We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Heaven!”
Review of Holly's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holly's Place
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Holly's Place is heaven on earth for great dogs and their people -- located just two blocks from the Lake and 2 miles from Stateline! There are 2+ FENCED and GATED acres of well-maintained, safe grounds with clean and exceptionally well-appointed cabins. Dogs can run free and enjoy the spacious property while people relax, breathe the fresh mountain air and the beautiful accommodations. Comfortable beds, lovely linens, great reading material, videos, DVDs, as well as a super large lodge-like room complete with fireplace, huge wall-mounted TV, ping pong table and well-equipped kitchen - great for larger gatherings. Holly and her staff are not only friendly and helpful but available and so accommodating. Lodging ranges from studio sized cabins to 3 bedroom/2 bathroom houses with full kitchens. Gas grills come with each accommodation. We have stayed with Holly on several occasions in all seasons and each experience has been better than the previous one! We highly recommend Holly's Place for the South Tahoe traveler!

Room Tip: The Bear and Wolf cabins are our favorites! Yes, a bit small, but oh, so cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sssbdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

If you have a dog and want to visit Lake Tahoe there really is no better place than "Holly's Place"- a little piece of heaven for you and your 4-legged friend(s). Holly and Karen are the most incredible hosts, they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable. I am a regular visitor to Holly's place with my puppy Louis- I love it as we both get a wonderful vacation- Louis, with all the other dogs and me, with the serenity that Holly's place offers. Recommend a million times over- you won't go wrong here!

Room Tip: Holly's place has a range of options- The Tischer is wonderful if you are travelling solo, or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaraKillick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I needed to get away for the weekend after suffering a loss in the family. My one stipulation was that I wanted to bring our dog. We found Holly's Place through Dogfriendly.com. It was a perfect oasis for us and a fantastic place to get away and bring your canine best bud. The inninkeepers were so accommodating and all about personal service. Wenloved how we could let our 5 month old puppy out the front door and not have to worry about her... And she had plenty of friends to play with. We'll definitely be back and next time bring the kids!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melalthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I found this place when looking for dog-friendly accomodations in Lake Tahoe. It is a sweet little place, great for when traveling with dogs, but it does seem like there are some money issues here. A previous reviewer mentioned all the little "don't do this and that" signs posted about the place and they ARE a little annoying, espec. when you've paid a fairly steep price for a room (or in our case, a cabin). The cabin was clean and, although quite tiny, very comfortable with a loft for our 11 year old which definitely kept her from being underfoot. But, it was about the dog, and this is the PERFECT place if you are traveling with a dog. The grounds are completely fenced in. Upon waking in the morning you simply open the door and let the dog out, just like as if you were at home! There is a little doggy pond for the dogs to play/wade in, and plenty of trees to sniff around. One night we decided to eat out at a restaurant and, after alerting Holly that we were leaving, we just left the dog out on the grounds. He didn't seem to mind and Holly seemed to keep an eye on him and even tried to engage him at one point. The peace of mind we got leaving him was very valuable. Holly and her partner seem to be very nice people and were pleasant to deal with. I would definitely stay here again if traveling with the dog, but i'm not so sure I would stay here if not with a dog mainly because for the price I imagine I could find something more luxurious. All in all a good stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabijo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

we assumed we were booking a cabin since the only images shown and advertised on their website were CABINS!!!!!!....turned out we were in the "suite".....one room with no windows, a non-locking sliding glass door without a screen was the only option for ventilation which allowed the mosquitoes to feast on us....the VCR/DVD player was in the dresser drawer and we were told to set it up ourselves if we wanted to use it.... no Wi-Fi, no hairdryer, no soap in the shower....the kitchenette was a little vibrating refrigerator, toaster oven and a coffeemaker inches from the bed....the dog did have a great time and the other guests staying in cabins seemed happy with their accommodations but our "suite" was HORRID!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ansoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petequigs, Manager at Holly's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for your review. This was a new room and we had not yet had the opportunity to test it out in the summer prior to this rental. We are taking the information in this review and fixing the issues stated. We are also very sorry this was a unpleasant expeirence for the guests. It is our hope that guests in the future will let us know about any issues while they are here so that we can correct any issues that might arise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

What a find! We needed a last minute place to stay with our Mini Aussie. I searched dog friendly lodging on Yelp and Holly's place came up. Don't go by the directions on Yelp because you'll never find it.
Holly was warm, friendly and very accommodating. It is a totally fenced and safe compound for your dog. Dusty romper and played in the snow with all the other doggy vacationers and had a blast.
They also have a big lodge house for everyone to share called "The Rainbow Room" which is very cool.
This is definitely a place we will return to again and again!!!
Thanks Holly!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahoelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

My husband and I visit Lake Tahoe several times a year and stay in one of the cabins at Holly's Place as often as they have availability. Our dog is treated like royalty and it is super convenient to have a fenced-in area where visiting dogs can play. Holly has managed the property for more than 20 years and knows most of her returning guests by name - a rare quality in today's world. She and her team maintain the cabins well and are almost always on site should you need local advice, extra towels or the snow shoveled around your car. During a recent power outage in Tahoe, Holly's team had candles, ensured our cabin had heat and kindly offered us dinner in the community room at Holly's Place. With so many options in Tahoe as to where one can stay, we find ourselves returning to Holly's as we always feel well cared for. As an example, when we approached Holly for recommendations on where to rent snowshoes, she handed me and my husband each a pair in the correct sizes and did not charge us for the rental. She just asked that we return the equipment at the conclusion of our stay - amazing! Sometimes my husband and I rent a small cabin with our dog and, during our last stay, we shared a cabin with two other families with children. We feel very fortunate that we found Holly's as they have different-sized cabins to meet the needs of couples to large families. While there may be less expensive options in Tahoe, the location near the base of Heavenly and the casinos can't be beat - especially considering the high level of service and comfort we consistently receive. We'll be returning to Holly's again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNPOLISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,149 reviews
1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
506 reviews
1.1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
237 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cedar Pines Resort
Cedar Pines Resort
#11 of 18 in South Lake Tahoe
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly's Place

Address: 1201 Rufus Allen Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8213
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Speciality Lodging in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £127 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holly's Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holly's Place is a unique dog friendly cabin retreat. The property includes over 1 acre of fenced in space for the dogs and people to enjoy. While you are here, you can enjoy a safe place for you and your dogs to stay. Whether you are after solitude or wish to meet new people, this is the place for you. We are centrally located, yet of the beaten path, and only 2 blocks from the lake. Many local area restaurants and coffee shops are within walking distance as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holly's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing