We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”
Review of Matterhorn Motel

Matterhorn Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matterhorn Motel
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 19 March 2011

The family that owns this motel were kind and understanding to our situation. We received very fair and affordable nightly rates. Our room was spacious and clean. Our kitchen had everything we needed with cabinet space, gas stove, and fridge. The water pressure and temp of the shower was great. The beds were large enough for our family of four and the cable tv provided channels that our children enjoyed. We also had free wireless internet. Centrally located and easy to get to the ski resorts and casinos. Walking distance to laundry mat and grocery store. Thanks for the wonderful stay and taking care of us.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2011

It is a family owned and run business. Both mother and son was very friendly, welcoming and humble; they went out of their way to help us and make our stay as comfortable as possible. There were four of us including 2 children in our party so I had to call the front desk numerous times for additional towels, soap etc., the owner happily and promptly attended to our needs with a smile. The hotel was very basic but clean. Having a free refrigerator and a microwave in every room was a huge bonus. Also, the motel was right across the street from our favorite Thai restaurant (Orchid) and other great eateries which was a plus too.
We ski every weekend and we are on the look out for great family budget stays, Matterhorn is a great value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nishie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Arrived late and checked in without any problems. The room was a good size with a small microwave, mini refrigerator (which was not plugged in), 2 chairs, a dresser, vanity area, a small TV (remote control did not work), and a heater. It took a while to heat up the room though. The bathroom did not have a bathtub and no heat lamp / heater, just a shower stall, sink, and toilet; no hair dryer in room. Overall, it met minimal needs but will stay somewhere else next time with better amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bayareagal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The Matterhorn is the nicest, cleanest and best value is South Lake Tahoe! The owners are very nice, the rooms are spacious, internet works all the time, warm heater, comfortable bed....I have no cons. If you are choosing to stay in a motel, pick The Matterhorn!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Kirbyville, Texas
1360
Reviewed 30 October 2005

We stayed here on 9/7/05. True to comments from other Trip Advisor contributors, the rooms are very clean. But there is no air conditioning and when we arrived mid afternoon the rooms were hot. Cooled off later that evening, however. The shower did not work, and the noise from the traffic on Hwy 50 kept us awake. We did have a full kitchen and the senior rate was only $45. But wish I'd paid a little more - and gotten some sleep.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2005

The owners are extremely nice and the rooms are spotless. If all you want after a long day on the slopes is a nice soft bed and a warm room which is clean then you can't beat this price. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawstudentskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
34
Reviewed 7 January 2005

Great little motel, very clean, the bed was comfortable, the heater powerful. Excellant rates and a spa in room. The owners were lovely. We would return.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Tahoe Valley Lodge
Tahoe Valley Lodge
#35 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aerie Lodge
Aerie Lodge
#14 of 18 in South Lake Tahoe
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apex Inn
Apex Inn
#42 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#13 of 18 in South Lake Tahoe
14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tahoe Cottage Inn
Tahoe Cottage Inn
#9 of 18 in South Lake Tahoe
4 reviews
0.8 mi away
Emerald Bay Lodge
Emerald Bay Lodge
#57 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Motel

Address: 2187 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6400
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £43 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Matterhorn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing