark chocolate balance bars complimentary too - nice touch. Very clean. It's not the most inexpensive option out there, but this is one of those cases where the quality really shows and makes you wonder if those other dumps aren't the rip offs. Another review commented on the layout - two-stories, your room's door accessible from outside. That is the only motel-y thing about this place. Well, other than the fridge, microwave and coffee pot in room. But those are pluses, no? It's in a great location and stays pretty quiet. Again, why stay anywhere else in SLT.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaDesantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Property: Alpenrose Inn
Address: 4074 Pine Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing